Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2003, 04:45 AM
WorldOfWiz WorldOfWiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Diego
Posts: 938
Default Ok whats the WORSE audio/midi program you have used?

Ok I was just thinking of programs I would run from. It seems that most of the garbage is on the windows side of the fence. I don't think there are too many on the Mac side most Mac users will not put up with crappy programs.

Wiz
__________________
The underground is as fickle and shallow as the mainstream.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2003, 04:52 AM
Kickin.da.speaker Kickin.da.speaker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 2,081
Default Re: Ok whats the WORSE audio/midi program you have used?

Cubase on a PC, but that was a few years ago. I guess things have evolved now (or at least I hope so for PC users! [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img] )
__________________
David.

6am eternal
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2003, 07:25 AM
Chompers Chompers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Springfield
Posts: 1,860
Default Re: Ok whats the WORSE audio/midi program you have used?

Logic,
those damm goofy meters that disapaer if there is no signal.
I realize the main problem I have with logic is not knowing it, but still, the app just ssems to defy ...logic.
THe inabilty to easily see two differnt tracks next to eachother while editing close up...UNBELIEVABLE!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2003, 07:54 AM
steins steins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Norway
Posts: 374
Default Re: Ok whats the WORSE audio/midi program you have used?

Opcodes Vision for Windows.

I was quite happy with the Mac version...

Stein Tore
__________________
Stein Tore Sønsteli
Studio at home: Pro Tools Ultimate 2018 (HDN), Mac Pro 5.1 OS X High Sierra, Avid I/O's, D-Command ES 8-fader.
Studio at work: Pro Tools Ultimate 2018 (HDX-1), Mac Mini 2018 OS X Mojave, RedNet/Dante I/O's, S6 24-fader.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2003, 09:58 AM
Chris Coleman Chris Coleman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: Ok whats the WORSE audio/midi program you have used?

Quote:
Originally posted by Chompers:
Logic
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">I concur. When I owned it a little while back, I read the entire bible-of-a-manual and it STILL seemed goofy. I was coming from a Pro Tools perspective of editing audio, etc. - right before the 001 was introduced. I couldn't get rid of Logic and the MOTU 1224 fast enough.

I said it before and I'll say it again - Logic Audio seemingly has nothing to do with either logic or audio.

However, I understand they're making their editing functions more ProTools-esque in the newer releases. That remains to be seen. Bear in mind I'm speaking strictly about audio functionality.
__________________
It's not rocket surgery
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-19-2003, 10:21 AM
pk_hat pk_hat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: grimy Brooklyn
Posts: 4,680
Default Re: Ok whats the WORSE audio/midi program you have used?

Another vote for Logic being the least intuitive program. I tried to learn it, I really did, then I gave up. I couldn't come to terms with wanting to learn this app when I already know PT and Reason pretty damn well, just made no sense.

------------

Logic Audio - it is rocket science.
__________________
www.myspace.com/krou
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-19-2003, 01:27 PM
Kickin.da.speaker Kickin.da.speaker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 2,081
Default Re: Ok whats the WORSE audio/midi program you have used?

Like Chris Coleman, I came from a Pro Tools background (TDM, before the 001 days) when I bought Logic, and at first I was a bit thrown off.

But the funny part is that I learned Logic within 2 weeks and became very comfortable with it, and when, 1 year later, I tried to come back to Pro Tools, I was totally thrown off: what, you can't even select two audio regions that are not touching each other? You can't select the guitar 1 in chorus 1 and the guitar 1 in chorus 2, and move them horizontally or vertically?!?!

What, you can't edit the start point of an audio region while looking at the whole waveform, especially what's before the start point??!? Pro Tools is the only DAW on the market that doesn't have a real audio editor with those features, and yet everybody is claiming it's audio features are the best!???

And after working a week or two in PT I came back into Logic, and thought: what? You can't even select a part of an audio region to erase??! And it goes on, and on...

So I guess it's really all about getting used to a particular DAW.

But Logic 6 is supposed to have all those PT features, while keeping the Logic features that PT lacks, so if it works well, it could be the best of both worlds. We'll see.

Quote:
those damm goofy meters that disapaer if there is no signal.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Never seen that, that must have been in Logic 3?
__________________
David.

6am eternal
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-19-2003, 02:26 PM
PlugInJunky PlugInJunky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Crescent Moon Studios
Posts: 226
Default Re: Ok whats the WORSE audio/midi program you have used?

I have to disagree with Chris....I have been a deep ProTools user for over 3 years now....I mean every day 18 hours...I totally agree that it might be a little difficult to grasp....but ProTools user who go to Logic try to use Logic like ProTools....that doesnt work...I read the Manual once...and the LOGIC is there...it made perfect sense on how the ProGram works...

I am sorry but there is nothing like having a Mix Template and tracking session open at the same time and dragging across from session to session your audio files...when your ready to mix....

and the editing is far more superior then ProTools...the sample editor is excatly how it should be....and the fact that I can setup my mixer the way I want to every time is a must....Automation is extremely tight with its curve features.....

here is another cool feature...all my key commands are excatly like ProTools...I re assigned all my hott keys to mimic protools...so I am acutally faster on Logic then ProTools because of Rubber band feature and multi windows for different things....and the best thing of all the user has to manually allocate his audio files....there is nothing like a random audio file trying to allocate to the desktop or to another drive.....I can keep going but my conclusion is

Yes ProTools is a great piece of Multitrack Audio Software......but Logic is a fantastic Digital Audio/Midi Workstation....especially since my Le software limits me 24 tracks and my Cheetah drive gave 64track at 44.1k on LAP.
__________________
DJ Jorge Felix
JorgeFelix@crescentmoon.com
Midi Programmer/Remixer
I make beats - Love that line
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-19-2003, 02:41 PM
steve_o steve_o is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 53
Default Re: Ok whats the WORSE audio/midi program you have used?

logic and/or cool edit pro
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-19-2003, 02:54 PM
PlugInJunky PlugInJunky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Crescent Moon Studios
Posts: 226
Default Re: Ok whats the WORSE audio/midi program you have used?

okay....I agree with Cool Edit Pro....and well Fruityloops and Acid....
__________________
DJ Jorge Felix
JorgeFelix@crescentmoon.com
Midi Programmer/Remixer
I make beats - Love that line
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calling all that write/program midi drums by hand in the Pro Tools midi editor. Mikey Ace Virtual Instruments 2 10-05-2008 07:14 PM
M-Audio 410 preamps better/same/worse than Digi 001 preamps? SixChurchStreet Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 02-20-2008 12:08 PM
whats that program that checks the version of your cc1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-28-2005 03:11 PM
Whats the best CD Burning program *DELETED* liquid002rw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 12-22-2004 08:31 AM
worse and worse every day. LE Mbox truly BLOWS! tomcat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 11-18-2003 09:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com