Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 01-07-2018, 10:48 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,089
Default Re: 12.8.2 - access violation errors

Just a huge thank you for plec for taking all this time to help diagnose. I knew it would be this way... I just don't have the time to it, I had to revert to 12.8.1 to get the job done.

As you say, this is for Avid to solve. Something changed between 12.8.1 and 12.8.2 in Windows to make it all fall apart - logically it has to be a side effect of some of that new code, or removal of some old code. Get looking, Avid.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 01-07-2018, 12:06 PM
Plec Plec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 21
Default Re: 12.8.2 - access violation errors

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
Did Avid support suggest anything to do with DEP?
Yes, and did not help the issue changing those settings.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 01-07-2018, 12:18 PM
Plec Plec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 21
Default Re: 12.8.2 - access violation errors

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poparad View Post
I've been having exactly this issue, too! On both 12.8.2 and 12.8.3 on Windows 10.

I've found that it always happens with new audio. I've been doing a lot of commit tracks and importing audio lately in a few sessions and it always happens right after both. I get the error when dragging clips or trimming regions. After I click "ok" on the error, I can usually move or trim on the second try. Once I close Pro Tools and reopen (closing and reopening the session alone won't fix it) the problem goes away.
Alright so just had a go trying to replicate this, and unfortunately for me even though I also thought that there's something about adding new media of any kind be it import audio or commiting tracks etc.. that started triggering this I still got errors on sessions without deliberatley adding ANY new content at all. So my guess is that the only way it seems like that is that you're actaully starting to edit and drag things around when you import stuff and that's what actually triggers something.

But still.. If anyone having the same issue is reading this.

THE SOLUTION TO THIS ISSUE IS TO REVERT BACK TO 12.8.1!!!!!!

I've tried literally EVERYTHING except this and a clean Windows install with PT only, which someone else had tried already so I didn't need to go that route.

But tried this a few hours ago and I haven't had a single error in 4-5 hours where it should have happened on these sessions in 10-15min intervals. I'd say I'm 90% sure this resolves the issue since it's also worked for everyone else who tried it, right?

I'm writing about this to Avid support now and see what they about it. Again, it seems pointless trying to hunt this down ourselves. Just give up and revert to 12.8.1 and get to work instead.

Thanks forum.. you saved my life!
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 01-07-2018, 03:53 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,095
Default Re: 12.8.2 - access violation errors

If there's nothing new in 12.8.1 you need, roll back to 12.4. That has been, according to most posters, the most stable version of PT before 12.8.3.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 01-07-2018, 04:43 PM
Plec Plec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 21
Default Re: 12.8.2 - access violation errors

Good to know! I could almost kill for the Batch Rename and additional MIDI stuff in 12.8.2 and the features added up to this point are basically what made be able to even work in PT compared to my previous DAW.

It’s a shame that updates like this can be so error heavy? I know almost nothing about programming but I’ve not had such basic functionality of a software become unstable due to simple incremental changes before. But good to know for future updates!
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 01-07-2018, 05:17 PM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,089
Default Re: 12.8.2 - access violation errors

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
If there's nothing new in 12.8.1 you need, roll back to 12.4. That has been, according to most posters, the most stable version of PT before 12.8.3.
My memory is pretty fuzzy, but I'm sure 12.8.1 is less bad than 12.4 was for me. 12.6 also introduced the new Workspace didn't it? IIRC that causes issues for projects that are 12.6 onwards opening in Pre 12.6 (if that makes sense).
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 01-07-2018, 05:48 PM
jpmorgan jpmorgan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Posts: 42
Default Re: 12.8.2 - access violation errors

I have Windows 7 Ultimate, and ProTools 12.4. (core i5, 64bit, 8GB RAM). Problems have popped up occasionally, but nothing like this. I'm planning to upgrade to Windows 10, but after reading these stories, I'm going to see how Windows 10 gets along with 12.4 before I dare to upgrade to 12.8.3. ProTools needs to correct this access violation problem and soon!
I'd be interested in hearing about problems encountered using ProTools 12.4 with Windows 10.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 01-09-2018, 10:59 AM
thedoghouse thedoghouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nashville, TN USA
Posts: 3
Default Re: 12.8.2 - access violation errors

I'm in the same situation here. 12.8.3

How do I safely downgrade to 12.8.1?
Where do I find those installers?
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 01-09-2018, 11:33 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,089
Default Re: 12.8.2 - access violation errors

Quote:
Originally Posted by thedoghouse View Post
I'm in the same situation here. 12.8.3

How do I safely downgrade to 12.8.1?
Where do I find those installers?
Huh, that's a good question now 12.8.3 is out. 12.8.2 is in my Avid account but not 12.8.1 - think it just keeps one previous version online, which is now no use to us. I keep my installers so I'm alright Jack, but does anyone else know where thedoghouse can get hold of 12.8.1?
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 01-09-2018, 11:34 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,729
Default Re: 12.8.2 - access violation errors

He needs to contact Avid for that. If on a plan it is easier than if you are not on a plan.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Access Violation errors DonaldM Tips & Tricks 0 05-31-2011 05:07 AM
Help with 'access violation' errors on an i7 please. jonnn 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 07-12-2009 12:00 AM
Access Violation Errors latprod Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 8 02-25-2009 06:07 AM
Errors in GDI.EXE & Access Violation 2Sick_Music 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 02-11-2003 05:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com