Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2008, 12:58 PM
msb212 msb212 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 19
Default Help: PT's MIDI Clock doubles external devices' BPM

Sometimes my Triton/Dr.Rhythm/Microkorg sync up without a problem to the Pro Tool's master clock. Once in a while...

I set PT bpm to 140 for example, and hit record, and the Triton sequence starts playing at 280 bpm. Can anyone explain what might cause this?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2008, 02:13 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,762
Default Re: Help: PT's MIDI Clock doubles external devices' BPM

It sounds like you may have a MIDI loopback - is the device set to echo it's input back to it's output? Do you have 'local control' turned on? If so, disabling those will likely fix the problem.

A quick test would be to disconnect the MIDI cable going to the IN on the device in question - if it plays back at the proper speed, you'll know one of the above situations is the most likely culprit.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-03-2008, 05:38 PM
msb212 msb212 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 19
Default Re: Help: PT's MIDI Clock doubles external devices' BPM

I see, so local on is the culprit. Ok, thank you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did HD IO output clock to external devices? Rockman413 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 07-06-2012 08:41 AM
Problems with external MIDI devices and Pro Tools 8 Lac 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-08-2011 09:44 AM
Control external midi devices from Protools Dozerbabar MIDI 2 01-02-2011 03:24 AM
MIDI devices (external/plug-ins) produce no sound KAJ31 MIDI 3 11-02-2006 11:03 AM
Devices Don't show up in Midi Beat Clock Menu LKing MIDI 2 02-12-2003 03:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com