Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2017, 01:29 PM
Tao Jones Tao Jones is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 42
Default Curious: How many of you are letting your license ride..

I've been away from music for awhile. Started back up a couple years ago... wasn't impressed with Avid's new pricing model so I let my license expired. Avid is giving 1 free year of renewal with the purchase of a reinstatement plan. How many of you said "screw it" and just let your version ride out. Have they done much with updates? I know the last time I checked, video was still messed up. I was messing around with a session the other day and noticed if I was moving midi notes around while the project was playing, the graphics would start lagging. This is on 12.5.2.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2017, 01:55 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,666
Default Curious: How many of you are letting your license ride..

What OS you running?



I renewed last September....I don't know that they will bring anything major to the table by this September.



I don't use EUCON so I don't need those updates.....



I went back to Win so I won't need Avid to update me b/c of Apples most recent version sickness.





I could probably let it ride this September....too soon to tell.
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.

Last edited by YYR123; 03-24-2017 at 02:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-24-2017, 02:07 PM
grayter1 grayter1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Woodbury, MN
Posts: 284
Default Re: Curious: How many of you are letting your license ride..

I have until November to re-up, but I've been using Reaper more and more, and PT less and less.

Although today, I used PT (ver 12.7.1) for an interview record at work on our Mac mini, RME MADIface XT (3 tracks - interviewer, guest speaking foreign language and interpreter) and PT stopped 12 minutes in with a CPU over load message.

3 tracks. No effects. Large buffer size. External raid drive.

*sigh*

Was thinking about recording in Reaper before we rolled. I should have listened to my inner voice...

tg
__________________
Win 10 Pro / i7-6700K 4.00GHz / GA-Z170X-UD5 / 32 GB / nVIDIA GTX 1050ti / Audient iD22 / Komplete S49 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / Nuendo 10 / Reaper 5 / Studio One 4.5 / Komplete 12

Last edited by grayter1; 03-24-2017 at 02:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-24-2017, 04:39 PM
Tao Jones Tao Jones is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 42
Default Re: Curious: How many of you are letting your license ride..

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
What OS you running?



I renewed last September....I don't know that they will bring anything major to the table by this September.



I don't use EUCON so I don't need those updates.....



I went back to Win so I won't need Avid to update me b/c of Apples most recent version sickness.





I could probably let it ride this September....too soon to tell.
I'm running the latest MacOS. I use Eucon. Maybe I should consider reinstating since Apple is constantly changing the OS. Didn't really think about this until now.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-24-2017, 04:50 PM
Tao Jones Tao Jones is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 42
Default Re: Curious: How many of you are letting your license ride..

Quote:
Originally Posted by grayter1 View Post
I have until November to re-up, but I've been using Reaper more and more, and PT less and less.

Although today, I used PT (ver 12.7.1) for an interview record at work on our Mac mini, RME MADIface XT (3 tracks - interviewer, guest speaking foreign language and interpreter) and PT stopped 12 minutes in with a CPU over load message.

3 tracks. No effects. Large buffer size. External raid drive.

*sigh*

Was thinking about recording in Reaper before we rolled. I should have listened to my inner voice...

tg
Damn that sucks. I've been trying to get away from Pro Tools for awhile. I actually got certified for Logic 7 but could never get used to the workflow. I'm not a professional but music production is so therapeutic. I guess I'd have to spend the reinstatement fee one day when things break.
I run a cylinder Mac pro Octo core and sometimes I get cpu spikes from 4 to 5 instrument tracks and a couple aux tracks with effects. . The instrument tracks, however, are getting their audio through ether net from Vienna Ensemble Pro.. which is on a other computer. It doesnt happen that often but it seems abnormal.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-24-2017, 05:06 PM
CygnusX-1Bk2 CygnusX-1Bk2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 610
Default Re: Curious: How many of you are letting your license ride..

I do game and post work in addition to music so I don't have much use for other DAWs. However I let my plan lapse as of the last week of 2016 mostly because I don't feel I've gotten $599 (my 2015 plan price) nor $399 worth of updates in the previous year. I also don't feel the need to update my OS just because Apple makes a new one. I only do that when it becomes necessary. Still on Mavericks. I may wait to update from HDN to HDX if they do another exchange that makes sense financially. Otherwise I am sitting out until there's a significant update to PT.
__________________
I will choose,
Freewill
http://jimdiazaudio.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-24-2017, 06:31 PM
jryser's Avatar
jryser jryser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Plainfield, IN
Posts: 920
Default Curious: How many of you are letting your license ride..

I stopped on Mavs and 11.3. Have two laptops and both are clones. Should last another 10 years when I'm likely done with recording OR some company comes to their senses.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
A Rig: MacBook Pro Spring 2013, 2.8Ghz I7, 16GB RAM,
OSX Mavericks 10.9.4, PT 11.2, MBox Pro 3, Glyph GT 050 Qx3 1.5 TB drives Thunderbolt-FW400, Presonus Faderport. 10 REMOVED!
B Rig:MacBook Pro Spring 11, 2.33 GHz I7, 16GB RAM, OSX Mavericks 10.9.4, PT 11.2, MBox Pro 3, Glyph Portagig 62 portable 1 TB drive Firewired with 400, Presonus Faderport. 10 REMOVED!
I am the main songwriter/performer for Midwest Whitetail, Cabela's Deer Nation, Spring Thunder, and Northern Waters Series!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-24-2017, 06:57 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: Curious: How many of you are letting your license ride..

I have yet to upgrade HD11 to 12 and have no plans to if ever unless they come to thier senses and come up with reasonable costs/value. Heck I've owned HD11 since the day it came out, but just finally moved to it a couple of months ago.

I have a Native version that is on 12 and will continue to update it every year. At $99 that's no big deal.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-25-2017, 06:22 AM
digiot digiot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: NYC,NY
Posts: 278
Default Re: Curious: How many of you are letting your license ride..

The problem with letting your license lapse is that at this point Avid charges $899 to get your HD license reinstated. So letting it "ride" only works if you wait it out for at least 2 years! What are the chances of Avid not coming with a useful update in 2 years?!. A stable release instead of adding features no one asked for (cloud collaboration and loops!? WTF). Even if it takes them 2 years, its still $100 cheaper to keep up to date (2 X $399 instead of $899).
I guess I have 5 days to make that desision
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-25-2017, 06:25 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,830
Default Re: Curious: How many of you are letting your license ride..

It is $999 , not $899 to reinstate a HD license ...

See here:

https://www.sweetwater.com/insync/pr...upgrade-chart/
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pt 9 smooth ride Filmusic Pro Tools 9 4 11-24-2010 05:47 PM
Need Ride or HiHat Mic, which one? Monty_python 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 08-22-2009 10:09 PM
Can't get the crash-ride in BFD lite to sound like at true ride-is this deliberate? studiostrat Virtual Instruments 3 09-11-2008 02:55 PM
Do you have a sweet ride? Mister Twain General Discussion 47 08-09-2007 06:50 AM
Which bus should I ride? ripple FX Storage Subsystems 5 09-26-1999 02:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com