Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-16-2016, 07:29 AM

Default Aggregate Device, Maxxed Out I/O

*Cue Suspenseful Music*

Greetings!

I am new (as a user) to this forum but I'm fairly familiar with the community. I have been a Pro Tools user since 7.4 with my 002. I was ecstatic when 9 was released and open to 3rd party interfaces. I am currently running 9.0.6 and I know am reaching the full recording and mixing potential of PT so much so that HD | Native is becoming a consideration. Here's the issue though:

Avid claims that it will support 32 inputs, which I assume is true seeing as I cannot test it. I have a X32 Rack running channels 1-16 to ADAT Ins 1 and 2 on a Focusrite LS56, then the LS56 and a Steinberg MR816x run to two of my 4 available firewire 800 ports. Everything clocks correctly, etc, etc. Obviously with this setup I had to create an Aggregate Device; however, the aggregated device recognizes all potential 44 inputs although gear is only plugged into 4 inputs.

When I choose the aggregate device in PT it lays out the inputs as follows:
LS56 Analog inputs (1-8)
LS56 SPDIF (9-10) *unused*
LS56 ADAT 1 (11-18) -> X32 Channels 1-8
LS56 ADAT 2 (19-26) -> X32 Channels 9-16
LS56 "Loopback" (27-28) *unused*
MR816 Analog Inputs (29-36)
MR816 ADAT (37-44) *unused*

Even if I make the SPDIF and "Loopback" inactive, remove them, or try to reorder them, PT still forces them to be recognized as 9-10 and 27-28. This causes me to only be able to use 4 of my 8 analog inputs on my MR816 which is completely unacceptable. Heck, I'd settle for losing inputs on the X32 before losing the MR816.