Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-10-2003, 11:11 AM
rogerhavoc rogerhavoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 471
Default Advice on buying a new Audio/Video Workstation…

I have 2 grand to spend with an Audio and Graphics workstation, and I would like to know if you guys know if the Intel E7505 Chipset would work with DIGI 002.

The Specifications:

Vision Dual (2) Xeon 2.66GHz / 1024MB DDR / 120GB HDD/ CDRW+DVD / nVidia 256MB Video / XP Professional / CAD-Graphic Workstation
PRICE: $1,999.99


• Dual [2] Intel® Xeon 2.66GHz HyperThread CPUs
• 533MHz Front Side Bus
• 512K Cache
• Dual [2] CoolerMaster PRO Heat Sink Fans
• TYAN S2668an Dual Xeon Motherboard
• Intel E7505 Chipset
• 1GB (1024MB) Micron Crucial PC2100 DDR Memory
• Dual Channel [512MB x 2] up to 4GB Max.
• 120GB 7200RPM ATA100 Hard Drive
• 48x24x48x16 LG Combo CDRW/DVD Drive [black]
• 1.44MB Floppy Drive [black]
• Intel 10/100Mbps Ethernet
• NVIDIA GeForce FX5600 256MB DDR 8X AGP Video
• IEEE 2-Port PCI FireWire Card
• US Robotics 56K PCI Fax/Modem Card
• Vision Platinum Silver Tower Chassis
• Extra Side & Rear Cooling Fans
• Front & Rear USB 2.0 Ports [6 total
• PS/2 Internet Kbd/Mouse/Spkrs [black/silver]
• Microsoft Windows XP Professional

Additional Specifications:
• Chassis
Vision Platinum Tower [black/silver]
400-Watt XEON Power Supply
• Motherboard
Tyan S2668AN Dual Xeon DDR
Maximum Memory: 4GB
Supports Dual Channel DDR Mode
• Video
NVIDIA GeForce FX5600 GPU, Ultra780
Supports AGP 2X/4X/8X Modes
Memory size: 256MB with ultra fast DDR
Support Composite, DVI, S-Video, TV-Out
TV-Out resolution up to 800x600
Support high resolution up to 2048x1536@75Hz
• Expansion Slots
[1] AGP Pro50 8x/4x
[5] PCI 32-bit 33MHz
• 10 Drive Bays
[4] External 5.25"
[2] External 3.5"
[4] Internal 3.5"
• External Ports
[1] VGA Video
[1] TV-Out
[1] RJ-45 LAN w/LEDs
[1] 25-pin SPP/ECP/EPP Parallel
[2] 9-pin UART Serial
[6] High Speed USB 2.0
[2] PS/2 Keyboard/Mouse
[3] Audio In/Out/Microphone
[2] IEEE 1394 FireWire
[2] Fax/Modem


I just would like to know if this would do the job.
Any Help would be appreciated.
__________________
www.whitenoiselab.com

MacPro 3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 - Pro Tools Ultimate + HD Native + HD OMNI
MacBook Pro 2.9 GHz i7 16GB Ram (Retina, 15-inch, 2016) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Apollo Twin
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz i7 32GB Ram (Late 2012) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Mbox Pro (3rd gen)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2003, 08:45 PM
rogerhavoc rogerhavoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 471
Default Re: Advice on buying a new Audio/Video Workstation…

Thanx Chris,

I'm gonna order this week. Sweeeeeeet!!!!


[img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
__________________
www.whitenoiselab.com

MacPro 3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 - Pro Tools Ultimate + HD Native + HD OMNI
MacBook Pro 2.9 GHz i7 16GB Ram (Retina, 15-inch, 2016) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Apollo Twin
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz i7 32GB Ram (Late 2012) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Mbox Pro (3rd gen)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2003, 09:54 PM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: Advice on buying a new Audio/Video Workstation…

Rogerio,
Three things I would suggest is to make sure you get a good return policy if it doesn't work with PTLE. I would stick with Micron PC2700 RAM or Corsair. I'd also get a second hard drive for the audio WD or Hitachi ATA100 7200rpm with the 8MB cache. I'm looking forward to seeing how it turns out for you. Keep us posted.
Allen [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2003, 10:47 PM
rogerhavoc rogerhavoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 471
Default Re: Advice on buying a new Audio/Video Workstation…

Quote:
Originally posted by Allen Hallada:
Rogerio,
Three things I would suggest is to make sure you get a good return policy if it doesn't work with PTLE. I would stick with Micron PC2700 RAM or Corsair. I'd also get a second hard drive for the audio WD or Hitachi ATA100 7200rpm with the 8MB cache. I'm looking forward to seeing how it turns out for you. Keep us posted.
Allen [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Thanx for the suggestion. They have a good return policy. I have an extra Corsair 1024 RAM already, and also an audio drive just waiting for my new rig. I will keep you guys posted. I'm very curious to see how good (or bad) DUAL XEON will go with PTLE. I will let you know when i put my hands on it!!! [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]


Thanx again,
__________________
www.whitenoiselab.com

MacPro 3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 - Pro Tools Ultimate + HD Native + HD OMNI
MacBook Pro 2.9 GHz i7 16GB Ram (Retina, 15-inch, 2016) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Apollo Twin
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz i7 32GB Ram (Late 2012) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Mbox Pro (3rd gen)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2003, 12:14 AM
rogerhavoc rogerhavoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 471
Default Re: Advice on buying a new Audio/Video Workstation…

Bump!
__________________
www.whitenoiselab.com

MacPro 3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 - Pro Tools Ultimate + HD Native + HD OMNI
MacBook Pro 2.9 GHz i7 16GB Ram (Retina, 15-inch, 2016) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Apollo Twin
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz i7 32GB Ram (Late 2012) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Mbox Pro (3rd gen)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2003, 12:39 AM
Chris Cavell Chris Cavell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 4,831
Default Re: Advice on buying a new Audio/Video Workstation…

Looks good to me. I would get a bigger psu for that thing though and maybe a different brand of ram. No one has really tested that chipset, but I have a feeling it would be okay b/c it is all intel throughout the board. Also, I'm not sure about the firewire listed. I use a fireconnect 4300 by adaptec, it's on the digi list, and any of the recommended cards will do fine, I'm just not sure about the onboard stuff. Good luck man.
__________________
Cavell Studios
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-2003, 12:47 AM
rogerhavoc rogerhavoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 471
Default Re: Advice on buying a new Audio/Video Workstation…

Quote:
Originally posted by Chris Cavell:
I use a fireconnect 4300 by adaptec, it's on the digi list, and any of the recommended cards will do fine
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Hey Chris,

Thanx for your response. About the firewie card, i do have an extra fireconnect 4300 by adaptec, and i would use it anyway to avoid sharing the same bus with the external firewire Hard Disk. I'm planning to use the internal firewire for my external HD, and the fireconnect 4300 for DIGI. Hope that it works.

Thanx again,
__________________
www.whitenoiselab.com

MacPro 3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 - Pro Tools Ultimate + HD Native + HD OMNI
MacBook Pro 2.9 GHz i7 16GB Ram (Retina, 15-inch, 2016) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Apollo Twin
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz i7 32GB Ram (Late 2012) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Mbox Pro (3rd gen)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2003, 12:54 AM
Chris Cavell Chris Cavell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 4,831
Default Re: Advice on buying a new Audio/Video Workstation…

Cool [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img] , I'm anxious to see how the system specs out for you. Seriously though, I'd be looking at an antec 630 watter. Your case may be noisy, but you won't regret the upgrade!
__________________
Cavell Studios
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD - Buying Advice (: Zergei Pro Tools 11 2 09-16-2013 10:19 AM
Building a workstation or buying a Dell dwfender 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 01-15-2010 09:54 AM
Structure the Songwriter's Workstation Video RussUK Virtual Instruments 0 07-02-2009 03:45 PM
advice for buying Summit Audio TLA-50 taichber Tips & Tricks 4 10-12-2002 12:25 AM
Need advice about buying new Mac lwilliam Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-18-2002 12:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com