Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-22-2017, 02:42 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,089
Default 12.8.2 - access violation errors

Getting lots of these since I updated- wav imports etc. Is this a thing? Back to 12.8.1?

EDIT - as if to prove the point, 1 minute after posting merely moving a WAV caused "Could not complete your request because Access violation occurred, thread cause a DEP Violation at: 0x00007FFEDEADA390. "
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-22-2017, 02:59 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,157
Default Re: 12.8.2 - access violation errors

Yup, here too. DEP violations on trimming clips, dragging clips. Gone back to 12.8.1 on my PC, still evaluating 12.8.2 on my Mac.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-22-2017, 03:06 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,089
Default Re: 12.8.2 - access violation errors

Thanks Pete, Window 10 here. Uninstalling now - there goes another part of my working day.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-22-2017, 03:52 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,157
Default Re: 12.8.2 - access violation errors

Yup, Windows 10 Pro on an I7 with 32GB of RAM here that had previously always run Pro Tools happily.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-22-2017, 04:27 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,146
Default Re: 12.8.2 - access violation errors

What's your DEP setting in System Properties --> Advanced --> Performance --> DEP? If turned on for all programs, try adding PT as an exception or choose the setting for just Windows executables.
__________________
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x Komplete Audio6 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 1903)
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6 (end of the OS road for the 2011 Mini)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-22-2017, 04:29 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,211
Default Re: 12.8.2 - access violation errors

I get these pretty often now on Windows 10
I suspect is something with the waveform image file, the graphics have been getting worse lately, I now can see how the image gets corrupted switching between edit and mix windows quickly.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-22-2017, 05:53 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,157
Default Re: 12.8.2 - access violation errors

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckS View Post
What's your DEP setting in System Properties --> Advanced --> Performance --> DEP? If turned on for all programs, try adding PT as an exception or choose the setting for just Windows executables.
Yup, tried various combinations of that with no noticeable improvement.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-22-2017, 07:50 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,089
Default Re: 12.8.2 - access violation errors

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
I get these pretty often now on Windows 10
I suspect is something with the waveform image file, the graphics have been getting worse lately, I now can see how the image gets corrupted switching between edit and mix windows quickly.
That sounds plausible to me. Has anyone taken this up with support?

Lost about 3 hours in the end - had to do a total uninstall of all components before it would roll back cleanly, just uninstalling the program didn't work. 12.8.1 performing nicely at least.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-22-2017, 09:27 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,091
Default Re: 12.8.2 - access violation errors

Try Macrium Reflect. Make an image of your working system before you update, update, it goes south, restore the image. Probably save you an hour or more and a lot less uninstalling/reinstalling.

Also great when changing hard drives or changing to an SSD, which I just did. Took out my old OS spinner in my PT computer, installed the unformatted SSD, booted from my Macrium Reflect Rescue Disk CD. Macrium saw the unformatted SSD, I restored the image to it and back in business. Took less than a half hour. Did the same for my Audio spinner. Then did my Work computer's OS spinner. All in, less than 2 hours.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-22-2017, 10:55 AM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 471
Default Re: 12.8.2 - access violation errors

I've been seeing this frequently on my Windows 8.1 system since upgrading to 12.8.2 as well. The weird thing is that it doesn't crash or freeze. Each time the error comes up, the operation will work on the second try, but without visual feedback. And exiting and re-opening PT always clears the problem, at least temporarily. I haven't found a pattern to when it starts to freak out. I'm thinking this might be the Windows manifestation of the draggy GUI issues people have been having on Mac.
__________________
ADK Core i7 4.20, 32GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT HD 2019.6, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, AJA Kona LHi, UAD-2 Quad; Mac Pro 8-core 2.67, 32GB RAM, High Sierra 10.13, Logic Pro 10.4.6, Apogee Rosetta 800, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Sierra, MOTU LP32, Pro Tools 2018.3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Access Violation errors DonaldM Tips & Tricks 0 05-31-2011 05:07 AM
Help with 'access violation' errors on an i7 please. jonnn 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 07-12-2009 12:00 AM
Access Violation Errors latprod Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 8 02-25-2009 06:07 AM
Errors in GDI.EXE & Access Violation 2Sick_Music 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 02-11-2003 05:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com