Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2010, 11:13 PM
DNDBEATZ DNDBEATZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default Solid State Drive?? Newer i7 processors released 2010??

Hello all,
First of all I have to say that the i7 spec thread is awesome thanks!!

I've finally committed to upgrade my home-use Pro Tools system. I'm currently on an intel P4 w/ digi 001. And therefore stuck on PTLE 6.4.. WTF??? yeah I know.. call me old school or whatever... I've been eyeballing PT8 and the new MIDI capabilities and am sold.. I'm debating if i should trade in my 001R to 003R or 003 and save $700-$1300 off list, or selling 001 and going w/ one of the mbox2's. <--- don't really need advice here but feel free to try to convince me either way... I'm more in need of advice about PC build.

Anyway my question is this. Is anyone successfully utilizing a Solid State Drive to host the OS and PT and able to dverb test? IMO this would be nice and I'm debating it. Also I'm curious about the newer Intel processors i.e. i7 930 over 920??. Any advice?


PC I'm planing
MOBO: Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R-X58 will give me 6 mem slots and usb/sata3.0 for future W7
CPU: i7 920 (or i930?)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Tri Channel 6GB PC10666 DDR3 Memory
2 HDD's: WD Black 1T ea. (or 1 60+GB SSD and 1 WD Black?)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2010, 11:24 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,544
Default Re: Solid State Drive?? Newer i7 processors released 2010??

Quote:
Originally Posted by DNDBEATZ View Post
...I'm debating if i should trade in my 001R to 003R or 003 and save $700-$1300 off list, or selling 001 and going w/ one of the mbox2's. <--- don't really need advice here but feel free to try to convince me either way...
The big thing to watch out for is the buffer settings at low values. A few of the Mbox models can only go down to 128.

Quote:
Is anyone successfully utilizing a Solid State Drive to host the OS and PT and able to dverb test?
There have been a few. I'm sure they'll chime in.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solid State Drive - Samsung EVO YYR123 General Discussion 1 10-09-2013 09:06 AM
Solid State Drive as a dedicated Sampler jopheza Pro Tools 9 3 05-05-2012 10:57 AM
Solid State Drive as a dedicated Sampler jopheza Storage Subsystems 0 05-05-2012 06:00 AM
Using SSD Solid State Drive on Win7 Ray Campbell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 08-01-2011 07:10 AM
Solid State Drive advice. the_dr38 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-09-2011 06:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com