Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-18-2019, 05:54 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,646
Default unfiltered audio Lion questions

For those who follow/buy from Plugin Alliance they have unfiltered audio's Lion for sale/demo. I downloaded the demo a couple of days ago and it is an interesting synth for all kinds of weird sounds at least as represented in some of the patches. Something that is driving me nuts is lack of support for MIDI cc7 for volume control. I know ua dropped direct MIDI mapping for automation in favor of their macro system because of the complexity of some plugins like Byome and Triad. And that's carried over to Lion.

I can map what amounts to their output level control to a PT automation lane by way of the usual mapping of parameters in a plugin used in PT. All well and good - maybe. Is there any way in PT to remap cc7 messages coming from the volume pedal connected to my Motif 7 to the automation lane I'd be using for output level control for Lion?

I have a support ticket into Plugin Alliance on this; it's been a couple of days but as usual PA's tech support is slow. There's no direct way to get in touch with ua as their support goes through PA.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2019, 04:38 AM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,093
Default Re: unfiltered audio Lion questions

MIDI volume support is a must for any VI, especially considering the output level of factory presets usually varies wildly

Sounds like a great synth though, that's for sure. I tried the Oberheim clone and liked the sound of that very much too.

That said, I'm not on subscription and won't be going there any time soon with ANY manufacturer. I'll wait till these synths are offered at a price I can't refuse or else just still with the wealth of stuff I have already.

Stephen
__________________
Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/9zsnwd
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-19-2019, 04:56 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,646
Default Re: unfiltered audio Lion questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Bond View Post
MIDI volume support is a must for any VI, especially considering the output level of factory presets usually varies wildly

Sounds like a great synth though, that's for sure. I tried the Oberheim clone and liked the sound of that very much too.

That said, I'm not on subscription and won't be going there any time soon with ANY manufacturer. I'll wait till these synths are offered at a price I can't refuse or else just still with the wealth of stuff I have already.

Stephen
Something interesting I've run into over at GS about this and that's a number of people don't see the problem with not having MIDI volume control. They say to automate it afterwards which isn't good for may reasons one of which you mention. I heard back from PA about this and they're going to get in touch with the guys at unfiltered audio to see what's up.

BTW with discount code the price is $99; if I hadn't used my voucher I might have bitten on Lion but not with this control issue. That and considering PA's lack of alacrity in getting updates out
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-2019, 06:37 AM
simon.a.billington simon.a.billington is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 756
Default Re: unfiltered audio Lion questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Bond View Post
MIDI volume support is a must for any VI, especially considering the output level of factory presets usually varies wildly

Sounds like a great synth though, that's for sure. I tried the Oberheim clone and liked the sound of that very much too.

That said, I'm not on subscription and won't be going there any time soon with ANY manufacturer. I'll wait till these synths are offered at a price I can't refuse or else just still with the wealth of stuff I have already.

Stephen
It does seem to be a good synth, although mostly with exotic patches at the moment. I think they need to release some classic patches to make it a bit more usable. At least then we can use it as a springboard into creating something more unique. I just don't have the time to design patches from scratch, unfortunately.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unfiltered Audio G8 on sale for $19 (AAX Native, AU, VST2, VST3) mesaone AAX Plug-ins 7 02-04-2016 06:53 PM
Mac OSX Lion compatibility questions bryced87 macOS 6 06-21-2012 09:01 AM
Lion + 9.0.5 questions Codo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 10-02-2011 02:50 PM
Lion questions pinnacle macOS 3 08-21-2011 11:51 PM
Black Lion Audio M-Audio FW1814 Mod jim jedlicka Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 04-14-2007 06:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com