Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2006, 05:03 AM
poodlebuild poodlebuild is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 52
Default mix farm vs. classic DSP farm

I've been running searches for the basic difference between cards I see on ebay that are $200 and cards that are like $700-800 plus. I see things about revisions and "classic" and stuff but what I want to know is are there some cards that give you higher track count and mixing/routing power and some cards that only power plug-ins? I thought a mix farm would do the former and a DSP farm the latter but now I'm not sure it's that clear-cut. The system I'm using has nothing but a core.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-22-2006, 06:00 AM
proxy proxy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 406
Default Re: mix farm vs. classic DSP farm

I don't remember the business about more tracks, but they will both run plugs, the Mix Farm running more plugs (usually). Some plugs will only run on Mix Farm and not DSP - in fact, now with HD of course, some plugs won't run on either of those cards.

The DSP farm is still great bang for buck though and can run workhorse plugs like RenComp. Having one of both is very useful.

If you look through some of the older posts here there's info about the specific chips on those cards and what their limitations/benefits are.

- proxy
__________________
G4 dual 1ghz QS (1.5gig RAM) / OSX v10.3.9 / HD4 / AD8K / PT v6.9
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-22-2006, 07:09 AM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: mix farm vs. classic DSP farm

you will be so happy you spent the extra money for the real higher powered cards

don't you and your music/work deserve it?
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-22-2006, 09:55 PM
poodlebuild poodlebuild is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 52
Default Re: mix farm vs. classic DSP farm

OK, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-23-2006, 08:12 PM
Dopamine Dopamine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 1,497
Default Re: mix farm vs. classic DSP farm

<< you will be so happy you spent the extra money for the real higher powered cards don't you and your music/work deserve it? >>

What a stupid comment, I hope you were being sarcastic or trying to be funny.

To answer the question: DSP farms are a great bargain! There are 6 chips on a Mix Farm card and 4 on a DSP farm. Do the math. One caveat: not all plug-ins will work on the DSP farms. For this reason, you would not want to have ONLY DSP farms. They do work great with most of the Waves and Digi plugs.
__________________
http://www.phuturetrax.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-24-2006, 05:38 PM
erikloesch erikloesch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: germany
Posts: 14
Default Re: mix farm vs. classic DSP farm

hello dopamine,
you wrote that difference between dsp- and mix farms are only 2dsp´s more on mixfarm ?
had heard that mixfarm card may have more power as 6 to 4, but i really don´t know so i ask
( i own a mixcore and 1 dspfarm)
on the boards i see that the core has 6 tdm chips and the farm has 4 of this with the same numbers.
but whats about the bigger processors? they are not the same style.
the core has 6 and the dsp has 4 other styled ( on dspfarm this bigger chips are named dsp.......
maybe the core, and probably the same ones on mixfarm proc. are the powerhorses?

i ask for this cause i´m interested for expanding my system.
if a mix farm has only 50 percent more power, regardless the plugincompat. you wrote,
dspfarm win´s the match, for lower price...
but is this for sure ?
( do you know , which plugs won´t work on dspfarms ?)

sorry for the silly questions but i´m really new on tdm systems.

by the way

worked fine for years (with compromises) on am 3 /pt le5.1 but, the power for bucks was more than o.k.

regards from germany
erik

sorry the language
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-24-2006, 05:53 PM
Dopamine Dopamine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 1,497
Default Re: mix farm vs. classic DSP farm *DELETED*

Post deleted by Dopamine
__________________
http://www.phuturetrax.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-24-2006, 07:04 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Default Re: mix farm vs. classic DSP farm

Quote:
You Mix Core has the same DSP as a Mix Farm which is 1/3 more powerful that a DSP farm.
This statement is not accurate. You can read the truth about the DSP Farm and then make your decision.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amp Farm / Echo Farm Stop Passing Signal heavymoe Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-24-2009 10:00 AM
d24 + mixfarm + dsp farm - losing I/O on mix farm w/64 voic Chris Watkins Digidesign Hardware & Software 3 10-14-2007 10:39 PM
Amp farm 3 ilok auth. "AMP FARM TDM HD"? confirm! crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-19-2005 11:06 AM
'Classic' Farm vs. Mix Farm card - both have SRAM? Last Legend Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-15-2003 05:46 PM
Power of a DSP farm compared to Mix farm? Realistically. Heaven Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 06-16-2002 10:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com