Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2018, 06:18 PM
stewart@3p stewart@3p is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 9
Default Best DNxHR Preset for working with video in Pro Tools

Hi there

Just been converting video in Adobe media encoder for working with Pro Tools and wanted to see if anyone could suggest the best preset to go with for frame accuracy and stability (working in 25fps).

Thanks in advance

Stewart
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-27-2018, 12:05 AM
papalou papalou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 42
Default Re: Best DNxHR Preset for working with video in Pro Tools

Don't use DNxHR (way too big), but DNx36, which is good enough as proxy file.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-27-2018, 09:31 PM
stewart@3p stewart@3p is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 9
Default Re: Best DNxHR Preset for working with video in Pro Tools

Ahh noted.

Cheers for the feedback
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-27-2018, 09:52 PM
Watagushu2013 Watagushu2013 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: México
Posts: 153
Default Re: Best DNxHR Preset for working with video in Pro Tools

DNx is Too old codec. The new LB is quite good and it doesn’t ask for much data rate.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-28-2018, 12:46 AM
MusoPro's Avatar
MusoPro MusoPro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Jerusalem,Israel
Posts: 409
Default Re: Best DNxHR Preset for working with video in Pro Tools

Yup have to agree DNx36 is your best bet.... the bigger files run fun with PT but if your working on multiple projects you can easily burn up 1TB pretty easy.
I have QT Pro 7. That way whatever I get from the client I can export as DNx.
But make sure you downloaded and installed the Avid video codecs first....


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Best

Mitch

MacPro 2.44 8 Core


Mac OSX 10.10.5
PT 12.7
HD Native
SyncHD I/O
HD I/O
MIDI I/O
C24
Aja LiHi
Surround Setup
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-28-2018, 02:27 AM
papalou papalou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 42
Default Re: Best DNxHR Preset for working with video in Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by Watagushu2013 View Post
DNx is Too old codec. The new LB is quite good and it doesn’t ask for much data rate.
Too old ? Mozart's music is maybe too old as well ?
If it works, it's good, and DNx36 is perfect for audio post work.

DNxHR LB is a new horse, we have time enough to try it while DNx36 still works (which could be for years or decades).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-28-2018, 03:40 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,035
Default Re: Best DNxHR Preset for working with video in Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by papalou View Post
Too old ? Mozart's music is maybe too old as well ?
If it works, it's good, and DNx36 is perfect for audio post work.

DNxHR LB is a new horse, we have time enough to try it while DNx36 still works (which could be for years or decades).
DNxHR is designed for 4K and above. For resolutions up to 2K, DNxHD is still the way to go. If you're not working about 2K, you shouldn't use DNxHR.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-03-2018, 06:34 AM
Watagushu2013 Watagushu2013 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: México
Posts: 153
Default Re: Best DNxHR Preset for working with video in Pro Tools

LB is not design for any size or frame rate, that’s the beauty of it. It’s agnostic to size and frame rate. LB is like ProRes proxy.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-03-2018, 07:54 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,021
Default Re: Best DNxHR Preset for working with video in Pro Tools

There's just too damn many codecs out there! I don't do any video editing and only import videos to PT 2018 to add music. The advice I got was to convert whatever the editor sent me to DNxHD, which I've been doing and it works just fine. Is that still the best option, or is there something newer that might be more efficient and take up less space? I use Brorsoft's video codec converter to make the conversion.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-03-2018, 08:14 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,035
Default Re: Best DNxHR Preset for working with video in Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
There's just too damn many codecs out there! I don't do any video editing and only import videos to PT 2018 to add music. The advice I got was to convert whatever the editor sent me to DNxHD, which I've been doing and it works just fine. Is that still the best option, or is there something newer that might be more efficient and take up less space? I use Brorsoft's video codec converter to make the conversion.
At 1920x1080 DNxHD 36 is your best bet.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools First Quandary About Working With Video Austin4 Pro Tools 12 4 07-12-2017 11:04 AM
Video not working in Pro Tools 11 mortenbrekke Pro Tools 11 25 02-15-2017 10:22 PM
DNxHR Marcel Risberg Post - Surround - Video 8 04-21-2016 11:17 AM
Syncing audio/video & Working with Premiere Pro and Pro Tools millsi Post - Surround - Video 6 02-07-2011 01:00 PM
Preset Menu Not Working! lukec 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-08-2007 08:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com