Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Old 02-26-2021, 10:37 AM

Default Constant freezes, crashes, errors. No customer support.

I've been a Pro Tools user for 15 years.
I recently purchased a new Windows 10 machine with great specs which were even reviewed and approved by Avid reps before I purchased. Since migrating to this new machine, I've had endless freezes, crashes and errors. I can barely get through a single session without problems. It's now affecting my work and I'm at risk of losing business.
I submitted a ticket about this almost 2 months ago. I thought we were making progress, and I started sending my logs to customer support. Then they stopped responding to me completely a few weeks ago.
I have no idea what to do now.
Old 02-26-2021, 04:15 PM

Default Re: Constant freezes, crashes, errors. No customer support.

Sorry to hear you are having troubles. Being a PT user for so many years, I’m sure you know your way around PT, but I have to ask if you followed the set up, troubleshooting and optimization tips in the Help Us Help You thread.

Have you tried removing your plug-ins and trying a basic session to see if stability returns? If it does, add them back one at a time until you find the one that causes instability.

There are also a bunch of threads about newer, high core count systems performing better with processor affinity tweaks.

System Details
Old 02-26-2021, 10:28 PM

I run PT on a Windows 10 machine, specifically an HP z840, in my studio and use a MAC when I’m at other facilities. I must say there’s more tinkering in windows which makes it cumbersome.