Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2018, 12:42 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 130
Default Support for new Operating Systems

Well another .1 OS update has come and gone and no PT approved compatibility

Avid approval is always lagging but I don't recall ever getting this far behind. 10.13.4, 10.13.5, 10.13.6, 10.14.0, 10.14.1
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 22GB RAM, MacOS 10.13.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2018, 02:27 PM
skizzo skizzo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 76
Default Re: Installing Pro Tools On Mojave

yea it has been like what....6 months or so since 10.13.4 was released so it has been that long for those versions of HS to get the official compatible stamp of approval. and NOW 10.14.X versions look to be falling into this same trend. It's gonna be quite bad for Avid/PT if they cannot get recent versions of OSX to have an official compatibility announcement. I honestly am a bit shocked two major companies like Avid/PT and Apple cannot work these issues out.
__________________
Mac Pro '09 - 5,1 - Hex Core X5690 3.46 ghz CPU - 48GB RAM
640GB Apple OEM HDD (10.6.8) - 250GB OWC SSD (10.13.4) - 1TB WD HDD (Samples) - 4TB Toshiba HDD (Backups) - 500GB Glyph GT050Q (Legacy sessions & backups) - 3TB Glyph Studio (Main audio/sessions)
GT120 & RX580 Pulse 8GB GPUs

OSX 10.6.8 - Pro Tools 8.0.5 LE - Digi 003 Rack+
OSX 10.13.6 - Pro Tools 2018.7 - Presonus Studio 192
Focusrite Clarett OctoPre - AKG HPE6 - DBX160A - WA76
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-11-2018, 03:22 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,376
Default Re: Installing Pro Tools On Mojave

Come on people - those of you who have been here for a while know Avid is slow as molasses in January in the Arctic when it comes to operating system update/compatibility.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-07-2018, 12:48 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 130
Default Re: Installing Pro Tools On Mojave

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Come on people - those of you who have been here for a while know Avid is slow as molasses in January in the Arctic when it comes to operating system update/compatibility.
I don't remember it ever being this long. The highest approved MacOS (10.13.3) was released in January 2018.

It will be interesting if Avid goes over a year without supporting the MacOS.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 22GB RAM, MacOS 10.13.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2018, 11:19 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,795
Default Re: Installing Pro Tools On Mojave

Quote:
Originally Posted by off the wall View Post
I don't remember it ever being this long. The highest approved MacOS (10.13.3) was released in January 2018.

It will be interesting if Avid goes over a year without supporting the MacOS.
By the time Avid gets a compatible version out, Apple will probably be getting ready to release another major OS upgrade, hence Avid will be out of sync with the OS again, and again, and again...
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.13.6 running Protools 2018.7.0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-14-2018, 07:37 AM
bobmaus bobmaus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Default Re: Support for new Operating Systems

Because of the long time delay, my biggest concern is that Avid may not be able to fix PT to run on newer operating systems unless it goes through a rewrite at a core level. I'm no coder but when things bog down that much it signals a deeper issue!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-20-2018, 03:43 PM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 648
Default Re: Support for new Operating Systems

I'm in no hurry. My main container is High Sierra 10.13.6 for DAW and a 120Gb container with Mojave 10.14.1 for mail, web & office apps. Stay this way until I can get a 1Tb flash drive for my rMBP and Apple/Avid fix this.

I have gotten Cubase Pro 9.5 and getting more proficient at as Avid Drags their heels. The upgrade to 10 is $99 and the renewal for my PT subscription is $99! Hmmm.............????
__________________
HD4 Accel
PT HD 8.1.1 on Ivy Bridge i5 - Win 7 Pro 64 bit
HD Omni
192 Analog I/O w/additional analog input card
192 Digital I/O
PT 12.7.8
Antelope Zen Studio+
Mid-2015 MBP
iPad Pro
GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-UD7 TH Motherboard
Intel Core i7-4790K Haswell Quad-Core 4.0GHz CPU
32 GB of DDR3 1600
EVGA SuperClocked GeForce GTX 760 Video Card
Cooler Master HAF XB EVO Case
Crucial SSDs various 7200 RPM Drives
Windows 10 Pro
Dynaudio BM5 Mk III
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-20-2018, 09:17 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,237
Default Re: Support for new Operating Systems

I understand the frustration, but much of this is on Apple as they never seem to care about backward-compatibility(one thing that Windows does quite well) I guarantee its high on the list of fixes
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-11-2018, 10:49 AM
Pedro perez Pedro perez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Escondido Ca
Posts: 299
Default Re: Support for new Operating Systems

Anyone taken the plunge and isntalled Mojave to try with latest PT?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-11-2018, 10:56 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,321
Default Re: Support for new Operating Systems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pedro perez View Post
Anyone taken the plunge and isntalled Mojave to try with latest PT?
Do we need yet another thread on this? Please search for all the other discussions.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DAWs as operating systems peppertree Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 03-08-2009 03:20 AM
Dual operating systems??? kaotikmuzik 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 05-31-2004 05:20 PM
How to run dual Operating systems? Allan Speers Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 11-22-2003 03:58 PM
Bomb Factory and operating systems guy.fi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-15-2002 02:43 PM
Operating Systems mwollin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-28-2002 01:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com