Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-07-2019, 11:54 AM
smashprod's Avatar
smashprod smashprod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 5
Default Avid Video Engine won't launch/no option in Setup

I'm running PT 2019.10.0 (native) on a 2008 Mac Pro (8 core MacPro3,1 with 20GB memory) and Mac OS 10.11.6. For my audio Playback Engine I use the MoTU PCI-424.

Under Setup->Playback Engine there is no option to select and enable the video engine. If I open a session with a video track (sessions that worked fine with earlier versions of PT), I get stuck with the "Waiting for the Video Engine to launch..." dialog forever, only to eventually get the error message, "Error Launching Video Engine".

I have tried deleting the Preference folder a couple of times, as well as the Avid Video Engine folder (which only seems to have error reports in it anyway). I've even reinstalled PT. Avid support has been no help. Any more ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-2019, 01:34 PM
Bob L's Avatar
Bob L Bob L is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 518
Default Re: Avid Video Engine won't launch/no option in Setup

Sadly for you, neither your machine more your OS are compatible with 2019.10.

If you want to hurt your head, do a search for "Avid compatibility" and go down the rabbit hole to find that minimum Cheesegrater is a 5,1, minimum OS is 10.12.6.

AFAIK, a 3,1 machine can't be upgraded to 5,1, but a 4,1 can (I've done it!).

I understand that "unsupported" does not equal "doesn't work" necessarily, but I think you've found the boundary.

Sorry to be the bearer.
__________________
Bob
"Without a song,
The day would never end..."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-08-2019, 08:59 AM
smashprod's Avatar
smashprod smashprod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 5
Default Re: Avid Video Engine won't launch/no option in Setup

So I'd probably be best off buying a 2012 Mac Pro 12 core "Westmere"? I want to be able to run High Sierra (or Mojave when that's required), but want the computer to last for a while. I know Catalina is another whole ball of wax, but it's probably going to be awhile before all the audio software companies start requiring you to run that.

Meanwhile, has anyone had success running the Avid Video Engine under 10.11.6?? Luckily in my film-scoring work I usually use Digital Performer, so this is not urgent, and I can investigate a little longer.

Thanks-
David
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Video Engine Won't Launch in 12.4 benergy Pro Tools 12 1 07-17-2019 05:34 AM
Video Engine Fail "Waiting for the video engine to launch" oscar_wonderboy macOS 5 08-14-2018 02:22 AM
Avid Video Engine won't launch carlone Pro Tools 12 0 07-04-2015 01:57 PM
PT 11.3 hangs on Avid Video Engine during launch New Hope Media Post - Surround - Video 17 06-14-2015 03:53 PM
PT 11.3 / OS 10.10.2 video engine won't launch kkabel Pro Tools 11 3 02-13-2015 04:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com