Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2016, 05:08 AM
martthie_08 martthie_08 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 131
Default HD native thunderbolt with thunderbolt card on desktop PC?

as the title says, is there any support for PCIe thunderbolt cards for HD Native? I am stuck with the thunderbolt version and want to use it on a win8 PC without onboard thunderbolt ports.

This is what I've found so far:
http://www.pro-tools-expert.com/home...omni-interface

https://www.scan.co.uk/products/asus...displayport-in

thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-24-2016, 08:27 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: HD native thunderbolt with thunderbolt card on desktop PC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by martthie_08 View Post
as the title says, is there any support for PCIe thunderbolt cards for HD Native? I am stuck with the thunderbolt version and want to use it on a win8 PC without onboard thunderbolt ports.

This is what I've found so far:
http://www.pro-tools-expert.com/home...omni-interface

https://www.scan.co.uk/products/asus...displayport-in

thanks!!
So?? Are you simply asking if HDN PCIe works in Windows?? Yes, lots of us use it.

Or do you mean actual TB PCIe cards for your PC? If that's the question, it depends if your motherboard supports it. It won't work with any motherboard and has to have specific connectors on the board along with the PCIe slots. What motherboard does your system have?
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-28-2016, 06:30 AM
martthie_08 martthie_08 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 131
Default Re: HD native thunderbolt with thunderbolt card on desktop PC?

thanks for your reply!

Quote:
Or do you mean actual TB PCIe cards for your PC?
yes!

Quote:
If that's the question, it depends if your motherboard supports it. It won't work with any motherboard and has to have specific connectors on the board along with the PCIe slots.
ok, what connectors would that be?

Quote:
What motherboard does your system have?
I will check tomorrow.. I believe some ASUS board
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-28-2016, 06:45 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,104
Default Re: HD native thunderbolt with thunderbolt card on desktop PC?

Similar questions keep coming up on DUC... you can search for previous posts.

Look up your motherboard on ASUS' web site, it may be one of a few that supports an ASUS Thunderbolt expansion board. What connector does it have? Well PCIe and more but it is ASUS proprietary so ya gotta get it from them *if* your motherboard supports that option at all. Apple insisting that Thunderbolt include graphics pretty much ensured there is no easy retrofit path for Thunderbolt in PCs. Thank the geniuses in their walled garden, and Intel for listening to them.

But then at best you get Thunderbolt on a PC, which is not officially supported by Avid HD Native. Which may or may not work, with problems or not. Seems like a good old waste of time when you could just go buy a used PCIe HD Native card and sell your HD Native Thunderbolt card if needed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-28-2016, 09:10 AM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: HD native thunderbolt with thunderbolt card on desktop PC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by martthie_08 View Post
thanks for your reply!


yes!


ok, what connectors would that be?


I will check tomorrow.. I believe some ASUS board
There is a specific port of the motherboard for TB beside the PCIe slot that is the default for it and attaches the card through an adapter to the board. Again, look up the board. Most mid-high end Asus boards from the z87 chipset forward support it. HDN has been surprisingly compatible on Windows TB systems.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2016, 01:48 AM
martthie_08 martthie_08 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 131
Default Re: HD native thunderbolt with thunderbolt card on desktop PC?

ok the main board is a Gigabyte Z97X-UD3H-BK, it seems there are no explicit firewire options available for this main board (at least from the vendor).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-01-2016, 07:29 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,104
Default Re: HD native thunderbolt with thunderbolt card on desktop PC?

And it has no Thunderbolt support either No upgrade path here.

You could have purchased, received, installed and been using working using a used PCIe card by now.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-01-2016, 07:47 AM
martthie_08 martthie_08 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 131
Default Re: HD native thunderbolt with thunderbolt card on desktop PC?

Thanks everyone!
Unfortunately this is not my system (have HDX myself) so I can't go out and sell the Thunderbolt box and get PCIe hardware...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-01-2016, 09:52 AM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: HD native thunderbolt with thunderbolt card on desktop PC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by martthie_08 View Post
Thanks everyone!
Unfortunately this is not my system (have HDX myself) so I can't go out and sell the Thunderbolt box and get PCIe hardware...
Only other resolve is the upgrade the motherboard to something like a z97-UD7-TH
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-12-2016, 10:26 PM
adogg4629 adogg4629 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 44
Default Re: HD native thunderbolt with thunderbolt card on desktop PC?

So I was able to get an HD Native to work on an MSI GT73VR using a USBC Thunderbolt three to thunderbolt adapter. Everything went fine, but I noticed that on my Omni, the volume and mute doesn't work. I get a nice level out of it, I just can't manipulate it.

AD
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trade hd native PCIe card for hd native thunderbolt card and cash? Brandonx1 Buy & Sell 8 03-22-2015 01:45 AM
HD native card in Magma Xpressbox1 w Omni on MacBook Pro i7 - pre-thunderbolt dugongmusic Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 14 08-07-2014 07:00 PM
HD native thunderbolt through Echo Express SE Thunderbolt Chassis hkj1 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 11-06-2013 05:49 PM
FS: HD Native PCIe card and Thunderbolt enclosure vocomotion Buy & Sell 0 08-24-2013 02:19 PM
Native Card vs Thunderbolt external brickroadstudio Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 09-28-2012 01:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com