Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2014, 11:41 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,085
Default 12 fader opinions?

Hi. How are users of Mix & control (12 faders) liking or disliking the missing 4 when banking? Or can the 4 on control be dedicated in-place for Masters and VCA's?

Contemplating new fader system.

Thank you for your opinions.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APFS 90% 10% Audio on HFS+(Testing 1.5 yr in)
Pro Tools U-2019.6 MacOS 10.14.6
Second boot-10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MacVCEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2014, 11:53 AM
Geoff A Waddington Geoff A Waddington is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: 12 fader opinions?

I use 2 Mixes and a Control and do exactly as you say, the 4 faders on the Control are dedicated to Master/Submixes/Auxes/Selected Track, etc. depending.

Works like a champ.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2014, 12:27 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,085
Default Re: 12 fader opinions?

Thank you.
If the 4 faders are locked then the 16 faders (Your system) bank by 16 as expected?
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APFS 90% 10% Audio on HFS+(Testing 1.5 yr in)
Pro Tools U-2019.6 MacOS 10.14.6
Second boot-10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MacVCEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2014, 03:11 PM
jtwinpcola jtwinpcola is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pensacola USA
Posts: 19
Default Re: 12 fader opinions?

If you have "Artist Control banks independently" checked in the EuControl options, then yes, the Control is independent of the Mix, and banks 4 faders at a time. As others have stated, that's good if you want to keep 4 faders on submixes.

If its unchecked though, then 1 or more Mix's, or a Control and 1 or more Mix's will all bank together, but they still only bank by 8 faders. Hopefully in the future Avid will change that so that you at least have the option of banking by the sum of the total number of faders that you have. I have a Control and Mix, so I should be able to bank by 12. You could set your templates up for either 12, 24, 36, etc. channels and you could easily jump back and forth from end to end with just a few button presses.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2014, 06:00 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,085
Default Re: 12 fader opinions?

"Hopefully in the future Avid will change that so that you at least have the option of banking by the sum of the total number of faders that you have. I have a Control and Mix, so I should be able to bank by 12. You could set your templates up for either 12, 24, 36, etc. channels and you could easily jump back and forth from end to end with just a few button presses."

I agree.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APFS 90% 10% Audio on HFS+(Testing 1.5 yr in)
Pro Tools U-2019.6 MacOS 10.14.6
Second boot-10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MacVCEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-11-2014, 02:41 PM
GW GW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,709
Default Re: 12 fader opinions?

More often then not, in my case the Q is which tracks I do NOT want to bank. My first 4-8 faders are always Master/Rev1/Rev2/Aux and I put them on the Digi002 far left and the vocal-tracks that I have on the far right I double on the Control and let them stay put and bank my 3 Mixes = 24 faders 8 tracks at the time - that gives me super control in most cases… But still the Transport is the key element on the mixer.
To me this is more about strategic thinking than it is about gear.
(Later on I will have to exchange my Digi002 for yet another Mix-unit to keep the same setup, I know… ;-(
__________________
PT 12.4.0, iMac 27" Retina 4GHz i7, 32GB RAM, PoCo x8,
Digi002 Fact., Logic X|FCPX|Motion
Plugins: Waves Diam. V9|Artist Sign Ser.|SSL|GTR3.5, TC MD3|Harm4|VSS3|DVR2|Nonlin|Unwrap, Sonnox Infl|Dyn, Autotune
VI: Reason 8, Ivory It., Trilian|Omnisphere, VG2/RealGuitar, Kontakt6|GPO, Goliath|Gypsy|Fab Four, Candy, Structure, EZdrum, BIAB Audiophile
Hardware: TLM49|TLM103, SPL Track One, TC M-One, Artist Contr.v2|Transp|3xMix
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10.3 and 10.3.1 Small Volume Fader AND Clip Gain Fader Problem Ale macOS 1 10-11-2012 10:07 AM
Basic Gain Structure Fader/Master Fader Question acmost Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-16-2011 05:36 AM
FADER MUD - IMPOSSIBLE TO MAKE FADER WRITES IN REAL TIME Jim Casey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-22-2007 10:34 AM
'Fader Pack' and ProControl Fader order issue Ciaran ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 03-21-2005 11:58 PM
DIGI: Will it ever be possible to implement Pre-Fader Inserts on the Master Fader? Ricky Cobble Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-05-2003 04:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com