Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-10-2013, 04:56 PM
Sittingmonk Sittingmonk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 4
Default Seagate Backup Plus 3TB - Thunderbolt

Hi there,

I'm trying to use a 3TB Seagate Backup Plus Desktop ext drive (model:SRD0SD0) as an audio drive in Pro Tools 9.05. (mac specs at end of thread.)

I formatted the drive to Mac OS journaled. Partitioned as 2 x 1.5TB
Drive names are: "creative" and "Time Machine" no illegal characters

I also have the thunderbolt adapter for this drive.
Both USB and thunderbolt adapters give me a DAE 35 error in PT9.05.

I first used the drive as USB to temp backup to one of the other partitions.
when the thunderbolt adapter finally arrived I plugged in with thunderbolt and the drive was not recognised. I installed the seagate driver which allows you to access the drive from BOTH USB and Thunderbolt and it worked. I have a feeling this could be the conflicting element. But I am out of space lol!

Is anyone using a Seagate Backup plus drive with success?
Any ideas for what I should do?

I'm Running 10.6.8

Hardware Overview:

Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro8,2
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 2.2 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 6 MB
Memory: 8 GB
Boot ROM Version: MBP81.0047.B27
SMC Version (system): 1.69f4

Last edited by Sittingmonk; 03-10-2013 at 04:58 PM. Reason: more info
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2013, 03:37 AM
antonis's Avatar
antonis antonis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,179
Default Re: Seagate Backup Plus 3TB - Thunderbolt

I am not so sure about this but trying to apply common sense I'd think:

Running on 10.6.8 could be an issue as Thunderbolt is a much newer technology (and all the Thunderbolt equipped macs come with 10.8 as standart)

PT 10.3.3 added eSata support after a long time, and Thunderbolt drivers (for expansion chassis) are currently been added on PT10 as well.

So, my assumption would be that you'd need minimum some version of PT10 for anything Thunderbolt related, put potentially that might not solve your problem as well. Unless, Avid has specifically declared support for Thunderbolt storage units.

Worst case scenario, both 10.6.8 and PT9 is not good enough for TB.
__________________
1. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, HDN, AVID MTRX, Sync HD, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
2. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, Yamaha Dante Accelerator, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
3. D-Command ES, 24-fader.
4. Eleven Rack.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2013, 05:35 AM
Sittingmonk Sittingmonk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 4
Default Re: Seagate Backup Plus 3TB - Thunderbolt

Thanks for your input Antonis.

The issue is happening with the drive plugged in via USB 2 aswell as TB.
The 2011 MBP came installed with Snow Leopard and thunderbolt enabled.
I read a guy on GearSluts got thunderbolt SSD working with PT9.05 too.
I think its the drive.

anyone got one of these drives to work with PT 9?

Cheers,
SM
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2013, 07:36 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,743
Default Re: Seagate Backup Plus 3TB - Thunderbolt

Not sure if this will help, but I notice "Time Machine" is 12 characters and Pro Tools hates long drive names. What happens if you shorten that name(maybe "TimeMach")?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-22-2013, 07:04 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,322
Default Re: Seagate Backup Plus 3TB - Thunderbolt

These drives are USB 3.0, fw800 or thunderbolt, based on the adaptor cable you connect to them.(they have some weird proprietary connector if this is the drive I'm thinking of). I'm speculating that both the USB 3.0 and TB support in 10.6.8 might just be flaky, since they are newer technologies. Or, seagate needs to make a firmware update for these enclosures that use the weird connector.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-22-2013, 08:46 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Seagate Backup Plus 3TB - Thunderbolt

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Toolbox View Post
These drives are USB 3.0, fw800 or thunderbolt, based on the adaptor cable you connect to them.(they have some weird proprietary connector if this is the drive I'm thinking of). I'm speculating that both the USB 3.0 and TB support in 10.6.8 might just be flaky, since they are newer technologies. Or, seagate needs to make a firmware update for these enclosures that use the weird connector.

I have a 3TB GoFlex Home NAS drive for Time Machine backups While I haven't seen the accessory cables in person I thought the actual drive connection is a standard SATA+Power adaper. Every single one of these Seagates I've looked at has a "Green" drive in it also. FWIW
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD native thunderbolt through Echo Express SE Thunderbolt Chassis hkj1 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 11-06-2013 05:49 PM
Until Someone Makes a Thunderbolt Hub, Thunderbolt is a (1/2 Useless) Dead End Street relaxo Pro Tools 10 7 11-12-2012 11:43 AM
Thunderbolt-Sonnet’s Echo™ Express PCIe 2.0 Expansion Chassis with Thunderbolt™ Ports Barry Johns Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 29 08-11-2012 07:01 AM
TRAVAN Tape Backup - compress audio backup or not ? stoneinapond Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-28-2001 12:35 AM
Seagate AIT frizsell Tips & Tricks 3 04-12-2000 08:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com