Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2019, 09:42 AM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 595
Default Channel Strip / Mixer Type Interface

I'm looking for recommendations on a low track count (between 1-4) mixer that interfaces with Pro Tools and records the automation for pans, faders, EQ. I have a hell of a time doing it with a mouse; way too time consuming compared to a simple twist of a knob.
Want to keep this cheap. I'd assume that the quality of these things is just a matter of the parts used n how fluid they move. One channel is sufficient, but if the cost isn't drastic, 2 or 4 would be ideal.


Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2019, 10:35 AM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,257
Default Re: Channel Strip / Mixer Type Interface

I picked up a new in-box Command|8 on eBay for $175 a few months ago. That's 8 channels.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2019, 07:31 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,743
Default Re: Channel Strip / Mixer Type Interface

Let's get terminology squared away. What you want(I think) is a "control surface". A "mixer" conjures up visions of Mackie 1604's and such Indeed, the Command8 is a viable controller, BUT it is old and may not have much future when it comes to compatibility. I would look at the Presonus Faderport 8 as a serious contender. A used Avid Artist MIX is another(but usually higher priced).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Channel Strip Bug UnderTow Windows 2 10-23-2011 08:52 AM
Channel Strip in Mixer romik Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 10-04-2011 01:55 PM
Anyone using URS Channel Strip Pro? ondruspat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-31-2008 04:40 PM
New URS Channel Strip Pro! George Ware Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 08-03-2007 04:59 AM
Renaissance channel vs Channel Strip frenchman Tips & Tricks 1 09-20-2003 05:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com