Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 10-13-2016, 08:34 PM
zion's Avatar
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,064
Default Re: My feelings after spending another $399.00

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyranor View Post
I agree with many point that being made in this tread. Avid should be more proactive in terms of fixing bugs and implementing new features and they also should be more caring about their customers. Pro Tools it's a great DAW and legendary brand but it should keep evolving and not stagnating.

Having said that, every time I see a new topic about the price for the PT, lack of new features and statements from the people that it's time to ditch PT and move to Logic/Cubase/Studio One etc, I have my reservations and doubts.

Every studio in NZ that I visited runs PT. I work with other freelancers and they use PT. Not a single post facility uses Nuendo or Logic or Studio One. It's PT all the way. Therefore it is important for me to be compatible and make sure that I can deliver my sessions to my subordinates and they can open them without any issues.

Obviously if you work for yourself then you can use whatever you wish or want. But if you work with studios /other freelancers then you have to use PT. And I see benefits from that not only in terms of work coming my way but also in terms of learning from the others. I can ask about their workflows, shortcuts etc.

PT is a great tool but not ideal. I would love to see Avid being more caring about it. But at this moment of time I see no alternatives for me in terms of DAW. On top of that I like PT very much and it does exactly what I need without any issues (but I'm on PT11HD, not PT12).
These days many of us use multiple DAWS. Pro Tools along with some of the ones you've heard mention here. I use Pro Tools for the reasons you mentioned but work mostly in Studio One now. I would prefer not to work in Pro Tools alone but if I had to I could. It's much slower and cumbersome to me but thats just my preference.
__________________
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate & Vanilla 2020.5 | Studio One 4.6.1 Pro | Apollo X8 | Mac Mini 2018 i7 | 16GB Ram | 512GB SSD | Catalina 10.15.4 | OWC ThunderBay 4 | Drives’s Samsung EVO 860 + 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Softube, Waves, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Dig, etc | Korg Kronos LS 88 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 10-13-2016, 08:40 PM
jscomposer jscomposer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Boogie Woogie
Posts: 428
Default Re: My feelings after spending another $399.00

Quote:
Originally Posted by gearhead2010 View Post
The fact that say Presonus can continually offer FREE updates says a lot about how they run a company. Why can't AVID do it? The only answer is AVID is ineffective at running their company and it's loosing money.
Or maybe it's just because you keep giving them the money.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 10-13-2016, 10:12 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: My feelings after spending another $399.00

I simply do not ever see me moving away from Protools. I love it way too much. What I am not doing, like I always have in the past, is be obsessed with the most current thing.

I have a very impressive home studio, actually, its the dream home studio for many people. I'd rather invest my money in better outboard, or guitars, amps, etc, not in the digital side of things. I only do audio. I have owned HD11 since the day it came out, only used it for one week when I bought an HD Native card to give a try, never went back to PT11 once since then. HDN for all its hype, even with a 12 core MP, I still had to deal with latency, I have a ZERO tolerance for latency. I own native PT12, never even installed it. No need. I simply do not 'NEED" anything those versions offer. Would I 'Like" to use some of them from time to time, sure, but i simply do not "Need" a single one of them.

Not once have i ever needed more than the HD3 I have. My Pro Control units look like they just were opened out of the box brand new. I have an Omni, so I'm overs for critical stuff, as well as a 192 I/O with 16 in/8 Out, and a Lynx Aurora 16. I honestly feel like I've got everything I will need for close to a decade to come. I have a 12 Core Mac Pro, that cost me all of $700 bucks, with 48 gig of ram. If I ever do want to go HDN or HDX, my computer will handle anything I through at it.

Why go beyond HD10, for me, its a waste of money!
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 10-14-2016, 07:17 AM
Chris King Chris King is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 33
Default Re: My feelings after spending another $399.00

I am also approaching my renewal. I actually upgraded a year ago just so that I could use the collaboration with my colleagues on our 3 Pro Tools setups as our strengths lie in different areas.

It was only when I had done this that I found out that collaboration is only possible with third parties and not within the same company even though I have 3 licences. If you have one user account, you are stuffed, and they won't even let you create a separate account to overcome the problem.

How many large organisations must be wanting to use collaboration within their own studios.

A year on, and still no solution!
__________________
Chris King
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 10-14-2016, 07:43 AM
gearhead2010 gearhead2010 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 238
Default Re: My feelings after spending another $399.00

Yeah I really feel like AVID is the Donald Trump of DAW manufacturers. "Pro Tools is going to be tremendous, so tremendous, it will be the best DAW in the world"..

We can only hope they make Pro Tools great again. :)
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46Ghz 12 Core, (5) 1 TB Evo 840, OSX 10.9.5, PT HD 12.5.2, HDX1, (4) HD I/O 16x16, (1) Lynx HILO
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 10-14-2016, 08:24 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,732
Default Re: My feelings after spending another $399.00

Quote:
Originally Posted by gearhead2010 View Post
Yeah I really feel like AVID is the Donald Trump of DAW manufacturers. "Pro Tools is going to be tremendous, so tremendous, it will be the best DAW in the world"..



We can only hope they make Pro Tools great again. :)


__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 10-14-2016, 09:56 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,203
Default Re: My feelings after spending another $399.00

If one has an HD12 HDX rig that is stable enough to be frozen (OS included) in its present state for 3 years then it makes sense not to re-up. If one has a reasonably stable configuration and anticipates leaving the platform in the next few years it may make sense not to re-up. For all other HDX owners - it is a sad reality that re-upping is just an ongoing cost to this system.

Comparing HD to other DAWs is pointless since no other DAW can run HDX (no matter how much I wish they would
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 10-14-2016, 10:37 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,732
Default Re: My feelings after spending another $399.00

Quote:
Originally Posted by propower View Post
Comparing HD to other DAWs is pointless since no other DAW can run HDX (no matter how much I wish they would

Wasn't this the point of the new digilink io license? To be able to run HDX in other daws?

Or do I have it backwards? Only for 3rd party io in Pro Tools....?
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 10-14-2016, 10:49 AM
davedog davedog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 81
Default Re: My feelings after spending another $399.00

I've used Pro Tools since 4.3 and have had TDM, HD and LE systems. I finally jumped ship for Studio One at the beginning of the year. Sold the hardware, replaced with UA hardware. Room's still booked solid. If a client comes in a absolutely needs Pro Tools, or I need to provide someone a PT session I just rent it. Most clients I find really don't care anymore as they are coming from other software themselves.

Ironically, I checked into the forums for the first time in years, because I was renting it for a client, the 12.5 -> 12.6 upgrade dropped and auth switch over happened. Avid botched the ilok auth and locked me out of PT for a weekend, requiring me to cancel a weekends worth of sessions with the client. Apparently I'm not the only one that ran into this.

They did end up getting me a temp license and eventually resolved the auth issue, but it did just reinforce that, for me, I made the right decision.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 10-14-2016, 11:33 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,203
Default Re: My feelings after spending another $399.00

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post

Or do I have it backwards? Only for 3rd party io in Pro Tools....?
Thats the one... No SW runs an HDX card besides PTHD (that I know of).
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
spending money on plugins pinnacle Virtual Instruments 4 09-21-2012 10:39 AM
My mixed feelings on PT8LE... grimepoch General Discussion 7 12-23-2008 12:10 PM
NEED ADVICE before spending money mgarzag 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-08-2008 06:28 PM
MIDI is hurting my feelings... mustache MIDI 0 12-14-2005 07:18 PM
Is it really worth spending X$$$$??? digigirly General Discussion 4 02-02-2001 10:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com