Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-13-2019, 05:32 PM
jjnssn jjnssn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 527
Default Re: Brainworx bx_Oberhausen

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
I figured out the deal with the MIDI learn assignments - they have to be done for every single bloody patch
Agreed, instruments like DB33 retained the learned midi.

I can't reproduce the lock-ups on my system with switching patches up/down slow or fast.
__________________
____________________________________________

W10 Pro / X99 / E5-1650v3 / 64GB ECC / nVidia P1000 / ASUS TB3 AIC
PT HDX1 / OMNI / HD IO 16x16 / 11R / Kontakt Kontrol S49 / Artist Transport and Mix / UAD OCTO Satellite, Apollo Twin MKII &, x8P Thunderbolt

[Late 2013 10.14 MacBook Pro]
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-14-2019, 04:54 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,426
Default Re: Brainworx bx_Oberhausen

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjnssn View Post
Agreed, instruments like DB33 retained the learned midi.

I can't reproduce the lock-ups on my system with switching patches up/down slow or fast.
It's weird with the lockups - about every other time I go to demo it it locks up.

That MIDI learn thing really has me po'd. Put everything together with what I've written about it (locksup PT, crashes in DP, MIDI learn) along with the ridiculous prices I've seen speculated about over in a GS thread ($249 full price, $179 debut and who knows what for Plugin Alliance heavy hitters) AND the fact of the Lindell 254 limiter going on sale for $49 with code today only my monthly voucher money is going for the 254.

Also weighing in on my decision to not buy Oberhausen is my monthly budget is going for Wavelab Elements to replace DSP Quattro 5 due to Stefano being slower than Slate on getting the features right in the program.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-14-2019, 11:34 PM
Becharax's Avatar
Becharax Becharax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: Brainworx bx_Oberhausen

Ok so the synth is a bit buggy but what about the tone and sound ? is it FAT ? WARM ?
__________________
System Details:
iMac Pro 2017 8 Core Intel Xeon 3.2 Ghz
macOS 10.13.6
Pro Tools 2019.6
Logic Pro X
Reason 10.4

Apogee Thunderbridge/Apogee Symphony I/O 2x6
Eleven Rack SPDIF/Focusrite ISA Two/Onyx 1640i
UAD Satellite Quad Thunderbolt
MOOG Mother 32
Nektar Panorama P1
Axiom AIR 49/Axiom 49/Yamaha P35
Fender Mustang/Ibanez Pedals/Fender Strat/Acoustic Yamaha Guitar
Genelec 8040b/Yamaha HS80s/M-Audio BX5a
Beats Solo/Shure SRH1840

http://equipboard.com/becharasaliba
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-15-2019, 04:44 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,426
Default Re: Brainworx bx_Oberhausen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Becharax View Post
Ok so the synth is a bit buggy but what about the tone and sound ? is it FAT ? WARM ?
If you go by the presets - no to each question. And if you're used to the SEM sound from the Arturia emulations it doesn't even come close. The TMT business gives a very little bit of movement to the sound but nothing that can't be done with out board fx. Speaking of fx the built-in ones suck.

This thing ain't no SEM and I believe Tom Oberheim would be highly disappointed in it. You'd be better off getting the Arturia version if you want the SEM sound. If you want JAS (just another synth) and don't care about what it emulated then wait until the bugs are fixed to buy it. Don't wait for PA to fix it any time soon.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-16-2019, 01:59 AM
Becharax's Avatar
Becharax Becharax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: Brainworx bx_Oberhausen

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
If you go by the presets - no to each question. And if you're used to the SEM sound from the Arturia emulations it doesn't even come close. The TMT business gives a very little bit of movement to the sound but nothing that can't be done with out board fx. Speaking of fx the built-in ones suck.

This thing ain't no SEM and I believe Tom Oberheim would be highly disappointed in it. You'd be better off getting the Arturia version if you want the SEM sound. If you want JAS (just another synth) and don't care about what it emulated then wait until the bugs are fixed to buy it. Don't wait for PA to fix it any time soon.
Ouf !! this is the most convincing comment I had to completely forget about buying this synth ... it seems it got you really disappointed bro
__________________
System Details:
iMac Pro 2017 8 Core Intel Xeon 3.2 Ghz
macOS 10.13.6
Pro Tools 2019.6
Logic Pro X
Reason 10.4

Apogee Thunderbridge/Apogee Symphony I/O 2x6
Eleven Rack SPDIF/Focusrite ISA Two/Onyx 1640i
UAD Satellite Quad Thunderbolt
MOOG Mother 32
Nektar Panorama P1
Axiom AIR 49/Axiom 49/Yamaha P35
Fender Mustang/Ibanez Pedals/Fender Strat/Acoustic Yamaha Guitar
Genelec 8040b/Yamaha HS80s/M-Audio BX5a
Beats Solo/Shure SRH1840

http://equipboard.com/becharasaliba
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-16-2019, 04:38 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,426
Default Re: Brainworx bx_Oberhausen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Becharax View Post
Ouf !! this is the most convincing comment I had to completely forget about buying this synth ... it seems it got you really disappointed bro
That is true in so many ways. I had hopes this would be a good option to the Arturia SEM but it isn't. Top that off with the stupid thing of not having overall level/volume as a global MIDI learn instead of per-patch as it is now (which is by design according to PA tech support) along with a $179 debut price and $249 full price according to a thread over on KVR and it's no sale for me.

Instead my money went for a couple of sorely needed purchases - VEPro 7 upgrade and Wavelab Elements 9.5.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brainworx Help Pjano AAX Plug-ins 2 11-29-2014 05:36 PM
Brainworx DSP? Cliffy_Boy AAX Plug-ins 9 09-04-2012 01:13 PM
Brainworx UPdate! K.I. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 06-26-2010 07:44 PM
anyone using brainworx sbag Tips & Tricks 2 11-12-2008 06:51 AM
brainworx NewVersion K.I. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-16-2007 05:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com