Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2010, 02:01 PM
zombie69 zombie69 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pioneer, CA
Posts: 407
Thumbs up Seriously Folks!

I've been using PTLE since 6.4, and trolled these forums for just as long. I really don't understand all the bitching about 9.0.

This is including features we have been asking for years. ADC, Higher track count etc.

Now that Avid takes over and finally delivers, many of you feel that you got ripped off? You should be thankful that they actually listened and be mad at Digi for giving us years of limited functionality. This goes to show that all of the B.S. that digi fed us is now within our reach. Digi could have made PT9 years ago but didn't. Now Avid is catching them up to the present.

I like the workflow of Pro Tools, otherwise, I would have switched long ago.

We were also asking that the hardware not be used as a dongle so we could use what we like. Now we have ASIO and Core, and you folks feel like you got ripped off.

I have a digi 002r that has paid for itself many times over. I will probably keep that for sentimental value, but now I have the option to upgrade my interface to one of my choosing.

And by the way, the Mac you own is just a big dongle for the OS. =P

Pro Tools has always run well for me and I can work quickly and efficiently with the interface. ADC, higher track count, and no more hardware dongle are the icing on the cake for me.
__________________
I wear the pants. (My wife picks them out)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-09-2010, 02:23 PM
ctyelvis ctyelvis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta, IN
Posts: 465
Default Re: Seriously Folks!

Hey is there a free upgrade for buying a new system? I just bought a new Rack plus system about 3 weeks ago. Surely that will qualify for an upgrade to 9?


Thanks!
-Chris
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-09-2010, 02:34 PM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,610
Default Re: Seriously Folks!

No free for LE/MP owners, I'm afraid. It's not considered an upgrade to a new version. It's a crossgrade to what is in a way new product: unlike any prior PT, the software can be purchased and used separate from any Avid/Digidesign hardware. Thus, they're offering us a discounted crossgrade, at least for now.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2019.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2019.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-09-2010, 02:44 PM
ctyelvis ctyelvis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta, IN
Posts: 465
Default Re: Seriously Folks!

So would all future versions of Digi 00 products continue to ship with 8? That is unless they are about to come out with a Digi 004 system...
If not, I could see how this would be a little offensive to some users...


-Chris
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-09-2010, 02:54 PM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,610
Default Re: Seriously Folks!

Not a good idea, I'm afraid. New hardware bundled with 9 will be hardware price plus software price. It will be 2-3 hundred more than if it had been bundled with 8 or earlier. No free lunch. It's worth it! Good lunch!
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2019.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2019.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-09-2010, 03:07 PM
ctyelvis ctyelvis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta, IN
Posts: 465
Default Re: Seriously Folks!

I just called into Avid/Digi, and talked to a guy about this. I haven't registered the new system or software yet, and wanted to know what my options were...
As it's been stated many time on the DUC, the only option is the $249 crossgrade.
The rep sounded like he had been having a looooong day. I said " you probably have been beat up on this subject quite a bit here recently". He said "the past 5 days have been pretty rough". I asked if the new systems would be bundled with 9. He said that "they would, but they will have a higher price tag".
Knowing the guy had a rough few days, I didn't want him to feel like I was trying to beat him up too, but I did ask him, what other company out there, would release a new improved version of a product and not give a complimentary software upgrade, if you had purchased a new system within 30 days? Or even an inexpensive upgrade price.
He said, "well the current price is discounted. It's usually $599 (or something like that)". Which is fine if you have owned your system for a year or so, but what about the guy who JUST BOUGHT a new system 3 weeks ago, or yesterday for that matter? Shouldn't they be entitled to an even lower upgrade price? It would only make sense, wouldn't it?

-Chris
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-09-2010, 04:38 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,798
Default Re: Seriously Folks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie69 View Post
I've been using PTLE since 6.4, and trolled these forums for just as long. I really don't understand all the bitching about 9.0.

This is including features we have been asking for years. ADC, Higher track count etc.

Now that Avid takes over and finally delivers, many of you feel that you got ripped off? You should be thankful that they actually listened and be mad at Digi for giving us years of limited functionality. This goes to show that all of the B.S. that digi fed us is now within our reach. Digi could have made PT9 years ago but didn't. Now Avid is catching them up to the present.

I like the workflow of Pro Tools, otherwise, I would have switched long ago.

We were also asking that the hardware not be used as a dongle so we could use what we like. Now we have ASIO and Core, and you folks feel like you got ripped off.

I have a digi 002r that has paid for itself many times over. I will probably keep that for sentimental value, but now I have the option to upgrade my interface to one of my choosing.

And by the way, the Mac you own is just a big dongle for the OS. =P

Pro Tools has always run well for me and I can work quickly and efficiently with the interface. ADC, higher track count, and no more hardware dongle are the icing on the cake for me.
I agree with this post.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.13.6 running Protools 2018.7.0
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-09-2010, 08:37 PM
zombie69 zombie69 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pioneer, CA
Posts: 407
Default Re: Seriously Folks!

Good to see you Dragon! I haven't been around these parts in forever!
__________________
I wear the pants. (My wife picks them out)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-09-2010, 09:02 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Seriously Folks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctyelvis View Post
...but what about the guy who JUST BOUGHT a new system 3 weeks ago, or yesterday for that matter? Shouldn't they be entitled to an even lower upgrade price? It would only make sense, wouldn't it?

-Chris
Only if the item was just a new update. You will get all the V8 updates free. With PT9, it is considered a new product since it does more. Bundles would cost more with PT9. After all, you are getting new features, not just bug fixes.

I would expect Avid to sell hardware and software separately and in bundles. You can buy PT9 to use with any interface, including Avid's.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-10-2010, 01:17 AM
TheNoize TheNoize is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 378
Default Re: Seriously Folks!

Ironic that I was banned from this forum so many times by the admins throughout the years, for saying exactly what zombie69 is saying about digidesign...
__________________
- Mac Pro 2.66 Quad 8GB RAM, PT 9.0.6 (OS X 10.6.7)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Let's clear the air, folks... dubpimpjuice Pro Tools 10 127 11-06-2011 01:40 AM
how do YOU folks do it? blankpro ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 05-29-2005 09:34 PM
PC folks, meet the Mac folks. Mac folks, meet.. graveleye General Discussion 12 01-06-2005 01:52 PM
What is going on with this folks? Jack Ruston Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-18-2004 02:35 PM
OT--C'mon folks, this is way cool! hanzoid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-15-2004 07:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com