Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2010, 06:57 PM
Shaka Shaka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Provo, Utah 84606
Posts: 32
Default So how do you run PT 9 with built in sound card?

I downloaded the PT 9 update to my PC laptop. Installation went well. When I start PT it loads part way then tells me it cant find my hardware and that I should connect and click ok.

I have an Mbox 2 Pro but I was hoping to run without hooking that up. The iLok seems to have downloaded the license like it should. Anyone have any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2010, 07:11 PM
Zarabozo's Avatar
Zarabozo Zarabozo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 495
Default Re: So how do you run PT 9 with built in sound card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaka View Post
I downloaded the PT 9 update to my PC laptop. Installation went well. When I start PT it loads part way then tells me it cant find my hardware and that I should connect and click ok.

I have an Mbox 2 Pro but I was hoping to run without hooking that up. The iLok seems to have downloaded the license like it should. Anyone have any ideas?
And, does it work with the MBox connected? I just did the same with my Eleven Rack and I cannot run PT9 with or without it. It keeps saying "hardware not found"!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2010, 07:13 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: So how do you run PT 9 with built in sound card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zarabozo View Post
And, does it work with the MBox connected? I just did the same with my Eleven Rack and I cannot run PT9 with or without it. It keeps saying "hardware not found"!
One has to remember that whatever hardware you are using... must still be ASIO compatible and installed properly.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2010, 07:16 PM
Random Human Random Human is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Aurora IL
Posts: 29
Default Re: So how do you run PT 9 with built in sound card?

I am having the same problem. Hardware cant be initialized.

Sometimes it works sometimes it doesnt.

I have uninstalled and reinstalled the drivers 10,000 times.

How long does avid support take with a new case?

redic
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2010, 07:37 PM
mblanton66 mblanton66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 216
Default Re: So how do you run PT 9 with built in sound card?

I installed ASIO4ALL (a generic driver) on my Dell laptop and it works like a charm. I haven't tried recording through it yet, just opening Protools.

Found the driver by Googling.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-2010, 08:21 PM
ladewd ladewd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: LA
Posts: 200
Default Re: So how do you run PT 9 with built in sound card?

Post deleted, since I didn't read that this was a PC laptop.

CA
__________________
Mac Pro 5.1 12Core 48GB RAM, 4 Internal Drives Mackie Onyx 1640i, PTLE 12.7 w/MPTK2, OSX Yosemite. MacBookPro 13" 2.26GHz 8GB RAM, OSX El Capitan w/MOTU Ultralite Mk3.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-11-2010, 08:38 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,905
Default Re: So how do you run PT 9 with built in sound card?

Yes, as mentioned above, install ASIO4all.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-11-2010, 09:45 PM
Shaka Shaka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Provo, Utah 84606
Posts: 32
Default Re: So how do you run PT 9 with built in sound card?

This worked but I had to disable the digital in and out on the sound card.

I'm having another problem. Some of my instrument plugins do not work. When opening Mini Grand it pops up and says it can't find Mini Grang.big and disables the plugin. A couple of others are also this way.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-12-2010, 12:47 AM
andyv andyv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Australia, VICTORIA
Posts: 26
Default Re: So how do you run PT 9 with built in sound card?

thanks for the info about asio4all, can load pt now.

i cant seem to get any sound from my speakers though, you said you had to disable digital in and out on soundcard?? is that why, and if so can you tell me how to?

win7 64bit
toshiba satellite

peace.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does the C|24 have a built in Sound Card? thumos ICON & C|24 4 09-10-2011 06:43 AM
192 Digital Card - built in same as option card? johnsimmons Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-22-2011 12:02 PM
PMG5 PCIe Firewire- built in vs add on card? rebelmix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-09-2006 05:33 PM
Mbox clock different from built-in card? Arvid TomaykoPeters 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-09-2004 09:26 PM
G5: built-in video editing, or Aurora card? Allan Speers Tips & Tricks 3 01-03-2004 12:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com