Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-20-2006, 12:18 PM
x9blade x9blade is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 1,399
Default cannot record and cannot stop play

hello, I'm posting for a friend that doesn't have internet access. HD3, G5, osx tiger, Pt's 7
He's having a problem of not being able to record to his drive and also if it does happen to start recording (Rare) he cannot stop the recording,just keeps going.The same thing happens just trying to play a session, first time he hits play and stops all is fine. Next time play starts he cannot stop.
Problem started happenening yesterday after someone improperly dismounted a Lacie drive.

drives are in record mode
Thanks for any advice
__________________
3930K I7,X79 asus,GTX780,Samsung SSDx2,Western Digital Black 2TB HDDx4
32 Gb Corsair ram,30"Apple Cinema Screen,HD NATIVE
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-20-2006, 04:18 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,604
Default Re: cannot record and cannot stop play

Hi,

Go to the trouble shooting thread at the top of this forum and print it out for your friend to follow by the word!

Trashing the Digi database files from all the hard drive partitions is the first thing to try?

Trashing all the pro tools/Digi and DAE preferences from the Mack HD/user/library/preferences is the next thing to try.

Also repair permission using disk utility.

But do everything recommended in the trouble shooting thread.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-20-2006, 05:52 PM
x9blade x9blade is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 1,399
Default Re: cannot record and cannot stop play

thank you very much crizdee, i will relay the message.
__________________
3930K I7,X79 asus,GTX780,Samsung SSDx2,Western Digital Black 2TB HDDx4
32 Gb Corsair ram,30"Apple Cinema Screen,HD NATIVE
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Music won't play. Play button flashes and Stop button lights up Mattitude 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 24 04-16-2020 04:03 PM
Notation view edit while in play cause play to stop working. soybalm Pro Tools 10 1 04-18-2013 12:11 PM
PT 8 Problem Play/Record stop cuts (-6085) Víctor SP 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-30-2009 06:22 AM
When press play the stop key lite and play key blinking Sam Yin Tips & Tricks 6 12-05-2009 09:26 PM
Hitting Play or Record, blue stop button lights up... delay Monty_python 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 09-06-2009 12:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com