Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-05-2010, 08:29 PM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default Master Faders and MC Control in PT9

I have been using a Command 8 for years but am thinking about purchasing the MC Control and Mix now that Eucon is a reality.

The one feature I would find it hard to live without is the Master Faders button on the Command 8, which instantly banks to your master faders in your PT session. Does anyone know if the MC Control can be programmed to do this?

Otherwise you're banking a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2010, 11:11 PM
Dog and Pony Dog and Pony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV USA
Posts: 21
Default Re: Master Faders and MC Control in PT9

If the Eucon implementation is anything like it is for Nuendo you can assign any fader to be your master fader and it will always be at your fingertips. Or set that up as a layout and recall it with a single button press.
__________________
John McClain
The Dog and Pony Show, Inc.
Dogandponystudios.net
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2010, 12:16 AM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default

That sounds pretty appealing.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2010, 02:38 PM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default Re: Master Faders and MC Control in PT9

There's sadly no mention of "Direct Assign" features or the ability to permanently assign a fader to a fader in any of the downloadable docs I've been able to find on either site.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-06-2010, 07:38 PM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 978
Default Re: Master Faders and MC Control in PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Picture Start View Post
There's sadly no mention of "Direct Assign" features or the ability to permanently assign a fader to a fader in any of the downloadable docs I've been able to find on either site.
you can assign any fader to be your master fader thru Eucon software. Or set that up as a layout In Protools and recall it with a single button press! Also it's easy to bank the faders to either home (first track) or end (last track).
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Intel Mac Pro 12 core 3.33 GHz, 20GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT HDX, PT 12.8, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard
Mac Book Pro 2.4Ghz Duo, 4GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT Vanilla 12.8
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-07-2010, 04:01 PM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default Re: Master Faders and MC Control in PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fidelis View Post
you can assign any fader to be your master fader thru Eucon software. Or set that up as a layout In Protools and recall it with a single button press! Also it's easy to bank the faders to either home (first track) or end (last track).
The layout things sounds like it'll work. I have on average 6-8 master faders so just one will not do.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-10-2010, 11:54 AM
DanielEUCON's Avatar
DanielEUCON DanielEUCON is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 125
Default Re: Master Faders and MC Control in PT9

yes - layouts and direct assignments will do this.
You can create surface button that recall your "Masters" layout.

If you need more than 4 faders for Masters, then you may want to think about adding an MC Mix.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-10-2010, 12:03 PM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default Re: Master Faders and MC Control in PT9

Outstanding. Yes, I'm planning on the MC Mix.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-10-2010, 12:18 PM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default Re: Master Faders and MC Control in PT9

Just ordered one of each.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-11-2010, 01:45 PM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 696
Default Re: Master Faders and MC Control in PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by EuCon Support View Post
yes - layouts and direct assignments will do this.
You can create surface button that recall your "Masters" layout.
If you need more than 4 faders for Masters, then you may want to think about adding an MC Mix.
Are those layouts stored with PT session?
__________________
UAD Apollo x16,
UAD Apollo Twin Duo,
UAD Octo Thunderbolt,
Mac Mini i7 2018,
Reaper DAW,
Presonus Faderport,
Arturia Beastep for DAW control,
Former Pro Tools HD user (from V7 until V12.6).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Master Faders nate9 ICON & C|24 24 01-20-2009 02:11 PM
How master faders do you usually run? cary chilton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 11-29-2006 01:54 PM
Are master faders really necessary??? AppleFunk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 22 01-30-2004 04:54 PM
USING MIDI FADERS TO CONTROL PRO TOOLS FADERS.... domsound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-08-2004 07:06 PM
Master faders and DSP Psonic Psunspot Tips & Tricks 1 12-23-1999 01:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com