Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-16-2019, 05:56 PM
santoorman santoorman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: topanga, ca
Posts: 22
Default Link Track and Edit Selection not working

Upgraded to PT 2019.5. Still have 2018.10 app file on my machine.

When music is playing if click somewhere in any track it doesn't jump to it and start playing from there. dynamic transport is on as well as Link Track and Edit Selection.

Video of it NOT working in 2019.5
https://www.dropbox.com/s/afhamnbc4c...55-34.mp4?dl=0

Video if it working in 2018.10
https://www.dropbox.com/s/egye82x4av...18.10.mp4?dl=0

any idea why?? is this a bug??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2019, 10:06 AM
santoorman santoorman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: topanga, ca
Posts: 22
Default Re: Link Track and Edit Selection not working

no one else having this issue?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2019, 12:29 PM
christian kuntner christian kuntner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: switzerland
Posts: 5
Default Re: Link Track and Edit Selection not working

I asked the same question one month ago...same happening here, no helpfull reply till now...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-01-2019, 02:38 AM
DAT11 DAT11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Link Track and Edit Selection not working

Same problem on 10.13.4 mac with PT 2019.5

This latest update also causes my computer to have severe CPU issues - even with new sessions with almost no plugins (never happened before with prior versions!). I even trashed everything and did a clean install. Way to sell those "subscriptions" AVID.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-01-2019, 08:39 AM
grabie grabie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 11
Default Re: Link Track and Edit Selection not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by santoorman View Post
When music is playing if click somewhere in any track it doesn't jump to it and start playing from there. dynamic transport is on as well as Link Track and Edit Selection.
This happens here, too. I was wondering also, what is going on.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6.0 - Windows 10 x64 - i7 6700K - 32 gb ram
GeForce GTX 960 - Asus Z170-A - RME HDSPe AIO
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-03-2019, 04:09 AM
bartosz idzi bartosz idzi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 55
Default Re: Link Track and Edit Selection not working

Maybe this may help?

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=404855

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveyc View Post
You are correct that there have been some tweaks to dynamic transport. The changes are the same in PT | Standard and PT | Ultimate... so no trickery on our part.
We have put a lot of energy into what we are calling 'continuous playback', which is an effort to remove most (many) of the little interrupts, hiccups, and glitches a user has to endure during playback when making timeline mods, instantiating plug-ins, adding and/or removing tracks, etc. We wanted to create an environment where a user could engage the transport and work uninterrupted without loosing sync or experiencing drop-outs or glitches with the focus being for music creation... staying in the flow.
This particular behavior was intentional. The idea was that when a loop end point was pulled in front of where the playhead currently was, the playhead would continue to play on, uninterupted.
In order to keep looping, a user would make sure the playheads was always within the loop points. If a loop needed to be shortened, it would need to be done while the playhead was still in the area prior to where the end point was being moved to.
I have received one additional complaint about this, so I will revaluate if this behavior is correct and potentially change it in the future. It seemed intuitive during development and behaved that way in some other DAWs that have a better rep for maintaining continuous playback during music creation.
__________________
Mac Pro 2 x 3.46Ghz - 64 Gb RAM - SSD 256 Gb - SSD 1TB - OS 10.12.6 - Metric Halo 2882 - Pro Tools 2019.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Link Track/Edit Selection Bug? indeloon85 Pro Tools 2018 10 04-01-2019 10:16 PM
link timeline and edit selection not working blackdognove 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-06-2011 01:17 AM
C8 Follows Link Track Selection in Edit/Mix window FluffyPost ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 01-20-2009 08:44 PM
link track and edit selection not working (for me)? P7.4cs3 jahtao 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-06-2008 10:05 AM
link timeline and edit selection not working binetron 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 12-14-2007 01:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com