Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-09-2018, 12:01 AM
benwal benwal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 2
Default Trying to upgrade 10.3.10 to 12

Hi guys,

as my old mid 2009 MacBook Pro is on its last legs, I've decided to bite the bullet and upgrade my PT 10.3.10 (perpetual licence) to PT12. I contacted a local store, told the "pro tools expert" what i was trying to do and was sold an "Annual Upgrade Plan Renewal for Pro Tools" as this is apparently what i need to upgrade?!?!?

Anyway the box arrived with an activation card inside. I followed the instructions, entered the activation code and was then faced with the screen attached.

When I tho to my master account it only lists my ancient PT7 system. No listing of my PT10 system so cannot do what it asks. I've been blissfully running PT10 for years on a Mountain Lion Partition and haven't had to worry about licensing and upgrades for years since buying the full version of PT10 back in late 2011.

Have I been sold the wrong product? I have been corresponding with Avis Customer Support but seem to be going around in circles. The just keep telling me that i can upgrade without my PT10 system being listed I just need to surrender my PT10 licence. Problem is they're not telling me how to do this.

Need to get upgraded asap as i don't know how long the old MacBook will hold out. I have a late 2012 iMac (3.4GHz Intel Core i7) with 32Gb RAM running OS 10.13.6 ready to go...

Thanks for any insights
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-10-04 at 4.47.29 pm.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	14.3 KB
ID:	10956  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2018, 08:58 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,862
Default Re: Trying to upgrade 10.3.10 to 12

The upgrade really happens via the iLok license manager. You need to go look there for a upgrade license, and that is where the license you are going to surrender really exists.

There literally are no instructions for you to follow anywhere that step you through the license surrender?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-2018, 01:23 PM
benwal benwal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 2
Default Re: Trying to upgrade 10.3.10 to 12

Hi,

thanks for the reply.

Nope no instructions at all. Just the card with the activation code and the web address.

Think Avid is getting closer to solving it. Looks like I have been sold a renewal plan and what i need is a reinstatement plan.

Really frustrating with all these upgrade paths, especially when the guys selling the product obviously don't know what they are doing!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-2018, 03:17 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,862
Default Re: Trying to upgrade 10.3.10 to 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by benwal View Post
Hi,

thanks for the reply.

Nope no instructions at all. Just the card with the activation code and the web address.

Think Avid is getting closer to solving it. Looks like I have been sold a renewal plan and what i need is a reinstatement plan.

Really frustrating with all these upgrade paths, especially when the guys selling the product obviously don't know what they are doing!!
OK gotcha yep sounds like you were sold the wrong thing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing 1 qualifying license(s) for upgrade to Annual Upgrade Plan for Pro Tools 12 bangmusicdk Licensing & Accounts 0 11-12-2016 10:27 AM
Pro Tools Upgrade Upgrade Plan Extenstion adam79 Pro Tools 12 3 04-30-2016 10:07 AM
Pro Tools 10 Student Version- To upgrade, or not to upgrade? KFPCalvin Pro Tools Software (Win) 4 04-12-2012 08:37 AM
Upgrade question - can I use mbox2 micro upgrade on 002 system? spreston 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-22-2009 11:22 AM
5.1 upgrade..drivers? also is the D-verb demo an upgrade? bryanbassett 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-21-2002 11:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com