Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-25-2013, 01:19 AM
The Cargo Cult's Avatar
The Cargo Cult The Cargo Cult is offline
The Cargo Cult
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 296
Default who uses picture monitor for plugins etc?

who likes to put other plugin and utility windows up on their picture monitor?
and who doesn't?

I have a dilemma with the Spanner QT overlay window and it's "window level" - it's position in the stack of windows.

option 1 - it's the same level as the movie window, which means:
plugins, automation & marker windows nicely sit above overlay.
but sometimes the overlay is hidden by the movie (eg, switching back to PT) and needs to be closed/opened to see it again.

option 2 - overlay is 1 level higher than movie window, which means:
plugins and other ancillary windows sit UNDER the overlay and although they're visible you can't click them till you hide the overlay.
but the overlay will always be visible, even when switching back from another app.

any thoughts much appreciated,
justin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-25-2013, 06:53 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,846
Default Re: who uses picture monitor for plugins etc?

I never put plug ins on the video monitor. I also don't use a graphic card output for video. I use gen locked decklink and use other monitors for pro tools
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2013, 07:17 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,379
Default Re: who uses picture monitor for plugins etc?

Same here. Hardly ever use the overlay because picture is coming out a BM card so I can't see it over picture anyway.

Otherwise soundminer on one, edit-window on the other window. When I pan, my fingers are on the ipad and eyes and ears on the picture screen.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-30-2013, 01:27 PM
geitz geitz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 48
Default Re: who uses picture monitor for plugins etc?

Frank and Brandon - is there benefit to having your video playback device (decklink, etc) genlocked if all you do is play video out of it? If one was capturing video through it I could see the need, but looking ahead to purchasing a thunderbolt-based video peripheral I'm wondering if I actually need one that resolves to house sync (like a blackmagic ultrastudio express) or if I can go with a cheaper option that doesn't have a sync input (like a blackmagic intensity extreme.) Thanks for filling in my blanks.

(FWIW We currently use blackmagic decklink extreme cards for PT video playback and do have them resolved to house sync.)

Best,
Greg

Babble-On Recording
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-30-2013, 08:46 PM
Brent_Sydney Brent_Sydney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 442
Default Re: who uses picture monitor for plugins etc?

+1 option 1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-30-2013, 10:33 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,846
Default Re: who uses picture monitor for plugins etc?

Quote:
Originally Posted by geitz View Post
Frank and Brandon - is there benefit to having your video playback device (decklink, etc) genlocked if all you do is play video out of it? If one was capturing video through it I could see the need, but looking ahead to purchasing a thunderbolt-based video peripheral I'm wondering if I actually need one that resolves to house sync (like a blackmagic ultrastudio express) or if I can go with a cheaper option that doesn't have a sync input (like a blackmagic intensity extreme.) Thanks for filling in my blanks.

(FWIW We currently use blackmagic decklink extreme cards for PT video playback and do have them resolved to house sync.)

Best,
Greg

Babble-On Recording
Yes. If you don't have your video locked to house sync, video will drift. Pt also doesn't start qt at the exact frame edge, si you can be as much as a frame out from the start of playnback and drift out further from there. I don't think it's a Hugh deal but I always like to be 100 confident of sync, so I gen lock everything.
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-01-2013, 11:26 AM
jeremiahmoore jeremiahmoore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 469
Default Re: who uses picture monitor for plugins etc?

on rare occasion, I put metering plugins on my picture monitor.

Specifically, iZotope Insight, in transparent mode.

Unsure what your plans are for overlaying on picture (LCR panning relative to screen position perhaps?) but my off-the-cuff vote would be: be on a higher layer than plug-ins. Users could resize or reposition to avoid being locked out of plug-in UI.

-jeremiah
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-01-2013, 02:20 PM
The Cargo Cult's Avatar
The Cargo Cult The Cargo Cult is offline
The Cargo Cult
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 296
Default Re: who uses picture monitor for plugins etc?

thanks jeremiah
yes, indeed I'm displaying pan position on top of the picture.
also allows for drawing pan directly onto the movie window.
there's a video demonstrating it here

certainly seems like most people are happy to have the overlay sit above plugins.
that's my preference as well so I'm gonna change it for the next point release.
justin
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-01-2013, 02:58 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: who uses picture monitor for plugins etc?

Justin, given that 11 will have MC's video engine have you looked at making the pan positions a generated overlay like TC window, subtitles or, watermark?
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-01-2013, 03:20 PM
jeremiahmoore jeremiahmoore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 469
Default Re: who uses picture monitor for plugins etc?

The analogue way:
Purportedly, Richard Beggs uses a piece of tape across the bottom of his video monitor, labelled in percentages Left / Center / Right. (per the Pro Tools panner.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there a way to monitor thru plugins on LE? digidesigner 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 02-06-2010 12:05 PM
Getting Edit/Plugins Views on 2nd monitor? 100grit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-01-2005 10:23 AM
Can't monitor through RTAS plugins when recording 10acErnie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-27-2004 02:07 PM
Audiosuite plugins don't show on second monitor Wayne B Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-06-2003 05:55 AM
Playing to Picture on seperate monitor or TV Ronnisi Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 15 09-02-2003 07:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com