Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-28-2018, 11:03 AM
CisumBlue CisumBlue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: A big RV somewhere....
Posts: 102
Default Importing Sound Designer II (SD2)

I am trying to revisit some old sessions....

How do I import SD2 files or convert them to .wav files? I am using PT 12.8. It seems like there would be an easy way to do this since it was the native audio file format in much earlier versions of Pro Tools.
__________________
"It's better than it sounds."
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-28-2018, 01:34 PM
Wizzoboy's Avatar
Wizzoboy Wizzoboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 602
Default Re: Importing Sound Designer II (SD2)

PT 10 was the last version to support SDll sessions. Have a look here.
https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...signer-2-files
__________________
Dell Precision 490 Workstation, dual 4 core 5355 Xeon, 16gb Samsung DDR2 ECC Ram - Windows 7 Ultimate - Nvidia GTX 650 - 3 x Internal WD Blacks - PT 2018.3 - Digi 002R - Original Mackie HUI - JBL Monitoring.
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 - 24gb RAM - Windows 10 - Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB - 2 x Internal WD Blacks + MSATA card - Davinci Resolve 16.0b7 - Canon HF G40
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-28-2018, 01:53 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,244
Default Re: Importing Sound Designer II (SD2)

And if you have a perpetual Pro Tools 12 license you likely have a combo license that gives you Pro Tools 10 as well. Check the actual license on your iLok. Of course you’ll need a system/OS version suitable to install Pro Tools 10 on. It any be easier to ask somebody who has Pro Tools 10 to convert for you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-28-2018, 03:53 PM
CisumBlue CisumBlue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: A big RV somewhere....
Posts: 102
Default Re: Importing Sound Designer II (SD2)

I found Audaptor, a converter for Sound Designer 2 audio files. It worked fine for individual files and that was great for some mixes I had in SDII, but I still can't figure out how to reopen a session filled with SDII audio... I'm still working on that.

I definitely don't want to install PT10 just for this. That could be a whole 'nother can of worms.

Thanks
__________________
"It's better than it sounds."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-28-2018, 04:08 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,244
Default Re: Importing Sound Designer II (SD2)

Your choices are really to run Pro Tools 10 yourself or find somebody else with Pro Tools 10 who can convert the sessions for you.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-28-2018, 04:14 PM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,113
Default Re: Importing Sound Designer II (SD2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CisumBlue View Post
I am trying to revisit some old sessions....



How do I import SD2 files or convert them to .wav files? I am using PT 12.8. It seems like there would be an easy way to do this since it was the native audio file format in much earlier versions of Pro Tools.


1-What version of PT are the sessions containing SD2 ?
2-How many sessions are there?
3-How big are the sessions?
4-Would you be prepared to pay a fee to have this conversion & updating work done ?
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V3.6 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-28-2018, 04:38 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,747
Default Re: Importing Sound Designer II (SD2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by priorytools View Post
1-What version of PT are the sessions containing SD2 ?
2-How many sessions are there?
3-How big are the sessions?
4-Would you be prepared to pay a fee to have this conversion & updating work done ?
and, where are you? I keep an old G4 with PT 7.4 just for converting old sessions
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-28-2018, 05:11 PM
CisumBlue CisumBlue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: A big RV somewhere....
Posts: 102
Default Re: Importing Sound Designer II (SD2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by priorytools View Post
1-What version of PT are the sessions containing SD2 ?
2-How many sessions are there?
3-How big are the sessions?
4-Would you be prepared to pay a fee to have this conversion & updating work done ?
I am sorting through everything now. Yes, I would pay a fee. I'm looking at one session that is 3.5GB.

I am in NC, RTP area
__________________
"It's better than it sounds."
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-10-2018, 01:15 AM
Marco Bernardo's Avatar
Marco Bernardo Marco Bernardo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lisboa, Portugal
Posts: 782
Default Re: Importing Sound Designer II (SD2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CisumBlue View Post
I am sorting through everything now. Yes, I would pay a fee. I'm looking at one session that is 3.5GB.

I am in NC, RTP area


I have a service that I do that. I have a personal server where the client upload the files. Send me a private message if interested.
Regards
Marco


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Marco Bernardo

Dialog Editor, Sound Designer, Re-Recording mixer

nMacPro 6Core/D500/512GB/64Gb ram | PT HD 12 HDN Thunderbolt | HD OMNI | Avid Artist Mix | Novation Impulse 25 | Waves Mercury Native | Audioease All In Bundle | SoundToys | McDSP Classic Pack | DUY Overpack | Arturia Beatstep Pro
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-19-2019, 07:22 AM
DJKeys's Avatar
DJKeys DJKeys is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 153
Default Re: Importing Sound Designer II (SD2)

I know this is an old thread, but PT12 can do this. I just converted a bunch of old files to stereo and then bounced them to mp3 for an archive on my Mac and PT 2019.6:

1. Get info on the files, make sure Pro Tools is designated in Open With
2. Open your session, make sure clip list is viewed.
3. With PT and the File Folder open, double click on the .L file
4. Then, double click on the .R file
5. This will create a stereo file in the Clip List.

Worked perfectly!

-dj
__________________
iMAC 3.2GHz 6-core i7
250GB SSD (internal)
1TB SSD (external)
16GB RAM
OSX 10.14.5
PT 2019.6
Waves Gold/RenMaxx v10.1
iZotope Ozone 8
Focusrite Clarett 8Pre

Nord Stage 3
Nord Lead A1
DSI Mopho X4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will Files - Re-Recording Mixer, Sound Supervisor and Sound Designer Tom Graham Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion 0 09-08-2014 01:16 PM
Sound Designer II & Sound Designer Universal Grigory Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 04-28-2005 03:18 AM
Sound Designer II stoneinapond Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-05-2002 02:23 PM
Sound Designer II Light3740 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 07-11-2002 08:21 AM
i can't run my sound designer with my 001 Golu Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 11-23-2000 08:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com