Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2004, 04:18 AM
tj_davies tj_davies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,219
Default Plug In Delay Compensation

Hi guys,
what is the easiest and most powersaving way to compensate plug in delays on each track, as well as on the master?

Thanks,
Tim
__________________
G5 10.8.5
PT 10.3.9 HD2
www.pearls-music.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-28-2004, 04:50 AM
PastaViking II PastaViking II is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: next door...
Posts: 750
Default Re: Plug In Delay Compensation

ProTools 6.4 ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2004, 05:25 AM
tj_davies tj_davies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,219
Default Re: Plug In Delay Compensation

I'm still working under os9

Already read about time adjuster, which works ok, but, is there a setting that can set pro tools to NOT bounce the silence before everything starts? Or maybe automatically cut off the silence after bouncing?

Thanks for any reply, even if it's a 'no'!
Tim
__________________
G5 10.8.5
PT 10.3.9 HD2
www.pearls-music.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2004, 03:43 PM
mindnoise mindnoise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany and Tokyo
Posts: 3,094
Default Re: Plug In Delay Compensation

Hi,

maybe you might try this to cut your bounces, as an alternative.

sonicWorx Basic for Free

http://prosoniq.net/html/freebies.html

regs
__________________
last: PT11.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2004, 09:11 PM
DC11 DC11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 52
Default Re: Plug In Delay Compensation

If you hit If you apple/ click on the #'s below the fader in the mix window, you can see how much delay there is and then nudge the tracks where they need to be.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-29-2004, 02:42 AM
poncival poncival is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 112
Default Re: Plug In Delay Compensation

Quote:
If you hit If you apple/ click on the #'s below the fader in the mix window, you can see how much delay there is and then nudge the tracks where they need to be.
What he said...


This still is the most predictable and reliable way to do this, IMO

Thanks,
John
__________________
john@thesaltmine.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-29-2004, 09:56 AM
bluemt bluemt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 392
Default Re: Plug In Delay Compensation

If I import a session into 5.X from a newer version of software with delay comp. on does it import the audio delay compensated or not?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-29-2004, 11:51 AM
Seeee Seeee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,050
Default Re: Plug In Delay Compensation

it is my understandign that RTAS plugs sample delays are not calculated so you need to account for that if using any. is there an easy way to figure out RTAS delays?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How much plug-in Delay Compensation do you use? Hear Me Shimmer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-15-2007 01:09 PM
LE delay compensation plug ins nossnevs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-14-2007 11:57 AM
Plug-in delay and compensation Purple Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 10-22-2006 03:43 AM
Plug-In Delay Compensation guitar131 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 10-31-2005 03:31 PM
Plug in Delay compensation - Do we have it or not Lizardpoint 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 10-17-2005 07:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com