Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-28-2017, 01:04 PM
pie55 pie55 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 306
Default 96 i/o crackling and goes quiet??

Hi
I have a hd 2 accel system with an Aurora 16 and a 96 i/o mac 8 core.

Lately in mix sessions the 96 i/o crackles frem time to time. Restarting the computer and power cycling temporarily fixes this. USed to happen a few times a month, but today alone it farted out 4 times.
Another thing is the out put and input of the 96 i/o get real quiet out of no where. again restart etc as a fix
and a new thing happened today. It started making this quiet squeaking sound.
I have 88.2 wordclock selected for the 96 i/o as sync with a wordclock cable from the aurora to the 96 i/o.
If internal sync is selected for the aURORA (AS MASTER) is a word clock cable needed to the 96 i/o?
thanks

Last edited by pie55; 10-28-2017 at 01:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-28-2017, 03:10 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,932
Default Re: 96 i/o crackling and goes quiet??

Yes, always. Whichever box you set to master clock, will be sending clock to another box. Therefore if Aurora ks master, you connect Aurora wc out to Digi ext.clock in
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-29-2017, 06:12 AM
pie55 pie55 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 306
Default Re: 96 i/o crackling and goes quiet??

and should the 96 i/o have word clock 88.2 selected,
Or should INternal be selected for the Aurora?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2017, 08:29 AM
pie55 pie55 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 306
Default Re: 96 i/o crackling and goes quiet??

update...
the 96 i/o crackles THEN goes quiet.

just thought of this that I forgot to mention. I'm monitoring the spdif out of the 96 i/o to a KRK Ergo monitor controller
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-29-2017, 04:26 PM
pie55 pie55 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 306
Default Re: 96 i/o crackling and goes quiet??

can anyone chime in? I have a mix in limbo. Wondering if I need to not use the 96 i/o.
Anyone out there encounter this?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-29-2017, 06:11 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,860
Default Re: 96 i/o crackling and goes quiet??

Quote:
Originally Posted by pie55 View Post
can anyone chime in? I have a mix in limbo. Wondering if I need to not use the 96 i/o.
Anyone out there encounter this?
Never had anything like this on our old HD3 and HD5 systems so I would use the internal xard IF you are only mixing as the sound will be the same and no issues for now with your 96i/o

It can be anything and even that the old interface is going to die.

For now of you have a time limit use the i ternal sound, start PT with the N key held down until popup window appear, choose built-in audio and finish the work and if anyone comes up with ideas you will see that here.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-30-2017, 07:56 AM
pie55 pie55 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 306
Default Re: 96 i/o crackling and goes quiet??

thanks. What do you mean by "internal card"?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-30-2017, 08:33 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,860
Default Re: 96 i/o crackling and goes quiet??

The soundcard inside your computer. Built in audio.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-30-2017, 09:08 AM
pie55 pie55 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 306
Default Re: 96 i/o crackling and goes quiet??

ah i see,
Don't think I need to. For mixing I use a pile of hardware and my Aurora 16 works perfect. Just had to go digital for the i/o I was using the 96 i/o for.
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-01-2017, 01:13 PM
pie55 pie55 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 306
Default Re: 96 i/o crackling and goes quiet??

does this sound like the interface or the Accel card?
It' a hassle to get at the back of the gear to swap digi link cables, but if I have to I will.
It would be a lot easier if someone out there experienced a similar issue
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to fix a quiet mix? pribb1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-10-2010 06:22 PM
G5 How quiet? poppy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 01-16-2004 07:50 PM
G5--How Quiet? snurble Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 06-30-2003 07:21 PM
How is this for a quiet PC! funkdefino 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-23-2003 04:19 AM
How quiet is the Magma Quiet 4 slot Chassis? Walling1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 07-15-2002 10:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com