Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2009, 08:42 PM
mbox2issue mbox2issue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 35
Default Mono Instrument Track VS Stereo Instrument Track

Hello,

Pro Tools 8 has the option that you can choose either mono or stereo for your instrument track using plug-ins. I am so confused, should I stick with stereo? What's the advantage and disadvantage of it? Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-18-2009, 02:18 AM
SeedGuy SeedGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 416
Default Re: Mono Instrument Track VS Stereo Instrument Track

Are you using a mono or stereo instrument plug-in?

Most synths and samplers are stereo though. I hardly ever use a mono instrument track.

The advantage of a stereo instrument track is you can hear things in stereo not mono.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-2009, 03:53 PM
mbox2issue mbox2issue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 35
Default Re: Mono Instrument Track VS Stereo Instrument Track

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeedGuy View Post
Are you using a mono or stereo instrument plug-in?

Most synths and samplers are stereo though. I hardly ever use a mono instrument track.

The advantage of a stereo instrument track is you can hear things in stereo not mono.
Well, I am using Boom plug-in which could be either mono or stereo track. Mono track doesn't mean it sounds mono in terms of instrument track because i can still hear the sound on both speakers for mono track.

Is there any difference between mono and stereo tracks, anyone? Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2009, 04:11 PM
77pro 77pro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 818
Default Re: Mono Instrument Track VS Stereo Instrument Track

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbox2issue View Post
Well, I am using Boom plug-in which could be either mono or stereo track. Mono track doesn't mean it sounds mono in terms of instrument track because i can still hear the sound on both speakers for mono track.

Is there any difference between mono and stereo tracks, anyone? Thank you
Ummmm...do you know the difference between mono and stereo ?

If not , you should do some serious reading/googling/listening before you delve any further into protools
__________________
003r/i7-930/LE 8.0.1 cs2 on xp
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2009, 04:24 PM
mbox2issue mbox2issue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 35
Default Re: Mono Instrument Track VS Stereo Instrument Track

Quote:
Originally Posted by 77pro View Post
Ummmm...do you know the difference between mono and stereo ?

If not , you should do some serious reading/googling/listening before you delve any further into protools
Ok thanks a lot for not helping...... YES I do know the difference between mono stereo, but this is not what I'm talking about. I'm talking about instrument MIDI (not wave) tracks using plug-ins in Pro Tools....Both mono and stereo tracks sound exactly the same. Digidesign had them in Pro Tools for a reason. There must be some advantages and dis-advantages that I don't know. That's why I am asking if anyone knows it.. Please do everyone a favor. If you are not helping, please don't comment in anyone's topic, THANK YOU. I also watched the video that included in the Pro Tools package (stereo midi track in Pro Tools doesn't mean the sound is in stereo...).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-20-2009, 05:57 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,610
Default Re: Mono Instrument Track VS Stereo Instrument Track

When a VI patch has 100% correlated output, use a mono inst track to save CPU power. Otherwise, use stereo - unless you want it to sum the output to mono or play back only one of the channels, depending on how that particular VI works.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2019.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2019.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-20-2009, 06:56 AM
jmitchell1532 jmitchell1532 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 764
Default Re: Mono Instrument Track VS Stereo Instrument Track

It all depends on what you are doing. Say you are using BFD...a stereo instrument track would be great for overhead mikes. A mono instrument track would be great if you made a bunch of them, and routed each individual drum to its own track.
__________________
Jon

HP Pavilion P6000, AMD Athlon II X2 240 (2.8GHz), FOXCONN 2AB1 MoBo, 16GB DDR3, NVIDIA GeForce 8400GS, Two WD Caviar Black Internal500 gig, One WD External 300 Gig, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit, SD2, Metal Foundry, Focusrite Saffire 6, PT 9.03 (stable), Gibson Les Paul Studio (Drop D), Fender Tele (nashville tuning), hand built Carvin Bolt (finished!)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-20-2009, 08:23 AM
Sven62 Sven62 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Warrenton, VA
Posts: 116
Default Re: Mono Instrument Track VS Stereo Instrument Track

Some plugins will change your mono track to a stereo track. This may be why you don't notice a difference.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-20-2009, 04:21 PM
mbox2issue mbox2issue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 35
Default Re: Mono Instrument Track VS Stereo Instrument Track

Ahh I see, the stereo instrument track does sound better than mono track, but the dis-advantage of it is that it's using too much CPU power compared to mono track. More mono tracks = better than stereo track since it's using less CPU power unless we have a powerful computer. This is very great help, thanks a lot for helping everyone.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Instrument Track: Stereo converted to Mono Dstryr Pro Tools 10 3 05-14-2013 05:24 AM
Instrument input stereo on the fast track? eddiebrumley Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 11-08-2011 08:05 AM
Mono to Stereo Instrument track mike e.t. Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 05-04-2010 02:11 AM
V8_cs2 crashing when rebussing ST instrument track to Mono bus IO Composer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-01-2009 12:19 PM
Stereo Instrument and Audio track Issues! Durka Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-05-2006 11:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com