Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2018, 02:03 AM
strayblank strayblank is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: ha noi ha noi
Posts: 1
Default So either lose PT 11 or don't update to El Captain?

Unless I'm mistaken it seems that if I update to El Captain OSX from Yosemite that PT 11 will no longer work. I can't afford to upgrade to PT 12 and frankly I'm quite happy with PT 11. So is it basically one or the other or will that change any time soon?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2018, 06:43 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,723
Default Re: So either lose PT 11 or don't update to El Captain?

Quote:
Originally Posted by strayblank View Post
Unless I'm mistaken it seems that if I update to El Captain OSX from Yosemite that PT 11 will no longer work. I can't afford to upgrade to PT 12 and frankly I'm quite happy with PT 11. So is it basically one or the other or will that change any time soon?
Why do you want to update to El Crapitan? It's possibly the worst OSX update to come out of Apple ever. Stay on Yosemite and you'll be better off.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2018, 06:46 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,926
Default Re: So either lose PT 11 or don't update to El Captain?

PT11 won't be getting any further updates. So what it works on is what it works on.. You might be able to get it going on newer versions of OSX, but it won't be officially supported.

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will I lose previous versions if I update to the new bundle? TNM Licensing & Accounts 3 09-29-2016 05:36 PM
So either lose PT 11 or don't update to El Captain? Iron Shirt macOS 3 04-20-2016 09:13 AM
ND Native vs HDX Latency - lose - lose ?? propower Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 21 07-09-2014 02:14 PM
Important Cloning Poll. Could lose your Plugs Authorizations if you update! scar97 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 47 01-07-2010 12:48 AM
Hey Captain Pants, you're in.... Cliffy_Boy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 28 08-10-2004 01:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com