Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-08-2011, 09:12 AM
banjobach banjobach is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tucson
Posts: 4
Default Apogee Duet horrid latency issues with PT 9.0.5

I'm running PT 9.0.5 on a Mac Pro 3.33 GHz 6 core. I have 7 GB of ram on OS 10.6.8. I bought a used Apogee Duet to get a better front end than the Digi 003 rack I have. But holy mother of god is this setup buggy. I uninstalled and reinstalled PT several times, thinking maybe its the version of PT I have. So I tried the 9.0.3 and the 9.0.2 updates. Still getting what sounds like bit-crushed audio when I playback. I set the HW buffer to the highest possible setting and still get the awful bitcrushed audio. I can get a session working if I restart my computer and open up everything fresh. I still get occasional clicks and pops at a buffer of 64, and sometimes even at 128. But if I close the session and reopen, all the problems reappear.

If I switch over to Logic 8, everything works seamlessly, of course.

I've also uninstalled and reinstalled Maestro 2 in hopes of solving the issue to no avail. Sometimes I'll close the session after I got it to work in PT, walk away, then come back, open up Maestro and it won't let me turn the phantom power on to the unit. The higher the sample rate, the worse it gets, naturally. It's to the point where I can't even entertain the idea of tracking at 96K. I've searched the net but can't seem to find anyone else encountering this much grief with their PT9/duet setup.

I hope I'm missing something stupidly simple. Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-08-2011, 09:48 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,623
Default Re: Apogee Duet horrid latency issues with PT 9.0.5

Have you tried trashing Pro Tools preferences per the info in the General Troubleshooting thread? Are you making sure to select the Duet in the Playback Engine and not the aggregate option? Have you tried testing from a different administrator account?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-08-2011, 05:11 PM
bonfi64 bonfi64 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Milan italy
Posts: 148
Default Re: Apogee Duet horrid latency issues with PT 9.0.5

I bought a used Apogee Duet to get a better front end than the Digi 003

THIS EXPLAIN YOUR PROBLEM!!!!

I BOUGHT A USED WOLKSVAGEN TO GET A BETTER DRIVE THAN THE BMW

listen: Avid hardware goes with PT, Apogee Hardware with Logic (consumer hardware only Logic, top of the market with PT also)

IF YOU USE PT, ONLY AVID HARDWARE, with LOGIC LIVE REASON ANY HARDWARE IT'S OK. (on apple computers we all use osx not Vista!)

last week a friend told me he just bought the same apogee duet to use with Logic, he said it Rocks, but you know this is the first year Avid open PT to third parts HW, but now we have three company: COMPUTER APPLE, SOFTWARE AVID, SOUND CARD APOGEE are you shure you want to go this way????
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-08-2011, 09:07 PM
slater05 slater05 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 188
Default Re: Apogee Duet horrid latency issues with PT 9.0.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonfi64 View Post
I bought a used Apogee Duet to get a better front end than the Digi 003

THIS EXPLAIN YOUR PROBLEM!!!!

I BOUGHT A USED WOLKSVAGEN TO GET A BETTER DRIVE THAN THE BMW

listen: Avid hardware goes with PT, Apogee Hardware with Logic (consumer hardware only Logic, top of the market with PT also)

IF YOU USE PT, ONLY AVID HARDWARE, with LOGIC LIVE REASON ANY HARDWARE IT'S OK. (on apple computers we all use osx not Vista!)

last week a friend told me he just bought the same apogee duet to use with Logic, he said it Rocks, but you know this is the first year Avid open PT to third parts HW, but now we have three company: COMPUTER APPLE, SOFTWARE AVID, SOUND CARD APOGEE are you shure you want to go this way????

I use an Apogee Duet with PT 9.0.4 on a mac and it is AWESOME. Just because it isn't Avid hardware doesn't mean that it can't be rock solid.



To the OP, it may be that because apogee only just released the latest firmware update for the Duet to be compatible with Lion, that it may have a few bugs with Snow Leopard? Reinstalling everything would have been my idea.... but since you've already done that I'm not sure...
__________________
www.mikeslatermusic.com
PTHD9 Certified Operator
15" MBP 10.7.2
Pro Tools 10.0
Apogee Duet
M-Audio BX5A's
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-08-2011, 09:25 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Apogee Duet horrid latency issues with PT 9.0.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonfi64 View Post
I bought a used Apogee Duet to get a better front end than the Digi 003

THIS EXPLAIN YOUR PROBLEM!!!!

I BOUGHT A USED WOLKSVAGEN TO GET A BETTER DRIVE THAN THE BMW

listen: Avid hardware goes with PT, Apogee Hardware with Logic (consumer hardware only Logic, top of the market with PT also)

IF YOU USE PT, ONLY AVID HARDWARE, with LOGIC LIVE REASON ANY HARDWARE IT'S OK. (on apple computers we all use osx not Vista!)

last week a friend told me he just bought the same apogee duet to use with Logic, he said it Rocks, but you know this is the first year Avid open PT to third parts HW, but now we have three company: COMPUTER APPLE, SOFTWARE AVID, SOUND CARD APOGEE are you shure you want to go this way????
Tell that to all the people who are using Pro Tools 9 with Apogee products...

I guess I should throw out my Liquid Saffire 56, too. (which works fantastically well with Pro Tools 9)

Btw... I wouldn't be the least bit surprised if a Duet sounded better than an 003, at least in terms of ADDA. While I'm not a fan of Apogee (mostly for the price and ergonomics), generally speaking their stuff sounds better than Avid stuff.

People have also been able to use Apogee products like the Big Ben, and many other converters with HD for a long time now. There's nothing wrong with "mixing" brands, as long as you set it up properly.

Might wanna do some reading before pressing the capslock key...
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-08-2011, 09:31 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Apogee Duet horrid latency issues with PT 9.0.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by banjobach View Post
I'm running PT 9.0.5 on a Mac Pro 3.33 GHz 6 core. I have 7 GB of ram on OS 10.6.8. I bought a used Apogee Duet to get a better front end than the Digi 003 rack I have. But holy mother of god is this setup buggy. I uninstalled and reinstalled PT several times, thinking maybe its the version of PT I have. So I tried the 9.0.3 and the 9.0.2 updates. Still getting what sounds like bit-crushed audio when I playback. I set the HW buffer to the highest possible setting and still get the awful bitcrushed audio. I can get a session working if I restart my computer and open up everything fresh. I still get occasional clicks and pops at a buffer of 64, and sometimes even at 128. But if I close the session and reopen, all the problems reappear.

If I switch over to Logic 8, everything works seamlessly, of course.

I've also uninstalled and reinstalled Maestro 2 in hopes of solving the issue to no avail. Sometimes I'll close the session after I got it to work in PT, walk away, then come back, open up Maestro and it won't let me turn the phantom power on to the unit. The higher the sample rate, the worse it gets, naturally. It's to the point where I can't even entertain the idea of tracking at 96K. I've searched the net but can't seem to find anyone else encountering this much grief with their PT9/duet setup.

I hope I'm missing something stupidly simple. Any help would be appreciated.
Honestly... at this point I would say F*** 9.0.5 and 10.6.8 if at all possible.

I haven't read too much good about 9.0.5 yet, and I'm still rock solid at 9.0.0 and 10.6.5.

Instead of installing updates, I'd roll back as far as possible to see what happens.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-08-2011, 09:43 PM
JeffD JeffD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 14
Default Re: Apogee Duet horrid latency issues with PT 9.0.5

Not long ago I also got a Duet 2, and for the same reason. There was a noticeable improvement in sound. With 10.6.8 and PT 9.03, it has been at least as stable as with the 003. One thing these discussions have done is to convince me not to do anymore software updates for a while.
__________________
Hardware Overview:

Pro Tools 9.03
11R
Apogee Duet 2

Apple OS 10.6.8

Model Name: iMac
Model Identifier: iMac7,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 4 MB
Memory: 4 GB
Bus Speed: 800 MHz
Boot ROM Version: IM71.007A.B03
SMC Version (system): 1.21f4
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-08-2011, 10:19 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,529
Default Re: Apogee Duet horrid latency issues with PT 9.0.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffD View Post
Not long ago I also got a Duet 2, and for the same reason. There was a noticeable improvement in sound. With 10.6.8 and PT 9.03, it has been at least as stable as with the 003. One thing these discussions have done is to convince me not to do anymore software updates for a while.
That's the first thing on rely when updates are concerned, not to hijack this , but really quick JeffD I have almost the same computer you have and I stuck in 6 gigs of ram and what an improvement.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 96ram - Mt. Lion 10.8.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-09-2011, 10:44 AM
banjobach banjobach is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tucson
Posts: 4
Default Re: Apogee Duet horrid latency issues with PT 9.0.5

I trashed my Pro Tools preferences and that helped with the instability of the system. However, I tried to use my Duet on my MBP and discovered the same hissing at 96kHz as I encountered on my Mac Pro. This leads me to believe I have a lemon unit. It is fairly functional now, but still has clicks and pops now and then (at 44.1, 48, and 88). Needless to say, I'm pretty disappointed, but that's the risk you run when you buy used. Thanks all for the help.

I wouldn't be too nervous about updating your system. I think the problems I am experiencing apply to my dud of a unit only.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-09-2011, 12:16 PM
Resonant Alien Resonant Alien is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 60
Default Re: Apogee Duet horrid latency issues with PT 9.0.5

I am using a Duet (original version, not Duet2) with great results. I just updated to 9.0.5 and 10.6.8 a couple of nights ago, and so far (knock on wood) no issues...hopefully it will stay that way.

FWIW and IMO, the Duet was a nice step up in sound quality from my Digi 003 that I was previously using. Of course the Duet has limited physical I/O, but I don't need a lot of I/O, so that wasn't important, and the sound quality was an improvement.

not sure where bonfi64 is coming from with that post...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apogee Rosetta 200 (MINT), Lynx AES16e-SRC, Apogee Duet, BBE 882i, OFFERS ENTERTAINED jrhager84 Buy & Sell 5 03-11-2013 01:25 AM
PT9, Apogee duet help please lacassius macOS 5 02-08-2012 07:51 PM
If your using PT9 with the Apogee Duet..... Amin7b5 Pro Tools 9 12 12-07-2010 10:05 AM
Apogee Duet with PT LE ? chicken 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-23-2007 04:57 PM
Apogee MINI-DAC and LATENCY issues kdotson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-30-2003 01:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com