Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-12-2013, 09:24 PM
jschmidtiii jschmidtiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 77
Default A way to create a new playlist when re-recording over playlist section?

Hi,

Sorry if the subject heading is convoluted. Let me explain the context first; I think the question will make more sense after that.

You're recording a vocal take, and you play back the take to the artist. They say "Oh, I love everything except for that last line. Can we take that again?"
I think most people would probably play back what they recorded and then punch in once they've reached the part the artist is talking about. If you do that, the previous take will still be there, and the punched in take will be layered on top of it. That's OK, but what if you do that 6 times? Then you have to create 5 new audio tracks to act as placeholders for the 5 other takes? What I would love to happen is for PT to create a new playlist each time you punch in, just as it creates new playlists automatically when you loop record (if you've activated that preference).

The question: Is there a way to do this? As far as I know, the only other way to take care of this is to keep the whole take you did initially, break between the part they liked and the part they didn't, mute the region that contained the part they didn't like, create a new audio track, and re-record the part they didn't like on that new track so they can still hear the part they liked from the previous track on playback, but can also record new takes repeatedly in a way that doesn't ruin your organization (you can have multiple new playlists for that new section on that new audio track).

Does that make sense? Please let me know if it doesn't, because I would love to find a way to fix this problem! Any workarounds would be appreciated too. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-12-2013, 10:21 PM
Andrew. D Andrew. D is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 142
Default Re: A way to create a new playlist when re-recording over playlist section?

Instead of creating a new playlist, create a duplicate which will give you another playlist with what you all ready have recorded on to it, then just do your drop in as you need to, knowing that the original take is going untouched.
__________________
Mac Pro, Mid 2010 dual 3.33 Ghz, 48 Gig RAM
Mac OS 10.14.5
ProTools Ultimate 2019.5
HD Native PCIe
Apogee Symphony I/O
Avid I/O
192 I/O
Waves DLI
Apogee Mini Me
Mbox Micro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2013, 02:28 AM
tj_davies tj_davies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,220
Default Re: A way to create a new playlist when re-recording over playlist section?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jschmidtiii View Post
Hi,

Sorry if the subject heading is convoluted. Let me explain the context first; I think the question will make more sense after that.

You're recording a vocal take, and you play back the take to the artist. They say "Oh, I love everything except for that last line. Can we take that again?"
I think most people would probably play back what they recorded and then punch in once they've reached the part the artist is talking about. If you do that, the previous take will still be there, and the punched in take will be layered on top of it. That's OK, but what if you do that 6 times? Then you have to create 5 new audio tracks to act as placeholders for the 5 other takes? What I would love to happen is for PT to create a new playlist each time you punch in, just as it creates new playlists automatically when you loop record (if you've activated that preference).

The question: Is there a way to do this? As far as I know, the only other way to take care of this is to keep the whole take you did initially, break between the part they liked and the part they didn't, mute the region that contained the part they didn't like, create a new audio track, and re-record the part they didn't like on that new track so they can still hear the part they liked from the previous track on playback, but can also record new takes repeatedly in a way that doesn't ruin your organization (you can have multiple new playlists for that new section on that new audio track).

Does that make sense? Please let me know if it doesn't, because I would love to find a way to fix this problem! Any workarounds would be appreciated too. Thanks!
When recording a vocal talent, we always have two audio tracks. One for playback and one for recording. The takes that are good go on the playback track. On the recording track we have about 50 playlist created prior the recording and can skip through the playlist take per take.

Hope this helps,
Timothy
__________________
G5 10.13.6
PT Ultimate 2019.12.0
www.pearls-music.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Playlist Ordering when using Loop Recording Alden Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-18-2014 12:41 AM
Create a playlist from a loop already recorded Scintillaterich Pro Tools 10 2 03-05-2014 08:29 AM
Create a new playlist key command doesn't work for video. reichman Post - Surround - Video 0 05-14-2011 06:12 PM
Create New Playlist "Command+\" on Foreigner Keyboard? Spidouz Pro Tools 9 22 11-20-2010 03:17 PM
PT8 - Loop Recording w/Playlist Mode question tha]-[acksaw General Discussion 1 05-07-2009 06:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com