Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2003, 06:59 PM
simone simone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 67
Default Mac Preferences

Hello,

I recently had to trash my preferences folder to solve a glitch I was having with ProTools and Reaktor. Do I need to go back and reset anything to make sure PT will work properly. I noticed that when I dumped the preferences the energy saver was no longer set to no sleep. What else should I check I want to make sure I haven't messed something up. I am still pretty new to the Mac platform.

Thanks for your help
sg
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-26-2003, 07:11 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Mac Preferences

Hi there. You should never trash your whole preferences folder, it can really mess things up. Usually you just need to go inside that folder and delete the preferences associated with a certain application if that application is acting funny, but deleting the whole folder?... that's a can of worms.

Basically every application, control panel etc. will now have regressed back to the default settings on your system now. You'll have to re-do everything, including your web browser favorites, time zone, memory allocations etc. etc. etc.

I do not envy you this task. good luck.

Slim
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2003, 07:12 PM
JEdmunds JEdmunds is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Manhattan, NY
Posts: 113
Default Re: Mac Preferences

I'm not sure about mac os settings that you may need to reset... but remember to make sure that the autosave function is still turned on in preferences!!!! that has gotten me into a tough situation more than once after a trashing of the PT Pref file.
JE
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2003, 08:59 PM
simone simone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 67
Default Re: Mac Preferences

I did go back and reset the control panel preferences following the PT LE suggested configuration (memory allocation, no sleep etc). I also reinstalled Reaktor so I am pretty sure that at least PT and Reaktor have the settings straight. Also I currently have very few programs running on my machine and no internet connection...

Do I need to go through each item in the control panel and set it back up? what should I do to remedy this mess?

Thanks for your help
sg
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 8 Preferences on Mac sricabla 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-02-2013 11:15 AM
Preferences Jeremy Lock Post - Surround - Video 0 01-08-2008 10:50 AM
Preferences mookie36 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-15-2007 02:10 AM
Preferences thin ice Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 11-23-2003 02:35 PM
Preferences Slypolk Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 02-16-2000 06:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com