Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2010, 02:16 AM
vavan vavan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 7
Default ASIO4ALL - setup help?

Just installed PT9 and checking on ASIO playback option with ASIO4ALL driver, cannot hear a thing thru my PC audio out. When PT9 starts it initiates the driver @ 256 / 44.1. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2010, 02:34 PM
vavan vavan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 7
Default Re: ASIO4ALL - setup help?

Just in case if anyone would run into same problem - my audio card has two processors, ASIO4ALL should display what processor it choose during install ( no control over it). Simple, but it took me a while to recollect that I have this feature.

Other than that

PT9 IS AMAZING!!!!!!! AMAZING!!! Great job, developers and programmers! What an effort!

Thanks you, and thanks again for the sample session, one picture worth thousand words!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2010, 02:56 PM
weezul weezul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Newcastle, UK
Posts: 370
Default Re: ASIO4ALL - setup help?

ASIO4ALL has a terrible habit of defaulting to digital outputs for onboard sound cards. Always trips people up, is that what you found?
__________________
http://www.liamgaughan.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2010, 04:06 PM
vavan vavan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 7
Default Re: ASIO4ALL - setup help?

Precisely. Didn't let me rest till 2 AM. Whole point to take a laptop and to enjoy being interfaceless but ilokful!!!

Had this afternoon hard time to explain to my buddy why i like PT. With all my spiel of being part community my buddy looked at me and asked " do you like to pay that much money? you prefer to be stuck with that? is PT really better than others?"

Rain on my celebration. But I truly believe that PT broke the ground here.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-2010, 01:00 AM
andyv andyv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Australia, VICTORIA
Posts: 26
Default Re: ASIO4ALL - setup help?

hey, i was wondering if you mite help, im having an issue where i cant hear anything thru speakers after installing asio4all to get pro tools running.

on a win7 toshiba satellite laptop. . .
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-12-2010, 01:04 AM
vavan vavan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 7
Default Re: ASIO4ALL - setup help?

Is ASIO4ALL initiated when PT is starting up?
__________________
new beginning for interfaceless but ilokful
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-12-2010, 01:09 AM
andyv andyv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Australia, VICTORIA
Posts: 26
Default Re: ASIO4ALL - setup help?

yeah, 256samples @ 44500. when i play a track i can see the level signal on the screen move, but no sound.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-12-2010, 10:13 AM
vavan vavan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 7
Default Re: ASIO4ALL - setup help?

OK. Did you soundcard supports this sample rate? If not try adjust driver ( move the slide at the bottom of ASIO4ALL driver interface) to sample rate which is supported by card.

If this dosen't work, assure that the sound card engine ( as it was in my case) employed by ASIO4ALL assigned to headphones output. This info showed on ASIO4ALL window in the upper left corner. On my machine there are 2 audio outputs, one for HD, second for regular but it should not the case with laptops, you might just shift this options in the soundcard driver.
__________________
new beginning for interfaceless but ilokful
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need advice with asio4all and MIDI setup. junel1214 Windows 7 12-13-2013 06:26 PM
Asio4All Red X GrantJensen FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 7 09-21-2013 04:24 PM
Will ASIO4ALL let me do this...? Dufo Windows 3 05-21-2013 10:16 PM
Can someone walk me through asio4all setup? LFOcelot Windows 0 02-11-2011 12:25 AM
Asio4all Aussie169 Pro Tools 9 4 11-30-2010 02:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com