Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-04-2011, 10:59 AM
Gate 13 Gate 13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Default Pro tools 8 LE (just installed) quits unexpectedly during launching

Hi. I am a new customer, I installed Pro tools LE 8. I launch it and I face two problems.
1)When launching (loading the files), it stops at Kontakt 2 and shows a "Native instruments" error saying "the installation folder not found. Please select a folder now". I press OK and then "cancel" because I don't want to use the kontakt 2 with Pro tools...
It continues loading the files and when it is trying to load Plug sound Pro (another software instrument) it quits unexpectedly....
Is it a Pro tools issue or a plug sound Pro or Kontakt issue.

Please advise
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-04-2011, 11:08 AM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: Pro tools 8 LE (just installed) quits unexpectedly during launching

What version of OS X are you using, what kind of host?
Which interface.

Try using UVI Workstation in place of Plugsound Pro, it works with the same libraries.
__________________
Pro Tools 12, Studio One V3.x
iMac 27" 5k i7 4Ghz, 32GB RAM 1TB Flash (OS X 10.10.x)
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Antelope Audio Zen-Studio
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
Macbook Pro 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-04-2011, 11:18 AM
Gate 13 Gate 13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Default Re: Pro tools 8 LE (just installed) quits unexpectedly during launching

Thanks for your quick reply
I am using OS X 10.6.8
M box mini (3rd generation)

I am launching pro tools...I also use the UVI workstation. So when you say "try using UVI workstation instead of plug sound pro" what do you mean? How can I do this?
Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-04-2011, 11:37 AM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: Pro tools 8 LE (just installed) quits unexpectedly during launching

Try moving the Plugsound Pro plug-in out of the folder:
HD/Library/Application Support/Digidesign/Plug-ins
to
HD/Library/Application Support/Digidesign/Unused Plug-ins

See if PT starts up then.
Use the UVI Workstation browser to locate the Plug Sound Pro sound libraries.
__________________
Pro Tools 12, Studio One V3.x
iMac 27" 5k i7 4Ghz, 32GB RAM 1TB Flash (OS X 10.10.x)
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Antelope Audio Zen-Studio
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
Macbook Pro 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-04-2011, 11:50 AM
Gate 13 Gate 13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Default Re: Pro tools 8 LE (just installed) quits unexpectedly during launching

yes it worked!
Thanks so much!
I had to take out kontakt 2 and uviworkstation plug ins as well...
Now my questions is: what if I want to use these plug ins with pro tools in the future?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-04-2011, 12:51 PM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: Pro tools 8 LE (just installed) quits unexpectedly during launching

Did you have the latest updates to all these plug-ins? Not sure Kontakt 2 is even supported on Snow Leopard, you may want to look into that.
__________________
Pro Tools 12, Studio One V3.x
iMac 27" 5k i7 4Ghz, 32GB RAM 1TB Flash (OS X 10.10.x)
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Antelope Audio Zen-Studio
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
Macbook Pro 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-05-2011, 03:51 PM
Gate 13 Gate 13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Default Re: Pro tools 8 LE (just installed) quits unexpectedly during launching

yes I have the latest updates for uviworkstation....and NO i am not gonna need to use kontakt 2 because I have kontakt 4...so the only question is what happens if I want to use uviworkstation with pro tools in the future...

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-05-2011, 05:58 PM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: Pro tools 8 LE (just installed) quits unexpectedly during launching

When you start UVI in standalone mode (not in Pro Tools) what version number is it?
__________________
Pro Tools 12, Studio One V3.x
iMac 27" 5k i7 4Ghz, 32GB RAM 1TB Flash (OS X 10.10.x)
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Antelope Audio Zen-Studio
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
Macbook Pro 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 9 wont start! Quits unexpectedly.... Quits during startup... dbC4G Pro Tools 9 11 03-09-2012 07:23 AM
PT Unexpectedly Quits while/during launching-wtf? JJ McG Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-06-2009 09:58 AM
Protools 6.7 unexpectedly quits b4 even launching caipo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-30-2005 11:41 AM
PT "unexpectedly quits" when launching jermpsf 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-20-2005 04:07 PM
Pro Tools unexpectedly quits slowriot 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-13-2004 05:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com