Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 01-20-2015, 10:02 PM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 771
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors Pro Tools 11 | HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skwaidu View Post
It's not "early adopting" when Avid have designed their whole ecosystem so that one *has* to update the hardware to use current software.
I was referring to myself. I 'upgraded' from an HD3 Accel system to the HDX before PT11 | HD was released (early adoption for HDX). As I understand it, HD systems can still run 10.3.x which is 'current'.

As far as hardware issues, if AVID addressed the -9171 and -9172 issues and the loud little effing fan on the HDX card sounding like an angry bee when it gets hot, I'd be a happy camper. The first one's a show stopper, and the second one is just plain annoying.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, OSX 10.10.5, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, Pro Tools 12.4 HD, PreSonus Studio One 3.5, Logic X, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 01-21-2015, 11:03 AM
brianjanthony's Avatar
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,085
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors Pro Tools 11 | HD

It simply places a pref file into your main system library. very easy to just trash if it causes an issue.
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 02-04-2015, 05:39 AM
bing181 bing181 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors Pro Tools 11 | HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by brianjanthony View Post
Brian sir. Very large bottle of whatever takes your fancy awaits if ever you're in eastern France.

After losing days and days to this, I suddenly have a session that will play all the way through. Without stopping.

For anyone else with these problems, at the very least give it a try. And for those like me who are programming dunces, it's just a matter of finding the com.apple.audio.ServerSettings.plist file in Prefences/Audio, opening it in a text editor, and pasting in the text from Brian's document.

Caveat: I'm on a dual quad core Mac Pro, running PT 11.3 under 10.8.5.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 02-04-2015, 08:49 PM
gearhead2010 gearhead2010 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 238
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors Pro Tools 11 | HD

Is this fix only for 10.8?

What about 10.9.5?

Thanks!
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46Ghz 12 Core, (5) 1 TB Evo 840, OSX 10.9.5, PT HD 12.5.2, HDX1, (4) HD I/O 16x16, (1) Lynx HILO
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 02-04-2015, 10:49 PM
brianjanthony's Avatar
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,085
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors Pro Tools 11 | HD

I have no idea. I just recently moved to 10.8.5 and deeply regret it. So try it. The worst that can happen is you remove the pref file if it messes with stuff. So much fun.
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 02-05-2015, 01:52 AM
bing181 bing181 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors Pro Tools 11 | HD

Can we presume that this issue doesn't exist in Mavericks or Yosemite?
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 02-05-2015, 02:23 AM
Skwaidu Skwaidu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 148
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors Pro Tools 11 | HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by bing181 View Post
Can we presume that this issue doesn't exist in Mavericks or Yosemite?
It does exist at least in Mavericks. 10.9.5 here.
__________________
Mac Pro 4,1 upgraded to 5,1 2,93Ghz 12 Core, 24GB RAM, Evo 840 OS drive and Velociraptor audio drives, OSX 10.9.5, PT HD 12.7.1, HDX1, HD I/O 16x16 (+ optional Apogee AD/DA 16X) and ICON D-Command.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 02-05-2015, 08:29 AM
bing181 bing181 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors Pro Tools 11 | HD

Ah … spoke too soon.

Problem is ongoing. Mixture of 9093 and 9173 errors, session stutters and stops, even with "the patch" in place. Less frequent, I'm only get an error once every 5 minutes, rather than once every minute, so I can almost work. But …

I also tried with some midi: with a single midi track in a session, with nothing else at all - i.e., no plugins, no audio, no nothing - if I hit record (though don't even input anything), Pro Tools will stop with a 9093 error within a minute, often within a few seconds.

Even tried pulling ALL third party plugs out, and even most of the Avid ones. Nothing changed.

Unusable.

Upgrade to Yosemite?
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 02-05-2015, 09:18 AM
brianjanthony's Avatar
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,085
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors Pro Tools 11 | HD

Bing is that with the pref file? Is they anything happening in console at time?
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 02-05-2015, 11:45 AM
brianjanthony's Avatar
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,085
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors Pro Tools 11 | HD

I worry anymore. Thought of doing a new mac. But these instabilities make me think it'd be no use. I can't drop 5k and end up where I am now. The cheese grater is rock solid. At least it was. Is it pro tools? Is it Mac OS in general?
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
-9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX Boe Larsen Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 519 03-08-2017 10:11 PM
Still getting -9171 and -9172 errors and confused about this 'upgrade' ArKay99 Pro Tools 11 0 12-23-2014 12:23 PM
Pro Tools 10.3 9171 and 9172 Errors Tops3b Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 20 07-14-2013 03:11 PM
UAD triggering 9171, 9172 errors? xq3js macOS 7 03-22-2013 11:47 PM
10.3.3 Major Fail....9171, 9172 and 9129 Errors Tops3b Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 12-21-2012 07:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com