Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2019, 11:26 AM
Justin1524 Justin1524 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 617
Default Digidesign 192 A/D input card issues...

Hi -

I have a blue Digidesign 192 analog I still enjoy using. Everything clocks perfect (to an Apogee Big Ben) and all digital connections and analog out connections work and sound perfect.

My problem is my 8 channel A/D input card has started making audible crackling noises, some channels seem worse than others. My question is if I replace the card am I likely to fix the problem? I opened the case and tried re-seating the ribbon cable, it didn't help. Around $200 to replace the card with a used one on eBay which I can stomach financially but only worth it to me if it works. I enjoy using this card with my Digidesign PRE which works perfect and I tested, so I know it's not the PRE.

Anyone else ever have this problem. I'd really rather scope out a replacement card in the $100 range so if anyone has one they wanna sell me, I'm at justin@jyaf.com. Thanks!
__________________
Justin
Admin
www.elevenrackpresets.com
Studio: 2010 Mac Pro Tower Intel Xeon 12 core 3.33 GHz, 64 GB macOS Mojave PCIe SSD 256GB Boot | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 | HD Native Card | Digi 192 Analog & 192 Digital Blue | Digi PRE, FR OctoPre MKII, Mackie Onyx 800R, Panasonic WZ-AD96M and DA7, Eleven Rack, Apogee Big Ben, Waves DLI, Impact Server, Horizon, Rode K2, Slate VMS ML-1. Laptop: Dell Inspiron 5559, i7-6500U 2.6Ghz, 16 GB RAM, 15.6" 1920x1080 1TB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2019, 11:43 AM
dr sound's Avatar
dr sound dr sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,131
Default Re: Digidesign 192 A/D input card issues...

Justin,
Before you go out and spend money verify that your Big Ben is outputting the same reference as your Pro Tools system such as 23.98 on your Big Ben and 23.98 on your Pro Tools system. Make sure the session rate and the reference are the same. Sometimes it's good to power down your reference and reset it again.
This applies to 24 frame or Word Clock reference .
Make sure all your cables are connected firmly.
I have had issues with a cable being bad and then clicks on everything you hear back.
__________________
Marti D. Humphrey CAS
aka dr.sound
www.thedubstage.com
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0401937/
Like everything in life, there are no guarantees just opportunities.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-02-2019, 06:02 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,021
Default Re: Digidesign 192 A/D input card issues...

I also would recommend checking and cleaning all connections before buying another card
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-03-2019, 11:16 AM
Justin1524 Justin1524 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 617
Default Re: Digidesign 192 A/D input card issues...

Thanks I appreciate the tips and advice. I’m sure it’s not the word clock. I picked up a used 192 blue on eBay with 2 A/D input cards (as opposed to one) for $330 shipped. Cheapest option. I’ll try and re-sell my old 192 (with full disclosure about the card of course) or keep it as a spare. It’s a great bargain compared to more expensive ones and I reject those who say 192’s don’t sound good, so many records made with them!
__________________
Justin
Admin
www.elevenrackpresets.com
Studio: 2010 Mac Pro Tower Intel Xeon 12 core 3.33 GHz, 64 GB macOS Mojave PCIe SSD 256GB Boot | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 | HD Native Card | Digi 192 Analog & 192 Digital Blue | Digi PRE, FR OctoPre MKII, Mackie Onyx 800R, Panasonic WZ-AD96M and DA7, Eleven Rack, Apogee Big Ben, Waves DLI, Impact Server, Horizon, Rode K2, Slate VMS ML-1. Laptop: Dell Inspiron 5559, i7-6500U 2.6Ghz, 16 GB RAM, 15.6" 1920x1080 1TB SSD
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trade my 192 output card for your 192 input card velvettone Buy & Sell 1 04-16-2018 08:15 AM
FS: Digidesign HD Core Card and Accel Card - PCIX/PCI N1h1l1ty Buy & Sell 7 05-30-2015 11:35 AM
WANTED: Host card for Digidesign Expansion HD chassis (pcie ethernet card) topdiggy2 Buy & Sell 0 02-04-2015 09:22 AM
Digidesign 192 Analog Input Card and Analog output Card for Sale MusicEngineer Buy & Sell 1 03-03-2014 10:03 AM
Win 7 - UA Apollo working, with Digidesign 003 as Midi input Tripledweb Windows 2 03-17-2013 09:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com