Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-04-2003, 09:00 PM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,512
Default Power Mac G5 & Digidesign PCI Cards

Some Digidesign PCI cards will not work in the upcoming Power Mac G5 (all G5 models).

Included among cards that will not be compatible are d24, DSP Farm, Digi 001 and Audiomedia III PCI cards.

Additional details, including a list of all incompatible Digidesign PCI cards can be found on the following web page in the Digidesign Compatibility Documents:

http://www.digidesign.com/compato/osx/g5
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-2003, 09:56 PM
Milamber Milamber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: CA
Posts: 277
Default Re: Power Mac G5 & Digidesign PCI Cards

Digi Web Admin,

Thanks for the update regarding G5 compatibility.

I am waiting for confirmation from Digidesign that Pro Tools works on the G5 before ordering one, so I'm eager to hear news updates.

Does Digi have G5s in house for testing?


Mark
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2003, 10:07 PM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,512
Default Re: Power Mac G5 & Digidesign PCI Cards

Quote:
Does Digi have G5s in house for testing?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Yes, but we don't have any compatibility results yet beyond what we have just posted.
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2003, 10:12 PM
s2n s2n is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 853
Default Re: Power Mac G5 & Digidesign PCI Cards

That's great news for us Mix users. Thanks.

How's the noise factor on the G5? How loud are those 9 fans?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-04-2003, 10:17 PM
MAXIMUSIC MAXIMUSIC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 702
Default Re: Power Mac G5 & Digidesign PCI Cards

How is it behaving so far?

Thanks

Marcello A.
__________________
Life is good !!
Marcello Azevedo
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-04-2003, 10:21 PM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,512
Default Re: Power Mac G5 & Digidesign PCI Cards

I couldn't tell you, since I haven't seen or heard the G5s yet. The ones we have are literally locked up in the Engineering and Test Services lab with restricted access. No way to see in either, or a lot of us would probably be gawking like tourists at the Today show window. [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-04-2003, 10:23 PM
kmshroom kmshroom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,791
Default Re: Power Mac G5 & Digidesign PCI Cards

HA. digi with a sense of humor. [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
__________________
you cannot find peace by avoiding life
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-04-2003, 10:48 PM
doug_hti doug_hti is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Calabasas, CA
Posts: 669
Default Re: Power Mac G5 & Digidesign PCI Cards

Digi,
I hope I speak for quite a few of us.

Thanks for letting us know before you really had to (released), etc., etc., this really helps for those of us in limbo.
__________________
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-05-2003, 12:44 AM
kmshroom kmshroom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,791
Default Re: Power Mac G5 & Digidesign PCI Cards

New Pro Tools LE Hardware Exchanges

For the very first time, registered Digi 001, Mbox, and Audiomedia III owners will be able to upgrade to Digi 002 or Digi 002 Rack systems as well as previously available exchanges to TDM systems. Pricing and other exchange details will be announced on Digidesign's website on Thursday August 7th. These will be listed in the Hardware Exchanges section, linked from the Support section of the website.


I have a question about this. is this upgrade scheme going to be available to all users, including people using G4's (not swapping for G5's) and/or PC's?
__________________
you cannot find peace by avoiding life
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-05-2003, 01:03 AM
Vinylizor Vinylizor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 104
Default Re: Power Mac G5 & Digidesign PCI Cards

My Mix system is in a Digidesign Expansion Chassis. 3 Mix cards and 3 DSP Farm cards.

As the only connector into a G5 in this case will be the Expansion Chassis PCI card, will the DSP Farm cards now work?

This is of course presuming that the Expansion Chassis is compatible with the G5's.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New HD PCI cards, 4x the power clarpark Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 10-16-2007 01:43 PM
HD cards - power specs? Trailerman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-09-2006 02:05 AM
Power Mac G5 & Digidesign PCI Cards Avid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 98 08-20-2003 09:10 PM
Power Mac G5 & Digidesign PCI Cards Avid General Announcements 0 08-04-2003 08:57 PM
Mix Cards Power Consumption stevegalante General Discussion 0 02-15-2001 08:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com