Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #501  
Old 12-13-2009, 08:52 PM
pliktro pliktro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Default please help

Hi all!
I'm using digi002 rack.Is there any driver to use my soundcard in Windows 7 32bit or 64bit with another audio application i.e Cubase?In Windows XP there is the Audio driver 7.4.I can't find anything.Any help?
Reply With Quote
  #502  
Old 12-13-2009, 09:15 PM
tonejunkee tonejunkee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 171
Default Re: Windows 7(Something to think about?)

So I am about to upgrade to another custom PTLE workstation. It's from one of the 3 certified Digi approved audio computer makers. The thing is they list (Vista) as being the OS installed.... and that kind of terrifies me. Here is my question:

What is most hassle free way to go? Vista or 7 ? I need stablility and think XP has shown to be that, but also have heard the new OS's will allow me to use all 4GBs of memory

Is is too early for 7 ?

Is Vista crap?

??

?
Reply With Quote
  #503  
Old 12-13-2009, 09:46 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,902
Default Re: Windows 7(Something to think about?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonejunkee View Post
So I am about to upgrade to another custom PTLE workstation. It's from one of the 3 certified Digi approved audio computer makers. The thing is they list (Vista) as being the OS installed.... and that kind of terrifies me. Here is my question:

What is most hassle free way to go? Vista or 7 ? I need stablility and think XP has shown to be that, but also have heard the new OS's will allow me to use all 4GBs of memory

Is is too early for 7 ?

Is Vista crap?

??

?
It's not crap, but XP has proven to be the best bet for us. Opinions will vary. You won't be able to use a full 4GB of RAM in PT until the 64bit drivers are ready and all goes as planned. At that point you will be best served with W7 64bit and an installed 6gb of ram. The system will still need some.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #504  
Old 12-13-2009, 09:57 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,902
Default Re: Windows 7(Something to think about?)

Shane, just one more post to 7000. You can pull yourself away from Reatools for just one more.

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 6,999
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #505  
Old 12-13-2009, 11:28 PM
tonejunkee tonejunkee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 171
Default Re: Windows 7(Something to think about?)

thanks! I dont want to be like that other guy (on here troubleshooting windows 7)
So maybe in a year, digidesign will acknowledge the existence of windows 7
LOL
Reply With Quote
  #506  
Old 12-14-2009, 11:02 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,902
Default Re: Windows 7(Something to think about?)

Shane is working on other endeavors; the snails pace on the advancement front here has rendered him "less than enthusiastic"…
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #507  
Old 12-14-2009, 11:04 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,902
Default Re: Windows 7(Something to think about?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonejunkee View Post
thanks! I dont want to be like that other guy (on here troubleshooting windows 7)
So maybe in a year, digidesign will acknowledge the existence of windows 7
LOL
Good one. But I bet based on former timeframes, much sooner than a year.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #508  
Old 12-15-2009, 06:39 PM
pliktro pliktro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: please help

Quote:
Originally Posted by pliktro View Post
Hi all!
I'm using digi002 rack.Is there any driver to use my soundcard in Windows 7 32bit or 64bit with another audio application i.e Cubase?In Windows XP there is the Audio driver 7.4.I can't find anything.Any help?
Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #509  
Old 12-18-2009, 03:14 PM
Rocket Mandrake Rocket Mandrake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mexico
Posts: 7
Default Re: Windows 7(Something to think about?)

Hi there to all!!

GREAT NEWS!!! Have you checked lately the digidesing website?

AT LAST!!! 64 bit drivers for the digi 002, 003, 003+ and so on (at least for Windows 7)

The new Pro tools 8.0.3 has been released this 17 (yesterday)

Let's check it out and share the results!!
Would this 64 bit driver work on Windows Xp 64 bit?
Reply With Quote
  #510  
Old 12-19-2009, 08:31 AM
mtnman mtnman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 76
Default Re: Windows 7(Something to think about?)

Just updated to 8.0.3. I have the Mbox 2 Pro so I didn't install the 8.0.4b driver update. Seems to work fine on Win7 Ultimate x64.

It sure would have been nice to have ANY indication this compatibility update was coming as I just rebuilt a Win7 x86 drive just for PTLE due to the incompatible driver issue.

But, at least it is here now. I hope it works for everyone else.

Other info:
Asus P5Q SE2/Q9400/4GB RAM - now going for 8GB since PTLE works in x64
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updating Pro Tools and Mbox from Windows XP to Windows 7 ryanjantz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-29-2011 04:22 PM
Windows Guide - Windows 7 Optimizations and Troubleshooting.[349411] cwsand 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 08-12-2010 01:46 PM
Is standalone Windows Audio Drivers v8.0.3 compatible with WINDOWS XP 64 ? VonHelvete 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-28-2010 10:01 AM
running PT 8.0 in windows XP virtual machine on windows 7 Jenk2k 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 03-17-2010 08:45 PM
Windows server 2003+windows resource manager. odysseys 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-20-2003 10:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com