Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2016, 08:43 AM
PowerofEight PowerofEight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 39
Default 2 bugs in pro tools 12.6.1 (one carried from 12.4)

This is for PC version, unsure about MAC.

Windows 10
Pro Tools 12.6.1

AKAI LPK25 mini midi keyboard stops responding after a while. This bug carried over from 12.4

Not sure what the deal is, the usb port has adequate power. Bug did not occur in 12.3.1

Also 12.6.1 suffers a huge memory leak if the session is left opened over a day. Sometimes I leave my PC on overnight. Pro tools then leaks ton of memory (via taskmgr) and the computer has to be rebooted. Not sure what is going on here.
Otherwise, 12.6.1 is still better than what we had.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-19-2016, 10:09 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,742
Default Re: 2 bugs in pro tools 12.6.1 (one carried from 12.4)

FWIW, I never leave a session open unattended as it stands a good chance of being frozen when I come back. Just save/close the session(I leave Pro Tools open). Beyond that, there are some system tweaks that NEED to be done, such as setting drives to NEVER spin down and setting USB ports to NOT allow power management(this might be the issue with the Akai).

If you are going to leave the PC on overnight, I highly recommend 2 things;
#1-NEVER leave an open session overnight
#2-get a good UPS(do this regardless of leaving a computer on or not). Without a UPS, if anything happens to the power, it can mess with several things, especially if the computer is writing any data(which can be corrupted).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-19-2016, 10:54 AM
eesn eesn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: london
Posts: 152
Default Re: 2 bugs in pro tools 12.6.1 (one carried from 12.4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
FWIW, I never leave a session open unattended as it stands a good chance of being frozen when I come back.
I've left sessions open overnight in PT10 in the past. Yet to do the same in PT12 but I'd be looking into potential plugin issues or even hardware issues if I ever experienced stuff like this again. Haven't ever had PT stop working when doing nothing.
__________________
pt hd 12, rme fireface ucx, artist control v2, i7 16gb osx 10.12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-19-2016, 01:24 PM
climber climber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 307
Default Re: 2 bugs in pro tools 12.6.1 (one carried from 12.4)

do what you like of course, but I don't leave any programs that I am working in open for more than the time I'm working. as others have said, if the program crashes it can easily corrupt that file, even if it has been saved.
__________________
__________________
Al Hospers
bass, vocal, composer, engineer

CleverSounds Recording

------------------------------------------------------
OS X Mojave, Late 2013 MacPro, 6 core, 32 GB RAM, Orion Studio , PT2019.5, Slate MTi, ISA428, ADL600, Distressor, Grace 501, Dimedio, Obsidian, One LA, BAC500, Harrison 32 EQ, UAD2 OCTO, Focal 6 be, Auratones...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-19-2016, 04:22 PM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: 2 bugs in pro tools 12.6.1 (one carried from 12.4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by climber View Post
do what you like of course, but I don't leave any programs that I am working in open for more than the time I'm working. as others have said, if the program crashes it can easily corrupt that file, even if it has been saved.


That, and the the fact that PT will spend the night writing auto back-up files, and you'll probably loose any of the useful back-ups as a result.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-20-2016, 11:35 PM
taylor4814 taylor4814 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 364
Default Re: 2 bugs in pro tools 12.6.1 (one carried from 12.4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerofEight View Post
This is for PC version, unsure about MAC.
Also 12.6.1 suffers a huge memory leak if the session is left opened over a day. Sometimes I leave my PC on overnight. Pro tools then leaks ton of memory (via taskmgr) and the computer has to be rebooted. Not sure what is going on here.
Otherwise, 12.6.1 is still better than what we had.

Curious what is a memory leak and how do you identify it in Task Manager? Thanks in advance...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
11.1.2 on Mountain Lion bugs bugs bugs. command+f, elastic audio, discoloration farmfresh Pro Tools 11 21 05-01-2014 07:21 PM
Pro tools 11 Bugs YKlein Pro Tools 11 3 10-17-2013 08:36 AM
A Step Entry bug carried over from PT9 melodydetective macOS 1 02-20-2012 07:00 PM
Bugs in Pro Tools 9.0.3 mkosacek Windows 3 06-30-2011 03:43 AM
Pro Tools LE 7.0 Bugs Larry Younkins 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-13-2005 11:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com