Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-07-2015, 09:23 AM
ghostwriter's Avatar
ghostwriter ghostwriter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 746
Default AVID WAKE UP! Switching from Pro Tools to Studio One Instructional Video Released

Avid,

Wake up.

Companies are releasing instructional video courses on how to leave Pro Tools for your competition.

http://www.groove3.com/str/Switching...08-07-inactive
__________________
A few of of my favorite toys: Retro Instruments 176 (pair), BAE 10DC (pair), Distressor (pair), Manley Vari-Mu, Sta-Level, Zener, SSL FX G384, API 2500, LA2A, 1176, Bricasti, Massive Passive, Anamod ATS-1, Eventide H3500, TC 2290, Yamaha D5000, PCM 70, SPX90, Roland SDE 3000...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2015, 09:26 AM
29CountsNY's Avatar
29CountsNY 29CountsNY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saratoga Springs, NY
Posts: 546
Default Re: AVID WAKE UP! Switching from Pro Tools to Studio One Instructional Video Released

Just saw the email from Groove3, had a nice big chuckle!
I just registered a free version of Studio One 2 and got a free update to v3 so I'll be checking out that video.
__________________
www.montabonsound.com
www.29counts.com

Pro Tools HD 2019.12 | HD Native PCIe & HD Native Thunderbolt | Lynx Aurora 16 HD | HD I/O | Digi 192 | 2010 Mac Pro 12 Core 3.46ghz | macOS Mojave 10.14.4 | 48 gigs RAM | Tascam DM3200 | Crane Song Avocet II | Antelope Isochrone OCX | Universal Audio Quad & Duo | Waves Mercury + Studio Classics v10 & Abbey Road Collection
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-2015, 09:50 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,561
Default Re: AVID WAKE UP! Switching from Pro Tools to Studio One Instructional Video Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostwriter View Post
Avid,

Wake up.

Companies are releasing instructional video courses on how to leave Pro Tools for your competition.

http://www.groove3.com/str/Switching...08-07-inactive
I get what you're trying to say here...... you don't like what Avid is doing and you think they're hurting their standing in the DAW market etc..... but here's the thing. Avid doesn't think so. They think they're doing exactly what they should be doing. So there's a disconnect. But it's between you and Avid, not Avid and their competition. If Avid is wrong, then they'll be the ones putting out videos of how to switch to PT in an effort to entice migration. Until then, crossgrades and videos like this just show that PT is still top dog, for now.

Users need to pick the tools that suit their needs best, vote with their dollars, and get to work. Plain and simple.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-07-2015, 11:11 AM
Wall2Wall Wall2Wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Starling City
Posts: 766
Default Re: AVID WAKE UP! Switching from Pro Tools to Studio One Instructional Video Released

lol! Avid has some issues but the first time I go onto a Dub Stage or multi room Music facility and see them removing their HD/HDX rigs in favor of Studio One or any native daw software will be the first. No video is going to change that. Avid has been dying as long as internet forums have been online.

The one man operation. Sure that happens. They have the flexibility to use whatever floats their boat according to their personal business model. Doesn't look like avid cares unless you are buying S6's/Icons, HD/HDX rigs, multiple I/O's, etc.

I use studio one for production sometimes. For project compilation always with mastering side. Would never attempt to track or mix on it. Not there yet.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-2015, 02:31 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,732
Default Re: AVID WAKE UP! Switching from Pro Tools to Studio One Instructional Video Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wall2Wall View Post
Avid has been dying as long as internet forums have been online.
true that

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wall2Wall View Post
Doesn't look like avid cares unless you are buying S6's/Icons, HD/HDX rigs, multiple I/O's, etc.

Even then it's debatable
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-07-2015, 06:36 PM
Seafoam_Green's Avatar
Seafoam_Green Seafoam_Green is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Bali - Indonesia
Posts: 793
Default Re: AVID WAKE UP! Switching from Pro Tools to Studio One Instructional Video Released

Use whatever Daw ? but I do agree that AVID needs to wake up ,

....,the fact that Groove 3 had so many requests for a video series like this, followed up by Groove 3 taking the time to do it - should show to AVID that those requests were serious , meaning yes there are really people out there wanting to jump ship.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-07-2015, 07:05 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,732
Default AVID WAKE UP! Switching from Pro Tools to Studio One Instructional Video Rele...

Quote:
Originally Posted by seafoam green View Post
should show to AVID that those requests were serious , meaning yes there are really people out there wanting to jump ship.

I'm waiting on this to see if it is as awesome as it could be......they said 3rd party plugin mapping is coming in late fall.......

Once you can do that and instantiate plugs via the console I am done.....

Retail $1999

Whoops forgot the link

http://www.presonus.com/products/StudioLive-CS18AI
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.

Last edited by YYR123; 08-07-2015 at 10:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-07-2015, 10:02 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: AVID WAKE UP! Switching from Pro Tools to Studio One Instructional Video Released

I have to be honest, with this much hype is I've read lately regarding studio one v3, I watch a lot of these videos, and I have to tell you I am not impressed at all. Actually I find a more turned off to that DAW then I thought I would be.

I still think ProTools/avid, needs to get their head out of their butt, but I'm not so sure that studio one is a competitor that I thought it was.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-07-2015, 10:17 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,732
Default AVID WAKE UP! Switching from Pro Tools to Studio One Instructional Video Rele...

You know it's tuff b/c everyone is so used to PT....that's what makes it foreign to use something else.

I spent 10 minutes the other day trying to find the scroll options-
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-08-2015, 08:32 AM
Wall2Wall Wall2Wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Starling City
Posts: 766
Default Re: AVID WAKE UP! Switching from Pro Tools to Studio One Instructional Video Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Johns View Post
I have to be honest, with this much hype is I've read lately regarding studio one v3, I watch a lot of these videos, and I have to tell you I am not impressed at all. Actually I find a more turned off to that DAW then I thought I would be.

I still think ProTools/avid, needs to get their head out of their butt, but I'm not so sure that studio one is a competitor that I thought it was.
It's not. Tracking and mixing is a no go.

But for production/composing it's super fast. Just drag and drop VI's and tracks/midi channels/etc are created instantly. It's drag/drop/play. All the bounce/freeze/MIDI options are on point. The internal studio one VI's sound blah! but all 3rd party stuff works fine and efficient. My one issue is that I still can't get the IMPACT drum thingy to bounce a mono pad to mono. Always stereo and I have to split.

The mastering side has all the modern compilation/export conveniences and is super fast.

For me the category of "Production/Composition" DAW is like how many regularly switched hardware synths and workstations, but cheaper. At any time I can be using Logic, Studio One, Live, Fruity Loops. They all excel at different things/sounds.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Really!? Avid released Pro Tools 12 without the collaboration features? Really?! Justin1524 Pro Tools 12 2 03-24-2015 02:31 PM
Avid Vocal Studio with Pro Tools 10? Jeff Forehead macOS 0 11-23-2012 11:48 AM
Will (Avid/M-Audio) Pro Tools MP 9 support Avid Vocal Studio: Producer USB Microphone XDosShane Windows 0 02-04-2012 09:17 PM
pt 8 instructional video geeball General Discussion 4 12-30-2008 05:52 AM
pro-tools LE instructional video WaCoLaCo Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 12-25-2005 04:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com