Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-16-2019, 08:07 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,789
Default Re: Drum VIs? Loops?

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
Just like a real physical drummer
LOL

Thats the comment of the week
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-17-2019, 05:58 AM
PatriotsBiker PatriotsBiker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 832
Default Re: Drum VIs? Loops?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
I do pretty much what Dave does except for two things:
I generally don't detune the drums
Instead of a room reverb I'll use a plate of some type


btw I use BFD3


My mantra for vi drums has always been to treat them as I would a real physical drum kit - except I don't have to pay the drummer
Out of curiousity, was there a big reason for going with BFD3 over some of the others, or just a random landing spot?

Treating like I would as if they were tracks from a real drummer is what I try to do, too. However, I often get exported tracks that resemble ones that have had another mix engineer heavily treat as part of a rough-mix before sending it off to a mix engineer. Alternatively, I'll get into some sort of patch that sends some out of the ordinary information to the various output channels. eg - a recent effort had minimal information in the kick and snare tracks with tons of information in the OH and Ambient mics. The overall sound was a nice, big kick and snare that did not have enough information in the kick and snare tracks to even send to my own room or reverb plug. Oddities like this are not rare.

Another thing that isn't rare is finding an out of phase track, or having the original Mono track's panning not transfer all that well to the mandatory built-in mixers Stereo output. Makes that delay between the close snare and the rest of the signal in the OH sound very strange on many fronts.

I guess in some aspects the mixing is very real. Something is gonna have to happen - reality based or not.

Last edited by PatriotsBiker; 03-17-2019 at 09:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-17-2019, 08:41 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,411
Default Re: Drum VIs? Loops?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PatriotsBiker View Post
Out of curiousity, was there a big reason for going with BFD3 over some of the others, or just a random landing spot?
Why BFD3? I started with Steinberg Groove Agent on my old Windows/Sonar system and when I wanted real drums went to the original BFD. Then BFD2 followed by BFD3 when I went to a Mac and PT. Another reason for BFD was they were the only ones at the time (and still are for the most part) that had DW drums. I love DW drums. Yeah I know EW's ProDrummer has some DW pieces but not enough for a full kit. One more reason why BFD3 - Sabian cymbals in an expansion pack. they consistently give me a sound I can work with moreseo than Zildjians.

History lesson:
Sabian cymbals while made in Canada happened because of a split in the Zildjian family. See here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sabian
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-30-2019, 02:18 PM
PatriotsBiker PatriotsBiker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 832
Default Re: Drum VIs? Loops?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Why BFD3? I started with Steinberg Groove Agent on my old Windows/Sonar system and when I wanted real drums went to the original BFD. Then BFD2 followed by BFD3 when I went to a Mac and PT. Another reason for BFD was they were the only ones at the time (and still are for the most part) that had DW drums. I love DW drums. Yeah I know EW's ProDrummer has some DW pieces but not enough for a full kit. One more reason why BFD3 - Sabian cymbals in an expansion pack. they consistently give me a sound I can work with moreseo than Zildjians.

History lesson:
Sabian cymbals while made in Canada happened because of a split in the Zildjian family. See here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sabian
I've never narrowed down favored brand names of cymbals before, not to mention drums (toms, kicks or snares). I went onto the BFD site and poked around some of the kits and 3rd party expansions. Sure enough, lots of nice Sabian sounds. I'm going to give that platform serious consideration after I get over the expense of everything else I've done to my home project studio this past 4 months.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
drum loops ggmmss 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-24-2005 10:30 AM
Where can i get drum loops 135 bpm rcourell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-22-2005 08:17 PM
drum loops badperson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 12-19-2002 11:22 AM
drum loops willidrum 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-04-2002 11:02 AM
Multi Loops has the new Rock version 2 Out! (drum loops) Bloux 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-23-2002 12:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com