Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-26-2017, 04:34 PM
Felix Felix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,017
Default making playlists for selected clips??

I'm thinking there might be an easier way to do this...

After recording vocals, or anything source, I wind up having takes at various points in the timeline, aside from the takes that occur at the start. I understand how one can select the option to put all takes from the same start time into playlists for comping. What I would like is to also have playlists with all the other punch-in takes throughout the session. Many of these takes get buried on the main playlist and only exist in the clip bin.
What I do now is I put PT in Spot mode and drag the clips into new playlists selecting there original time stamps. I can arrange all these takes in an organized fashion so they they're integrated into the comp process.
It seems there ought to be a way to do this automatically. For example, select all the new punch-in clips for the latest session and have it place them in playlist lanes with they're original time stamp locations.
Make sense??
I'm hoping there's a feature or command for this.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-26-2017, 08:00 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: making playlists for selected clips??

Hmmm, maybe its a work flow issue. When I do multiple playlists, I don't do many punch-ins, if at all, until/unless I have a take(playlist) that I think is the keeper. If that playlist needs a couple of minor fixes, I will usually duplicate it and do punch-ins on the duplicate playlist. I also try to always create a new blank playlist to build the comp on, so that I don't mess with any of the full takes. I know there's many ways to skin this cat, that's what works for me.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2017, 08:36 AM
Felix Felix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,017
Default Re: making playlists for selected clips??

I just remembered that there is the "match criteria" window. When set to "All" and no track settings, it seems to lay out all takes into playlists from the selected area (in this case the entire track). I still need to Spot them to there Original time stamp and consolidate them wherever possible. But this at least saves one step. I bet there's some creative solution within these parameters. I'm going to keep brainstorming it.

Last edited by Felix; 07-27-2017 at 11:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Display tracks with clips for selected area ha2dorff Pro Tools 12 13 08-29-2017 08:22 PM
Editing with alternative playlists automatically selected? Prabha Pro Tools 12 3 06-15-2016 07:50 AM
Clear selected clips shortcut not working hd 10.3.2 dgoodi22 macOS 7 02-08-2013 04:49 PM
Need help bouncing only selected clips Simpson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 04-22-2005 01:40 PM
OT: making AVI clips davip Post - Surround - Video 4 03-10-2004 11:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com