Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2019, 01:12 PM
jgiannis jgiannis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 100
Default Gradual Time Stretch - how to?

Hi.

I have a small clip of dialogue. I need to gradually stretch it out (like a tape-machine dying). I know VARI-FI does this, but I need more control over it. VARI-FI doesn't stretch it long enough, and when I run it multiple time on the same clip, it seems to stretch out only the end portion of the clip.

I've tried using Elastic Audio, but that's not so much a gradual stretch. That's more of me placing markers and trying to stretch incrementally, but it's not continuous.

Does anyone know of other methods?

Thanks!

-John
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2019, 01:46 PM
the.engineer the.engineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 227
Default Re: Gradual Time Stretch - how to?

I think you’re close. I would use elastic audio (obvs on variables) then expand the tempo window and draw in a line (either by hand or use the line tool) getting slower.


James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon R9 280X 3072 MB | 256GB Samsung SM951 SSD Blade (PCIe) System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB | Apple 27" LED Cinema | 500GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2019, 01:47 PM
the.engineer the.engineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 227
Default Re: Gradual Time Stretch - how to?

Quote:
Originally Posted by the.engineer View Post
I think you’re close. I would use elastic audio (obvs on variables) then expand the tempo window and draw in a line (either by hand or use the line tool) getting slower.


James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon R9 280X 3072 MB | 256GB Samsung SM951 SSD Blade (PCIe) System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24


Sorry variables should have been varispeed


James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon R9 280X 3072 MB | 256GB Samsung SM951 SSD Blade (PCIe) System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB | Apple 27" LED Cinema | 500GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2019, 06:33 AM
rhumphries rhumphries is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 421
Default Re: Gradual Time Stretch - how to?

Using Varifi you can make a selection longer than the clip and it will stretch the audio to fill the selection, but you have to be in "create continuous file" and "entire selection".
__________________
•HD Native, 192, AJA Kona LHi PCIe, 2x2.4GhzQuadcore Intel(5,1), 32GB Ram, OSX 10.12.6, PT 2019.6
•HD Native, 192, AJA Kona LHi PCIe, 2x2.4GhzQuadcore Intel(5,1), 32GB Ram, OSX 10.12.6 PT 2019.6
•HD Native, Omni, AJA Kona LHi PCIe, 2x2.4GhzQuadcore Intel(5,1), 32GB Ram, OSX 10.13.? PT 2019.6
•HD Native, Omni, BlackMagic Intensity, i7 8600, 32GB Ram, Windows 10 pro PT 2019.6
www.TakomaMedia.com | SFX.TakomaMedia.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gradual time stretch ergalthema 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-15-2011 09:03 PM
Structure Real Time Time Stretch FedericoF Virtual Instruments 3 02-18-2010 06:30 PM
How to Double Time (or Time Stretch) Midi? noharmlessrock MIDI 4 04-02-2008 08:32 PM
Time Slice / Time Stretch on ProTools LE? Gilbert Espiridion 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-23-2004 01:13 AM
Anyone know how to do this....Time Stretch... tomhartman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 10-06-2003 12:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com