Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #71  
Old 08-12-2013, 08:56 AM
remute remute is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 308
Default Re: Plans for VST Adapter Support in Pro Tools 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weg View Post
Kinda missed my point.

My point is that the line between disallowing a wrapper and allowing vst hosting within an aax plugin appears to be one of a level of inconvenience to the user. Maybe if you added a pan pot to my suggested volume plugin it could be a "muti-effect" and therefore qualify?

Bingo.
It was a surprise to me how many fanbois in the DUC do the mental backflip to both thoughtlessly support Avid's decision to block the seamless Sugar Byte's wrapper but then keep suggesting that customers should quit complaining as there's a $300 semi-solution out there.

The garbage about allowing the wrapper would invalidate "a more authentic user experience" is just that, garbage, as shown by Magma, Bidule, VEPro etc - awkward, expensive solutions none of which provide the seamless experience provided by a VST-AAX wrapper.

Ditto the nonsense about "it would stop companies releasing AAX", as eloquently rebutted by a dev himself

http://www.protoolerblog.com/2013/07...#comment-38504

The simple truth is that Avid has repositioned itsself away from the prosumer market and couldn't care less about making it easier for hobbyists like me.
End of.
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 08-12-2013, 10:22 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 771
Default Re: Plans for VST Adapter Support in Pro Tools 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by remute View Post
The garbage about allowing the wrapper would invalidate "a more authentic user experience" is just that, garbage, as shown by Magma, Bidule, VEPro etc - awkward, expensive solutions none of which provide the seamless experience provided by a VST-AAX wrapper.
Well, I'm not a prosumer, but a 'pro', as I earn a portion of my income from what I do with Pro Tools and have invested tens of thousands of dollars into them, and may do even more in the future if it makes sense.

I wonder when I hear obfu-speak such as "a more authentic user experience" where a statement like that even comes from...obviously some lawyer or high level marketing bozo. It sounds like Hillary Clinton sqwaking "what does it matter?"

My ONLY reason for using Pro Tools is in it's name...as a user of their 'products' and a PROfessional I don't need an authentic user experience...I need TOOLS. If AVID's reluctance to allow me to utilize more and better tools than is defined by them as "a more authentic user experience" causes me to lose money or time, I have no problem utilizing my money and time purchasing and using other tools better fit for the problem.

So, btw, I wholeheartedly agree with you.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, OSX 10.10.5, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, Pro Tools 12.4 HD, PreSonus Studio One 3.5, Logic X, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 08-12-2013, 02:20 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,393
Default Re: Plans for VST Adapter Support in Pro Tools 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by remute View Post
Bingo.
It was a surprise to me how many fanbois in the DUC do the mental backflip to both thoughtlessly support Avid's decision to block the seamless Sugar Byte's wrapper but then keep suggesting that customers should quit complaining as there's a $300 semi-solution out there.

The garbage about allowing the wrapper would invalidate "a more authentic user experience" is just that, garbage, as shown by Magma, Bidule, VEPro etc - awkward, expensive solutions none of which provide the seamless experience provided by a VST-AAX wrapper.

Ditto the nonsense about "it would stop companies releasing AAX", as eloquently rebutted by a dev himself

http://www.protoolerblog.com/2013/07...#comment-38504

The simple truth is that Avid has repositioned itsself away from the prosumer market and couldn't care less about making it easier for hobbyists like me.
End of.
The programs you cite are NOT wrappers - they host plugins and do nothing to do the base code of a plugin. Wrappers do mess with the code.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 08-12-2013, 05:30 PM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: Plans for VST Adapter Support in Pro Tools 11

Keep in mind that Avid just rolled out a totally new plugin format.

There will be plenty of teething pains with AAX, even using plugins that either Avid wrote or that were written to Avid's specifications.

Avid simply doesn't want their shiny new product looking bad due to someone introducing a "wild card" into the mix...
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 08-12-2013, 05:38 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,393
Default Re: Plans for VST Adapter Support in Pro Tools 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Denton View Post
Keep in mind that Avid just rolled out a totally new plugin format.

There will be plenty of teething pains with AAX, even using plugins that either Avid wrote or that were written to Avid's specifications.

Avid simply doesn't want their shiny new product looking bad due to someone introducing a "wild card" into the mix...
Agreed. It's tough enough to hit the target as it is - you don't need to add in other variables.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 08-13-2013, 12:24 AM
GW GW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,709
Default Re: Plans for VST Adapter Support in Pro Tools 11

...and therein lays the Catch22-situation - I can't see myself migrating to PT11 before I can use my TC PowerCore plugins (for someone else it's perhaps some vital VI). In contrast to common belief, these plugins are not discontinued - the platform is. I cannot afford or justify to move up to System6000 - that would of course solve the problem...

The code in these plugins are very well written (so that argument is BS), they will never be developed to AAX or AAX2 (never mind how many customers are displeased)...

A VI I still use in PT10 for songwriting for mandolin and dobro is the ancient Virtual Guitarist - yet another plugin that is so useful in the toolkit.

I see the need for a replacement of the RTAS-format and welcome AAX, but the timing is a pure business decision and the technical aspect seems to being pushed way back...

But I'm in no hurry, I can wait and I hope Avid feel the same way about my money?
__________________
PT 12.4.0, iMac 27" Retina 4GHz i7, 32GB RAM, PoCo x8,
Digi002 Fact., Logic X|FCPX|Motion
Plugins: Waves Diam. V9|Artist Sign Ser.|SSL|GTR3.5, TC MD3|Harm4|VSS3|DVR2|Nonlin|Unwrap, Sonnox Infl|Dyn, Autotune
VI: Reason 8, Ivory It., Trilian|Omnisphere, VG2/RealGuitar, Kontakt6|GPO, Goliath|Gypsy|Fab Four, Candy, Structure, EZdrum, BIAB Audiophile
Hardware: TLM49|TLM103, SPL Track One, TC M-One, Artist Contr.v2|Transp|3xMix
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 08-13-2013, 12:30 AM
Weg Weg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 16
Default Re: Plans for VST Adapter Support in Pro Tools 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Agreed. It's tough enough to hit the target as it is - you don't need to add in other variables.
They are already there.

Granted, I am a musician, not a technician, so I don't understand the exact ins and outs of the technical differences between a host and a wrapper, but the bottom line is, to me, as long as it works, it doesn't much matter.

With Magma etc, I see the ability to have vst plugins work in PT11. So, why tarnish the "authentic user experience" by only allowing it in a half-cocked and clumsy manner?

I am thinking my hypothetical plugin needs a name...
__________________
ProTools 10.3.2
Mac Pro 8 core
10 gig ram
OSX 10.8
RME UFX
Artist Mix
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 08-13-2013, 08:02 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,783
Default Re: Plans for VST Adapter Support in Pro Tools 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weg View Post
...

... why tarnish the "authentic user experience" by only allowing it in a half-cocked and clumsy manner?

I am thinking my hypothetical plugin needs a name...
Hahaha Sooo true that statement

"Half-cocked" is a word I'm gonna borrow hehe

Thanks for making me laugh as it has been one of those days ->
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 08-13-2013, 12:25 PM
spenner spenner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Somewhere under the rainbow
Posts: 1,202
Default Re: Plans for VST Adapter Support in Pro Tools 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by remute View Post
Bingo.
It was a surprise to me how many fanbois in the DUC do the mental backflip to both thoughtlessly support Avid's decision to block the seamless Sugar Byte's wrapper but then keep suggesting that customers should quit complaining as there's a $300 semi-solution out there..
All of Avid's customers could benefit from TransVST. The difference is some complain but also use what makes them money today, whereas others just complain. This is why, for example, VEP 5 is brought up in this discussion by other PT users.

Quote:
Ditto the nonsense about "it would stop companies releasing AAX", as eloquently rebutted by a dev himself
I think it is a possibility, which your words below support:

Quote:
Magma, Bidule, VEPro etc - awkward, expensive solutions none of which provide the seamless experience provided by a VST-AAX wrapper.
TransVST is a streamlined, convenient, and inexpensive way of using VST directly in PT. If stable it would have been a better solution for PT than all the other paid and free solutions I have used and seen. It is the one solution that could have caused, not all but, some companies to at least think twice about developing 'another' plugin format for Avid.
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 08-13-2013, 12:56 PM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,317
Default Re: Plans for VST Adapter Support in Pro Tools 11

As far as I know 64 bit VSTs are required so a wrapper isn't necessarily an answer.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any plans to support AVI in Pro Tools? pianosdr Windows 0 12-10-2012 01:53 AM
Some clarification from Aspera on our DigiDelivery support plans... cmarkle_aspera Aspera DigiDelivery 0 12-11-2008 04:15 PM
Apera- support and maintenance plans Pirate Post Aspera DigiDelivery 10 12-06-2008 07:47 AM
New Support Plans? krashcreative Aspera DigiDelivery 0 12-01-2008 06:28 PM
Fxpansion vst-rtas adapter: no OS9 support! DClarkson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 12-17-2003 10:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com