Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-17-2018, 02:11 AM
GuidoHelbling GuidoHelbling is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Winterthur, Switzerland
Posts: 58
Default Soundminer V5 Pro Preview

Soundminer Version 5 Pro has just been released as a beta version for testing.
Reason enough, then, to take a closer look at the latest version of Soundminer and prepare an article.
If you would like to get a taste of the updated Soundminer V5 Pro yourself, you can do so here.
Please note that you will need a valid Soundminer V4.5 Pro licence for testing.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 with Dante, MacPro 12 Core, 32 GB RAM, OS 10.11.6,
https://www.avosound.com/en/
https://www.guidohelbling.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2018, 03:51 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 594
Default Re: Soundminer V5 Pro Preview

Oooh exciting!


Thanks Guido.
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.14.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, MC Mix, PT Control, Eucon 19.9, PT 2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2018, 05:03 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,670
Default Re: Soundminer V5 Pro Preview

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheesehead View Post
Oooh exciting!


Thanks Guido.
No more support for my older SD2 files. Need to do a massive batch transcode to WAVE. I still consider what would be the best way for doing so without keeping the old SD2 files but maintaining the newer WAVES in original folders they belong to.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.6 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.4
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-18-2018, 08:06 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 594
Default Re: Soundminer V5 Pro Preview

Hi Michael,


I feel your pain, I did it a year or so ago when the writing was on the wall for SD2. Apple no longer supports the format, so you should do it fairly soon if you can.


I used Soundminer itself to do the job. It can batch convert and keep folder structure. I can't remember exactly how its done, but a quick search will bring it up. I think twisted wave can also do it, but if you have soundminer, may as well use that.


Back up beforehand, I know you will.


I had a few dodgy files that had become corrupted and wouldn't convert at all, but only a couple out of hundreds.
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.14.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, MC Mix, PT Control, Eucon 19.9, PT 2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-18-2018, 12:14 PM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,391
Default Re: Soundminer V5 Pro Preview

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgoorevich View Post
I still consider what would be the best way for doing so without keeping the old SD2 files but maintaining the newer WAVES in original folders they belong to.
That's what the "mirror" feature is for. Works fine. Converts to BWAV while preserving meta-data and folder structure. SD2 will corrupt at some point I think because if this ancient "resource fork" or whatever it's called gets lost they can only be forensically recovered (has nothing to do with SM). I'd convert asap if you can with SM4.5.

The new Radium sampler is an awesome game-changer btw.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM

Last edited by Frank Kruse; 11-18-2018 at 12:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-18-2018, 01:13 PM
ubxf ubxf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 32
Default Re: Soundminer V5 Pro Preview

The sampler sounds promising but i couldn't find certain things that would be great to have. Can you loop sounds in the sampler ? Can you apply an envelope filter to the sound ? Can you do velocity switching of samples?
Also i'm still trying to find out how to save a patch, especially hoping it can retain plug ins settings. Definitely like the direction it's taking
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-18-2018, 01:38 PM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,391
Default Re: Soundminer V5 Pro Preview

Quote:
Originally Posted by ubxf View Post
The sampler sounds promising but i couldn't find certain things that would be great to have. Can you loop sounds in the sampler ? Can you apply an envelope filter to the sound ? Can you do velocity switching of samples?
Also i'm still trying to find out how to save a patch, especially hoping it can retain plug ins settings. Definitely like the direction it's taking
Keep in mind that this isn't s sampler to produce your film score with so don't expect a full blown Kontakt-equivalent. It's mainly a sound design tool to quickly drop something into and also re-.record what you do within SM etc.

Having used it for quite a quite a while I actually like that it's extremely simple to use.

You can modulate the fx chain with an LFO (per slot that is) and there's envelope and pitch modulation, yes. Things like looping etc I hope will come (this is an early version afaik). At the moment you can't save a "patch" but Justin issues updates almost on a daily basis.

This is not the finished thing...hence the public beta phase...

Here's a detailed walk-though Justin made some time ago

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2FWxXtp_d8Y
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM

Last edited by Frank Kruse; 11-18-2018 at 01:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-18-2018, 02:24 PM
ubxf ubxf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 32
Default Re: Soundminer V5 Pro Preview

Thank you for your reply, i totally get the fact that it is a sampler for sound design purposes and that it is an early version still under development but i'm hoping that a few more features are added to make it more than a convenient trigger with adjustable pitch. I found only envelope 1 could be assigned to modify parameters of the bass enhancer not other eq modules. I think as a sound design tool enveloped filter are nice to have especially when you have multilayers.
I used to follow the developments of V4.5 but i lost the link to the blog where Justin was posting the updates.
Also Thank you for the link to the detailed walk-through watching that was great and i loved hearing about the new relinking feature to fix broken audition path.

Last edited by ubxf; 11-18-2018 at 03:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-18-2018, 10:20 PM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,670
Default Re: Soundminer V5 Pro Preview

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
That's what the "mirror" feature is for. Works fine. Converts to BWAV while preserving meta-data and folder structure. SD2 will corrupt at some point I think because if this ancient "resource fork" or whatever it's called gets lost they can only be forensically recovered (has nothing to do with SM). I'd convert asap if you can with SM4.5.
Thank you, Frank.
I tried to avoid dealing with my SD2 files as long as possible. Not anymore
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.6 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.4
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-19-2018, 02:33 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,391
Default Re: Soundminer V5 Pro Preview

Quote:
Originally Posted by ubxf View Post
and i loved hearing about the new relinking feature to fix broken audition path.
New relinking feature? Which one? There has been relink for years. I probably missed the new one? Please do tell...
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Soundminer v4.5 Standard or Soundminer HD Plus Oliver M Buy & Sell 0 12-21-2014 01:50 PM
anyway to access Preview and Automation preview on PC or Edit vudoo ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 1 09-12-2009 06:49 AM
can't ear audiosuite preview, no sound from preview -SOLVED! sonuslab Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 03-19-2008 12:51 AM
audiosuite preview / workspace preview fixed in 7.4? viaspiaggia Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 10-11-2007 01:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com