Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2018, 01:31 PM
Rvoid17 Rvoid17 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default Windows 10/Thunderbolt suddenly not recognizing Apollo 8p

Hi,

I've been running Pro Tools 12 with the Apollo 8p and a custom Windows PC. Motherboard is a Aeros Z27OX-Gaming 7. The Apollo is connected to a Thunderbolt 3 port via a Startech Thunderbolt 3/2 adapter.

Everything had been running fine. I turn on the Apollo, the cpu says "connecting Thunderbolt Device", launch Pro Tools, and off we go.

However, all of the sudden the computer doesn't seem to recognize the Apollo 8p in the Thunderbolt Port.

I've updated Windows, all drivers, downloaded latest firmware for the motherboard, uninstalled and reinstalled both the Thunderbolt Software and all UA software, power cycled, etc., and nothing seems to work.

BUT...it did work once, briefly. At some point, I told Thunderbolt to forget the Apollo device. Then, when I powered back on, it said "I see a new device", and then it was working. However, once I ended the session and powered down, it was the same problem all over again upon powering back up. Only this time, the same fix failed to work. When the device was recognized anew, the computer simply froze, and that's now happened multiple times.

Help?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-19-2018, 08:29 PM
Borg Borg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 194
Default Re: Windows 10/Thunderbolt suddenly not recognizing Apollo 8p

Make sure thunderbolt firmware is up to date on motherboard. This update is often separate and additional to BIOS update. According to UA support notes, NVM firmware should be 15 or higher.

- Borg

https://help.uaudio.com/hc/en-us/articles/214429386
__________________
www.foxmountain.com

@FoxMtnStudio
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2018, 08:25 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,055
Default Re: Windows 10/Thunderbolt suddenly not recognizing Apollo 8p

You can also check that Thunderbolt security is set to always allow in the BIOS. If not, you have to accept the device in Windows, which may be what you are doing when it works.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is there any way to have Pro tools HD connected to Apollo 8p as a thunderbolt? Bearsounds Third Party Interfaces 11 03-23-2018 03:46 AM
UA Apollo Twin Thunderbolt - LIKE NEW booter Buy & Sell 1 03-22-2018 12:50 PM
Anyone using Apollo with thunderbolt on a windows setup? albee1952 Third Party Interfaces 3 09-18-2016 01:40 PM
Apollo - FireWire vs Thunderbolt mrgroovy Third Party Interfaces 3 12-20-2015 07:34 AM
Latency with Apollo thunderbolt juh Pro Tools Software (Mac) 8 11-27-2015 09:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com