Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-28-2017, 04:52 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,216
Default Just for a change of pace...12.8 running as stable as 12.7.1 for me

Cloned my Yosemite 12.7.1 protools setup running super stable to another partition. Upgraded to Sierra (prepare to gasp) no clean install, then updated to PT 12.8 again no clean install.

So far everything is running the same, disk usage exactly the same and so far the system is performing as expected.

I know my specs don't show in Tapatalk; Late 2012 MBP, 8g ram, Glyph FW drive, Saffire pro 40 and Octopre MkII.

Updated Eucon and Pro|control app and all is working.

Pleasantly surprised; and I got a discount from AVID for their accounting error during my renewal process.

No poo poo on avid for me :P
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2019.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, CAPI 312's, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-28-2017, 04:57 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,703
Default Re: Just for a change of pace...12.8 running as stable as 12.7.1 for me

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_daw View Post
Cloned my Yosemite 12.7.1 protools setup running super stable to another partition. Upgraded to Sierra (prepare to gasp) no clean install, then updated to PT 12.8 again no clean install.

So far everything is running the same, disk usage exactly the same and so far the system is performing as expected.

I know my specs don't show in Tapatalk; Late 2012 MBP, 8g ram, Glyph FW drive, Saffire pro 40 and Octopre MkII.

Updated Eucon and Pro|control app and all is working.

Pleasantly surprised; and I got a discount from AVID for their accounting error during my renewal process.

No poo poo on avid for me :P
a breath of fresh air !!! there have been a couple of threads that are positive .. !!! cool ...
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-28-2017, 05:01 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,216
Default Just for a change of pace...12.8 running as stable as 12.7.1 for me

I mean we all know the deal. It's going to be different results for everyone. But I will never have sympathy for those people who refuse to run a backup of their working rig. There are FAR too many of those posts.

At the end of the day; if it didn't work. I would've swapped boot partitions and been back off to the races for my session tonight. No time lost and no point in wasting energy saying things like '12.*** worked solid for me and now I'm dead in the water with a client waiting'

:P
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2019.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, CAPI 312's, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-28-2017, 05:08 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,959
Default Re: Just for a change of pace...12.8 running as stable as 12.7.1 for me

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_daw View Post
I mean we all know the deal. It's going to be different results for everyone. But I will never have sympathy for those people who refuse to run a backup of their working rig. There are FAR too many of those posts.

At the end of the day; if it didn't work. I would've swapped boot partitions and been back off to the races for my session tonight. No time lost and no point in wasting energy saying things like '12.*** worked solid for me and now I'm dead in the water with a client waiting'

:P
Exactly. I as well, have been saying this for years.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-28-2017, 06:58 PM
climber climber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 311
Default Re: Just for a change of pace...12.8 running as stable as 12.7.1 for me

so sorry - no backup, no sympathy...
__________________
__________________
Al Hospers
bass, vocal, composer, engineer

CleverSounds Recording

------------------------------------------------------
OS X Mojave, Late 2013 MacPro, 6 core, 32 GB RAM, Orion Studio , PT2019.5, Slate MTi, ISA428, ADL600, Distressor, Grace 501, Dimedio, Obsidian, One LA, BAC500, Harrison 32 EQ, UAD2 OCTO, Focal 6 be, Auratones...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-28-2017, 07:13 PM
thesoundguy77 thesoundguy77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles, cA
Posts: 9
Default Re: Just for a change of pace...12.8 running as stable as 12.7.1 for me

I would also like to chime in and say that so far 12.8 has been the most stable and also best performing version of pro tools in a while, maybe EVER. (Day 2, knock on wood)

for some reason the application itself launches about twice as fast as 12.7.1 (I was having launch crashes and sluggishness initializing plugins before upgrading.)

large complex sessions with lots of plugins seem to load faster as well.

CPU and memory usage seem more efficient (no empirical evidence, it just seems that way)

lots of little features and bug fixes seem to be working as intended.

option to put SMART TOOL FADE ADJUSTMENT on the COMMAND modifier is awesome.

the video engine seems much better —

I am running a decklink HD extreme (genlocked) with BM driver 10.4.3. Also tried BM driver 10.9.3 - it also worked fine seemingly, but required a sync offset of 29 quarter frames, as opposed to 6 quarter frames on 10.4.3. that much offset just makes me wary so I went back to 10.4.3.


mac pro 5,1, OSX 10.10.5, old Blue 192 with HD native, 48 gb ram, AMD 7950

no clean install. I just installed it right over 12.7 (after cloning my disk of course) - but haven't looked back.

well done Avid! I'm still sad it took this long, but it was worth the wait.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does running 12 change your display color settings? Kristo Kotkas macOS 0 02-14-2016 03:55 PM
Why is PACE License Support Service not running on my machine? TheJamsh Windows 20 09-13-2013 09:41 PM
Who is running a STABLE system for VI's in PT8? usastra Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 10-15-2010 07:08 AM
never change a running system tobias bluth 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-15-2010 09:21 PM
Is 6.9 running stable? Ross H 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 08-23-2005 06:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com